Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hillsdale High School 1

Posted October 30, 2013
- a parent
I attended these schools and now have/had children in Hillsdale Community Schools. Once my children changed schools, it was apparent how little they were learning at Hillsdale. Academically speaking, Hillsdale is very behind and the graduates aren't at the same level as their peers in other states which makes it difficult for them to catch up once transferred. Personally speaking, there are some small minded and shady people in authority there that would never get away with what they do if they were in the "real world" like a larger city or another state. It's a shame.

Hillsdale High School 1

Posted May 02, 2010
- a parent
As a parent, I am very displeased with the overall atmosphere and learning environment here. Due to their extreme overcrowding, the safety of the school has declined tremendously. A child of mine was robbed right out in front of the school. The administrators have no idea how to operate a school effectively and the counselors are utterly impossible to contact. Since, my children have begun attending Hillsdale High School, their academics have declined and their behaviors have been influenced and compromised. The only positive aspect about Hillsdale is their teachers. I commend the teachers for their hardwork and dedication but I am sorry that I cannot say the same for the administrators that run the school. This will be our last year at this school and our children will be attending the Academy.


Hillsdale High School 0
no rating

Posted August 06, 2009
- a parent
Great Principle Leadership from Mr. Willard and Mr. Beck in Academics and Athletics. School was able to handle my son, an above average student, and make learning a priority, while keeping things 'fun'. Able to create a 'balance' amongst athletics and academics...one of the best orchestra's in the state for jr high and high school students...Not too many palces like Hillsdale where you could play violin one hour, quadractic equations the next, and step onto the field with the state championship baseball team that afternoon. School board and superintendent are hypocrites in many ways...small town, you'll have that. otherwise pretty good school.

Hillsdale High School 0
no rating

Posted January 22, 2008
- a parent
Both of my daughters graduated from HHS and were well prepared for college. I felt that the staff was caring and the curriculum was challenging. My oldest daughter now has a full scholarship for graduate school due to her academic achievement. I appreciate this school.

Hillsdale High School 5

Posted May 29, 2007
- a former student
From an outside view I was very impressed by not only the internal and external appearance of HHS, but just as impressed by the conduct of the students during basketball games in their gym. Hillsdale High School cosmetically looks terrific, clean, freshly painted, the gym shows the pride they have as well as the rest of their sports facilities (school colors everywhere). It is clearly evident that the administration has control of the school.


Hillsdale High School 5

Posted December 07, 2006
- a teacher
High graduation rate - low disciplinary problems - students earn millions of dollars is scholarships yearly - great coaches and teachers - best school in the county

Hillsdale High School 3

Posted November 07, 2006
- a parent
Hillsdale High school in my opinion is not safe and won't be until the Administration and the School Board begin to follow their own handbook.

Hillsdale High School 1

Posted November 27, 2005
- a former student
Hi, I graduated from HHS several years ago. I felt that the aim of HHS was on ATHLETICS, not education or exposure to cultured activites. HHS did not prepare me for college at all, and I feel as though my time at HHS was like jail. Luckily, I have since moved from Hillsdale to a more cultured area where I get to experience a variety of activities and learn about other things than small-town bumpkinism and 3rd grade general education.


Hillsdale High School 1

Posted November 25, 2005
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Hillsdale High School 5

Posted March 05, 2005
- a parent
I am very excited to send my child to Hillsdale High School. The staff is highly qualified. Many of the teachers have masters degrees. The facilities have recently been renovated. There is an environment of high expectations for academic excellence including AP programs, a highly developed fine arts program and a thriving after school sports program for boys and girls that includes a state-champion girls cross-country team and several league and district champion teams.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hillsdale High School
30 South Norwood Street, Hillsdale, MI  49242
(517) 439-4320
Last modified Hillsdale High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hillsdale High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top