Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-12|Private
89 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 9 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


West Highland Christian Academy 5

Posted April 17, 2013
- a parent
We love WHCA! We left the public schools because of large class sizes and lack of caring staff. It was similar to an assembly line. WHCA has small class sizes with loving teachers and administration who partner with parents for the child's best education. NO second thoughts!!

West Highland Christian Academy 5

Posted August 14, 2011
- a parent
Love West Highland Christian Academy! Our children love it too. The teachers are very helpful to parent questions and concerns without compromising fairness. The dyslexia program and small class sizes first sold us. It has been wonderful. The family environment is an added bonus. We love it!!


West Highland Christian Academy 4

Posted January 30, 2011
- a parent
With its limited resources, this school does the best it can to provide a safe, secure, Christian environment. Additionally, they service students with Dyslexia which most public schools don't recognize as a "serviceable disability."

West Highland Christian Academy 5

Posted November 09, 2010
- a parent
This is a Christ-centered school which isn't fancy but has committed teachers who love Jesus. Our sons would say likewise. They were able to participate in sports and the coaches were the best. I didn't read the other posts until just now and realized I was repeating what everyone else had already written. I guess it must be true, West Highland is a great school. :-)

West Highland Christian Academy 1

Posted March 02, 2010
- a student
I went there and they did not do anything about what they teach It was not cool. I got teased and I got embarrassed. So I am looking for another school. DO NOT GO TO WHCA!


West Highland Christian Academy 5

Posted December 20, 2007
- a parent
I actually graduated from this school many years ago, and now my children attend. It truely is like a family, and the staff are there because they care and they love what they are doing. Is it perfect? No small private school, that doesn't receive government funding, is. I want my children to get a solid foundation built on a strong understanding of reading, writing and math. Those are the prerequisites to every other area of future studies. Most importantly, God is at the center.

West Highland Christian Academy 5

Posted April 17, 2006
- a parent
Ditto what the other mom said. This school has their priorities right. They don't have a fancy building with lots of 'things.' Yet they have caring staff, small class sizes and they truly care about the students. Parental feedback is always welcome. Their sports program is awesome because everyone gets the chance to play yet they still produced a basketball team that won a state championship. This school truly is one of Highland's best kept secrets.

West Highland Christian Academy 4

Posted February 16, 2006
- a parent
We have 3 children enrolled at WHCA and are very pleased with their progress in academics, study habits, team sports, Christian character, social skills, memorizing scripture, and their joy in attending school. They do not want to miss a day of activites, the staff make their days interesting and fun! We know they are maturing and learning more about God, their biblical worldview, and themselves as they study academics, face challenges, and learn to present themselves to others in a Christ like manner. The WHCA coaches encourage everyone to participate, grow in skills, and work as a team to honor God with their athletic abilities. The principal and staff have genuine concern for each student and their family, often going the extra mile to meet their needs. Several area homeschooling families enroll their children part-time at WHCA to get credit for Secondary level classes. We love our WHCA family!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

West Highland Christian Academy
1116 South Hickory Ridge Road, Highland Township, MI  48380
(248) 887-6698
Last modified West Highland Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
West Highland Christian Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top