Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hazel Park High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 839 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 3, 2008

When our family returned to the Hazel Park area just before my two children entered High School, I was very apprehensive about what we might encounter. My children have both graduated now and moved on to college, on scholarship. The staff was very caring an most exhibited a strong moral code. Drugs were never tolerated. HPHS offerred a diverse set of classes and access to Advanced Placement Courses for the gifted students. My children excelled on their ACT exams an were offerred scholarships from a number of schools. The vast majority of teachers and Administrators viewed their work as something much more than just a 9 to 5 job. Parental involvement was surprising limited.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2008

This school is full of teachers who care but the district lacks parental involvement. At recent conferences less than 1/3 of the parents attended. Teachers are only one part in the education equation. Without cooperation between staff and the parents, students will do as they please. This attitude hinders the learning process and creates citizens that are not ready for the workforce much less ready to take on the rigors of college work that might prepare them for a job in a sustainable market. This district is working on creating a cohesive curriculum, and it is a slow process. They need to be more vigorous in the requirements to complete a class and get the required credits for graduation. The CR grade, somewhere between an E and D- has got to go.


Posted February 24, 2008

I believe this school is particularly not advanced enough in the departments where it is necessary. I also don't appreciate how much acknowledgement the music programs are receiving. Sports are the only thing that matter to the teachers and students in the Hazel Park High School. I also suggest that the teachers here at the high school get their acts together beacause the youth here at the Hazel Park High School are not prepared for college or the work force.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 24, 2007

The quality of this school is great for my daughter. They school has excellent extracurricular activities, like music, sports and clubs. Academics have been excellent, with the teachers she has had, very helpful and concerned, with the exception of one, who has now retired. She was far behind on math because of it. Parents need to keep up with their kids and a lot of these problems wouldn't happen. Get them involved in some activities, other than 'hanging out' and get to know their friends. Parents need to step up and quit blaming others for all the problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2007

It seems to be downgrading not in a way of size, but as for lack of everything a school should need, Good, decent teachers, those who will be there for our students and our parents, They don't seem to be controlling many of the problems that are occurring, and that is one of the main problems they need to attend to. In my Opinion Hazel Park High isn't what it use to be. All My regards, Michael. Take care.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 3, 2007

I am a graduate of Hazel Park High School. I now currently attend Eastern Michigan University in which I am a coming into my Junior year. I just want to say thank you HP for actually preparing me for a rigorous academic schedule in college. Students who actually care about H.S. will take whatever courses, at whatever school seriously. You are overlooking all of the talent that comes out of Hazel Park H.S. Students caught with Pot are punished to the fullest extent. I wouldn't trade my HS years from HP for anything!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 25, 2006

What do i as a parent think of hazel park h.S.! Well, this school is always trying to pass there job to someone else. The staff has to be forced to teach your children. If i hear 'we all have a million things to do' come out of a h.P.H.S. Staff one more time i'm gona scream! just stop wining about your job and give our children the education they are there for. The h.S. Has poor leadership and has no anti bully programs in place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2006

The advice bucket is only offered in mrs michalskis class. that class is very general and not that many advanced kids take it. i love mr vogt though, he is definately the most caring principal ever, he addressed majority of students by name and that makes it feel better going to school to know he cares.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 15, 2005

I think Hazel Park High School is a great school all 6 of my kids have been going there and 4 of them graduated the other two are still going there!Hazel Park High School is a really nice school they have alot of activities and sports and the teachers really get involved and they also, have a real world advice bucket where the kids can write down what ever they need advice on and put it in this bucket and other kids give there advice I have no complaints about this school at all my kids love it there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2005

Administration is not open and communicative with parents or students. Difficult to get assistance regarding children's grades and classwork. I found a better school for my child and moved two counties away because of the Hazel Park School District's poor record and lack of effective leadership. I am very disappointed with the way the school has degenerated over the years since I graduated from there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2005

It's an okay school. Most of the teachers know what they're doing. They have good sports teams. There's a lot of clubs to choose from and you can get help from the teachers if you need it. A lot of the kids that go here are idiots by choice,though. Smoking and disrespect is often a huge problem.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 11, 2004

I am proud to have had all 3 of my children graduate from HP. Great teaching staff and administration. I am a former Athletic Booster President so I know firsthand that this is a school that cares about its students and wants to see them do well and be successful in life. Like any school there will be troublemakers that need to be dealt with and I think HP does a good job of that. But if parents do not get involved in the school and work with the staff they have no right to complain. I wish more schools were like HP. Keep up the good work Hazel Park!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2004

One of the better schools I've seen. Teachers seem to care and try, and give students fair respect. I'll keep it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2004

The school is terrible. The teachers act too much like teenagers when they should be mature and teach the students. There are alot of 'gangsters' and everyone smokes marijuana, and in which the school does not punish those who are caught with marijuana. There are constantly fights,and if you don't fit into a specific group u are secluded and abused. I would never recommend sending your child to this so called 'school'.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 7, 2004

Some teachers need to learn how to teach in this school, overall we have a talented staff and many talented students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 13, 2003

Great teachers for a good homely district.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

205 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
16%

2013

 
 
14%

2011

 
 
10%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
13%

2011

 
 
9%

2010

 
 
7%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
37%
Science

The state average for Science was 26% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
11%

2011

 
 
12%

2010

 
 
7%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 38% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
19%

2010

 
 
18%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 50% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
22%

2010

 
 
22%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

86%

Average ACT score

18

Graduation rate

74%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 69%
African-American 23% 18%
American Indian 1% 1%
Asian 1% 3%
Hispanic 1% 6%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 71%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Specific learning disabilities

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8
School end time
  • 3
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Don Vogt
Fax number
  • (248) 544-5389

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

23400 Hughes Ave
Hazel Park, MI 48030
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 658-5100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT