Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hoover Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 290 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 15, 2014

We are a school of choice family living in another county. My daughter has been going to Hoover since Kindergarten. She has done great at Hoover and has loved all her teachers. As a teacher in the district, I have to say that I have been very pleased to have my child at Hoover with some of the best teachers I've met in my years of teaching in the district. It helps that I work with my daughter at home and that she has excelled in her years thus far. I am pleased to recommend this school to any parent looking to get that personal touch from teacher to student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2011

Hoover School is a great place to learn! I have two daughters that went to Hoover. The teachers are incredible. They work with students at their level and encourage parental involvement. The principal is very supportive of her staff and they work together for the best for our kids. You will not find another school district that has teachers, staff, and administrators that care about the whole child like Hoover does.


Posted January 11, 2011

This school is a wonderful place to learn and work! I went to this school when I was in grade school and have since then personally worked in a few classrooms there. The personal attention that each child gets in amazing. The special ed students are integrated in the classroom but they aren't left out in any way nor are they left to figure things out on their own. The special ed students either leave the class with a special tutor or one comes into the class to work with them for each subject. Also the advanced students are allowed to excel beyond what is expected of them, they may be put into smaller groups that do harder work or even help the other students in the classroom. Of all the Hazel Park Elementary Schools I vote this one the best!


Posted January 10, 2011

I absloutely love Hoover school. My son (now 7th grade) went there from k-5 and is now in advanced classes at the junior high and I have a daughter currently in 3rd grade who is doing great. The staff there is wonderful, they have always made me feel like they had my childs best interest in mind. I am a working mom but have the opportunity from time to time to take a day off and spend it at the school. I have always been welcome and have always liked what I see going on there. There truly is a family feeling in that school. I have had others comment to me that "they wish their school was like Hoover". From the staff to the families attendfing, I can honestly say Hoover is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2011

Hoover is an excellent school with exceptional teachers and staff. My children excelled because of the great teachers there. My son, was fortunate enough to have Mrs. Allen for three years 1st thru 3rd and it was because of her that to this day (he is now in 10th grade) is in the top of his class in math (algebra, geometry, calculus). My daughter was also fortunate to have Mrs. Allen. The sports programs they provided have been awesome; my children have had the opportunity to be coached by the best (in basketball); the sportsmanship and fun they have had are priceless. We still have video's. Thank you to the incredible teachers and staff for all their hard work! Kudos to Hoover Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2011

Hoover School has a dedicated staff who works hard to meet the needs of all students. The school leadership is strong and the teachers are constantly learning new instructional strategies to help the students be successful. Teachers are involved in leadership teams at the state, county and district level because of their knowledge and ability to instruct students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 10, 2008

I think the school is not excelling the way it should be. I find kids are being left behind and the excuse of the teachers are that they have too many kids. I wonder why they shut down two school if now the kids cannot get the help they did before because 'too many kids'?! Plus I find the principal is waste of your time, shes never there you barely see her, and if you speak to her there is no resolve to a issue. I wish they would open at least one of the schools or both back open, so the kids dont get left behind, and just pushed ahead. (pls study up on the no child left behind act is not about holding the child back, its about the learning!!).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2005

Hoover is a wonderful school. The teachers definately focus on what is best for their students. Whether your child is advanced or needs extra help the teachers at Hoover are here to help. My daughter went to Hoover and is now an honor student at the high school and my son is currently in a split grade class that is definately enhancing his education. I would and have recommened this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2005

This(in my opinion)is by far the best school we have. The teachers communicate, and the principal is very involved. I just hope my children can take with them all the good study habits, and discpline they learn here to the schools ahead.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

43 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
19%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
22%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

49 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
22%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

49 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
40%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

52 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
8%

2013

 
 
12%

2011

 
 
2%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 69%
African-American 17% 18%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian N/A 1%
Hispanic 0% 6%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 83%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Leslie Baker
Fax number
  • (248) 586-5831

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

23720 Hoover Avenue
Hazel Park, MI 48030
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 658-5300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Momentum Academy
Hazel Park, MI






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT