Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Highland Park Community H.S. 3

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
Both of my children graduate for Highland Park as well as myself. The teachers to me are more caring about the child. They provide the nessary tools they need yo learn

Highland Park Community H.S. 5

Posted October 03, 2013
- a student
i love highland park people made it seem so bad when really its good i just think the rules are to strick but i mean what student wouldnt


Highland Park Community H.S. 3

Posted April 01, 2013
- a student
This school isn't as bad as people make it seem. I'm not going to lie it isn't the best. I attend this school..Some of the teachers actually are interested in teaching us while others just watch us and tell us the assignment without illustrating, or going over it. But most of the students are close. If teachers and students put more Effort into this school it would be a Great school..But overall it's not a terrible school, I just think some things could be done better.

Highland Park Community H.S.
no rating

Posted November 09, 2009
- a student
I can't say that Highland Park Community High School is all bad. The rules and regulations are well set - although faculty memebers don't always enforce these rules and regulations. HPCHS has the potential to be a great educational facility, but students are so blind sighted on what is really important. School is for educational purposes, but some feel it is a place that everyone has to know who you are, everyone has to know how much money you have, and everyone has to acknowledge the ignorance and stupidity they disclose. It can be so annoying, and the school lacks extracirriculum activities - or they just don't have enough. But for the most part, HPCHS has teachers (some) who are willing to participate in actually teaching the students and have created a bond with them. Also, if you join a team (ex: volleyball, football, chearleading, rotc, etc...) that is your family!

Highland Park Community H.S.
no rating

Posted July 24, 2009
- a student
This school isn't as bad as people make it seem. I'm not gone to lie it isn't the best. I attend this school..Some of the teachers actually are interested in teaching us while others just watch us more like there babysitting.But most of the students are close. If teachers and students put more Effort into this school it would b a Great school..But until then its just a daycamp


Highland Park Community H.S.
no rating

Posted July 03, 2009
- a parent
Highland Park has done something no other highschool has done. They have taken education to another level. Dasa Academy is a program started in 2007 which is a wonderful alternative to detroit public or any other charter or academy. Small class sizes and wonderful teachers. My son is doing so well in digital animantion, english, and other subjects. He has been able to build his confidence in himself and enjoys going to school. - Robotic's tournaments, and working on an anti drug video as camera man is some of what he has done in the two years he has been in the program. Every child should be allowed to attend such a program . Keep up the good work - Dasa Academy L Brown

Highland Park Community H.S. 2

Posted June 18, 2009
- a student
Master sgt. Ronald denard (afjroct), mr. Woods (government teacher), mrs. Glover, and mrs. Watkins are the only true teachers that that school has. Without the rotc program and now the upcoming choir - that school would have nothing. Thank god for teachers who actually care like sgt. Denard and mr. Woods! if your kids go there - make sure they are in rotc - it is the greatest program the could involve themselves with. It is a family enviornment!

Highland Park Community H.S.
no rating

Posted May 07, 2009
- a student
i am a student at Highland Park high and i cant say that it is a bad enviorment. I have been here for both of my highschool years so far, even though i am planning on leaving i will miss everyone. the teachers are not like others, they are sdown to earth and care about us, not because we are there pay check, but because we have a bond. I appreciate the effort that Highland park staff put into their jobs to make us better, and show us our full potential. There are many programs for students to enjoy, one of them being HP180. Here students can take care of there homework and get help in certain classes. Also they hold life skill groups, which go over various problems and situations that young people will face. The only draw back I can think of is that the program doesnt last longer.


Highland Park Community H.S. 3

Posted February 14, 2009
- a student
I am a senior in college and I graduated from Highland Park High School in 2005. There are some things that Highland Park needed to work on when I went there, but the same can be said for many schools. There were many extra-curricular activities for the students as well as resources that our neighboring schools did not offer. All though, there were a few cut backs, the students, teachers and the rest of the faculty made it feel like a huge family. Everyone knew each other, and stuck up for one another. I can't speak for the school now but I loved it when I went there.

Highland Park Community H.S. 5

Posted July 26, 2008
- a student
I graduated from HP and in my opinion it was and is a wonderful school. Since graduating I have recieved my Bachelor's degree and Master's degree. If it had not been for my HP schooling I am not sure that I could have accomplished all that I accomplished. HP stand up!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Highland Park Community H.S.
131 Pilgrim Street, Highland Park, MI  48203
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (313) 957-3005
Last modified Highland Park Community H.S. is a Charter school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top