Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hazel Park High School

Public | 9-12 | 839 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Sunday, April 13, 2014

I've been in Hazel Parks schools since I was a little kid. I could sit here and say such mean things about it like everyone else but there's nothing mean to say about it. Of course every school has a couple flaws and a couple students that don't try their hardest but the teachers at Hazel Park High School are absolutely amazing. They push you, they're nice, helpful, and something that every teacher should be. This school may not seem the bet because of all the talk, but you must see it for yourself before you believe any of the talk. The students need to improve if anything. Some just dont work as hard as others.


Posted February 13, 2014

I enrolled here awhile ago and I will say that this is a pretty good school. In my experience, there's not a lot of bullying, the teachers are decent, but the best part of it is the band program, it's way above the one at my old school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2013

I feel the teachers at this school are amazing and do their very best at what they were trained and taught to do. I however feel they could use help in communication and the teachers could use back up from the administration . Activities after school are a plus to many other highschools.


Posted January 30, 2013

I personally have not attended Hazel Park schools, however both of my children do and have since preschool. I really enjoy the district we are in. My children are consistently challenged and pushed to do their best. Both of them are A, B students and are very pleased in the scholastic experiences. They attend an elementary where there is a ZERO tolerance system for bulling, and as a result they have never encountered such thing. I've read several reviews about this school system and I just do not agree what so ever. I STRONGLY feel that as parent your main job in life is to teach your children yourselves, and let the school implement what you have taught at home. I Love our school system, and I love the way they are being taught. I wish more schools had the community support and the dedicated teachers that we have here! I only wish more parents were involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2012

I graduated from here and found I knew very little once college started. I was a A- student here and struggled to pull c's. They do not prepare students for college. Teachers are fine but just are limited to what they can do. I don't blame the school for everything. They have limited money to work with, parents are not overly involved and it is in a lower income area so they do the best they can. If you can drive your kids to the Royal Oak or Troy schools. Your kids are worth the drive.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 13, 2012

I am a former student at HPHS and have since dropped out. I did not have many issues with students though I observed that some methods to prevent bullying weren't exactly effective. Many teachers were kind and would help if you asked. My issue was with the office staff, not only did they lose credits from my previously attended schools which made graduation on time impossible, but the staff nearly helped me to the door when I mentioned dropping out though I was not considered a "bad" student. Not to mention the school counsler was too busy to help even after repeated requests to speak with her.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 3, 2012

My son left Southfield District because of bullying, he transferred to Hazel Park and sadly he did not feel the teachers showed any interest. I am pleading for Southfield to take him back. I'm not bashing the school, it just was not a good fit for him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2012

If you are interested in math or science, this school will prepare you for college. AP Calculus and AP Chemistry are the two most important classes for anyone serious about math or science at the college level. Both teachers in these courses know their stuff and can bring your study skills up to the level you need to succeed. You will have to work for it, however.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 12, 2011

My daughter attended HPHS last year, sadly I moved her because I felt Royal Oak would have been a better school. I was wrong, sending her to ROHS proved that Hazel Park is a much more positive and uplifting school. It is a traditional education. The students are more encouraging and so are the teachers. They don't make experimental changes because the corriculum they have WORKS. Needless to say my daughter will be returning to HPHS next year for her own good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2010

I think this school is turning into a positive place. Some of the teachers are turning into a great example for the students. I.e. Mr green is an excellent role model. He gets the job done. He is fair and assertive. When my kids come home all the do is talk about him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2010

As a parent, I think HPHS is a great place to send your children. From the Superintendent on down, the staff cares about the kids. Both of my sons received a great education and liked high school. The principal and the teachers are always avaliable to help in any way. There does need to be more parent involvement. The staff can only do so much. Nancy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

i am a student, and this school is very poor. there are way to many kids here that don't belong in this school district, and should go to their own schools. we have way to many kids that drop out, and don't care. the teachers are okay, most of them are very friendly, but they don't neccassarily care about our grades.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 12, 2010

i hve been in hazel park schools for a while and just found out recently if your child or children of school of choice you have no say so i was told today the adminstrators of each building decides if your child attends or not so if you complain about anything to the principal be careful or children will be punished . even though your taxes pay for the district where your child attends all hazel park schools are only interested in the money not your voice
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2010

I'm a former student of Hazel Park High School who has since dropped out. Some of the teachers are excellent, but management is poor. Problem solving consists of taking both parties of the dispute, putting them in an office with the principal or vice principal or counselor, and trying to get them to both concede ground until they're somewhere in the middle. This isn't effective because there are a lot of times where one student is just a bully. With the current system, he can start fights with someone innocent, and a teacher will make the innocent person apologize to the bully so long as the bully apologizes back. When they leave, the bully starts over again. It's why fights are so prevalent here. They don't care for students unless they're dropping out, and only then because they get money per student.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 30, 2010

too many fights and not a great place to have your child grow up. i dont like the school at all my child did not learn one thing the classes are two easy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

The students there all come together, it's a friendly place to be :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 30, 2009

Don't send your children here!! I am a former student and currently have two brothers attending. Since I left, the school has been rapidly deteriorating. The teachers seemed to have given up on the lazy, disrespectful student body. Unless you want your children to drop out, stay out!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2008

Schools can only be as good as the parents raise their kids. Bad news for Hazel Park, way too many bad parents make too many bad kids. Parents stand up to your children, make the schools better by being better yourself. -Dave
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2008

Although the statement of being secluded from your peers, if you're not in a social group, is true, then really, where is a safe place that nobody ever is hurt or put down, I have been going to this school for a few years now and 100% of the staff that is caring.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 3, 2008

When our family returned to the Hazel Park area just before my two children entered High School, I was very apprehensive about what we might encounter. My children have both graduated now and moved on to college, on scholarship. The staff was very caring an most exhibited a strong moral code. Drugs were never tolerated. HPHS offerred a diverse set of classes and access to Advanced Placement Courses for the gifted students. My children excelled on their ACT exams an were offerred scholarships from a number of schools. The vast majority of teachers and Administrators viewed their work as something much more than just a 9 to 5 job. Parental involvement was surprising limited.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

205 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
16%

2013

 
 
14%

2011

 
 
10%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
13%

2011

 
 
9%

2010

 
 
7%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
37%
Science

The state average for Science was 26% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
11%

2011

 
 
12%

2010

 
 
7%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 38% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
19%

2010

 
 
18%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 50% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
22%

2010

 
 
22%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

86%

Average ACT score

18

Graduation rate

"74"%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 69%
African-American 23% 18%
American Indian 1% 1%
Asian 1% 3%
Hispanic 1% 6%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 71%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Specific learning disabilities

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8
School end time
  • 3
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Don Vogt
Fax number
  • (248) 544-5389

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

23400 Hughes Ave
Hazel Park, MI 48030
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 658-5100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT