Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Eagle Crest Charter Academy

Charter | K-8 | 733 students

Eagle Crest is an academically challenging school that challenges each student.

 
 

Living in Holland

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $110,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $710.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 30, 2010

The partnership between parents, teachers, and administrators is beyond measure. Teachers welcome parents input and even their presence in the classroom. The administration is approachable and works hard for improvements. My children love their teachers and their school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

We switched to this school from another local elementary. The difference was immediately felt! There is such a strong parental involvement. My child is challenged academically while having fun. The interior of the school is bright and happy with students' work hanging on the walls. Between the teachers/parents this is such a caring, nurturing environment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

The school strives for excellance in all they do. The curriculum is college prep and they also teach morals. The parents are encouraged to be involved in all aspects of education. It feels like a home away from home. The staff care for all the kids. Thanks for all that you do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

The teachers and teachers aides care about the kids and their success. They build character in the kids and teach tham right from wrong. They focus on family and how the kids can help not only themselves but their families and their community. They help the kids to kearn respect for themselves and others. they give, give, and give some more to help the kids. They are great!!!!!


Posted October 15, 2009

This school is outstanding in many ways; it provides challenge, direction, moral focus, as well as one of the best academic opportunities we've found anywhere. Three of our children now attend EC. We've spent numerous hours volunteering over the last 7 years and have enjoyed being an integral part of our kids' education. Parents are not only welcomed into the school, but into the classroom as well and are encouraged to participate at whatever level they feel comfortable. Our kids have learned that hard work equals rewards and EC staff does a great job of providing opportunities for growth in this area. From the Principal's willingness to serve to the staff's willingness to submit to his leadership, our kids are being led by example every day. These principles are caught more than taught and I'm proud to say that they're catching some great stuff at Eagle Crest!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2009

As a parent volunteer, I see how much these teachers work. The test results speak for themselves. They work many evenings and weekends. I drive by the school and always see teacher cars all weekend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2009

Eagle Crest is one of the best charter schools in the country. It is by far one of the oveall best schools in Michigan. The academics are way above par, the teachers are exceptional, and the staff is there because they care for the students. I have read a lot of reviews regarding the parking/picking up system, if that is the biggest complaint then you know this school is good. The teachers keep the parents updated weekly on what is happening. My son has homework everyday but it is not over the top. I have watched him excel in his writing and reading skills, as well as word recognition in just a few short months! If you can get in (lottery system) this school it is a given your child will be ahead by the time they go to high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2008

My daughter and son have gone to high school after being students at Eagle Crest thru 8th grade. They are both 'A' students and are in advanced placement classes. If you want your child to learn how to do homework and become an independent student, this is the place. The state tests have Eagle Crest kids in the top percentiles. The middle school is under control and the assistant principal does a great job of putting together positive educational activities. The parking lot is crammed filled with cars every morning, but they don't get the local tax funding to have buses.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2007

This school is fantastic! Eagle Crest has small class sizes, caring and gifted teachers. The students are truly cared for and the academics are challenging. We are so thrilled to be part of the charter school revolution
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2006

This school has potential.... It needs to utilize it. The parking lot is awful! They must do something to improve it. Office staff could be nicer! curriculum is great... But sometimes demanding.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 23, 2006

I loved being a student at Eagle Crest! The teachers and staff are very nice and are concerned about each student. My parents would get notes from my teachers about how I was doing in class. Every Monday teachers would send home newsletters letting my parents know what was happening in the class. I started at EC in 1st grade. Every year we did something special - there were service projects like collecting items for the Red Cross, doing a penny drive for wheelchairs, food drives, planting flowers at a nursing home, sorting items at 'Bibles for Mexico.' We also had all kinds of special events. In 1st and 2nd grade we have China Day(and got to eat Chinese food) and a Thanksgiving feast. In 5th grade - Wax Museum, 4th-Medival Feast, 6th-Camp Henry, 7th-Michigan's Adventure and 8th grade-Washington DC. I think Eagle Crest is a great school!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 23, 2006

I volunteer every morning at Eagle Crest. It is a school that welcomes parent involvement. Discipline issues are handled quickly and fairly. The academic program is beyond compare in our area. I am looking forward to my daughter attending Kindergarten next year. The school has a Readiness Kindergarten program, too. That program is for kids who are Kindergarten age, but need a bit more time to mature before heading into the academic K program Eagle Crest provides. EC is a first-rate school. The school has lots of fun days and programs like Field Day, all-school carnival, reward trips for honor roll students, March is Reading month, Family Reading nights, and lots more. The school and staff are very concerned about the academic, social and emotional development of each student. The expectations for each student are set high. It is a joy to watch student's achieve the goals set for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2006

My daughter graduated from Eagle Crest in June 2005. The quality education she received at Eagle Crest prepared her for academic success in high school. The athletic program provided her with the necessary skills to play competitively with students from other middle school programs. Athletic programs available to Middle School students include: basketball, soccer, volleyball and cross-country. As a somewhat musically inclined parent, I was privileged to accompany the Eagle Crest Jazz Band for two years. As a member of MSBOA, we participated (and continue to particpate) in band and choir festivals. Our bands regularly receive high scores at festivals. The school provides complete special ed and resource room programs. The playground is a safe and inviting area. The hot lunch program is excellent and efficiently run. 8th grade students go to Washington DC every May. My 4-year old starts in the fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2005

Our children are in the third grade and first grade at Eagle Crest. We have a huge difference in the needs of our children academically. Our third grader does well overall. He is constantly challenged, which I think is awesome for his learning ability. Our first grader has a learning disability which makes learning challenging all the time. Her needs are well met through her teachers. She has a great balance of support for what is expected of her. The school has a psycologist, sociologist, speech pathologist, resource teacher (special ed.), reading support and an O.T. These are the support teachers I have talked with and learned so much from in helping my daughter succeed. I love the fact that I can spend the day to figure out what I and the teacher think is working well for my daughter to succeed. Parking is never fun at Eagle Crest but I use it to teach my children patience and kindness to others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2005

Overall I think this school is very high academically. Parent involvement is a tad higher then i think it should be (sounds strange i know). My son is advanced for his age yet his teachers are able to keep him interested and involved in class. I do not like the pickup and dropoff system. There are no buses and the current system they have is HIGHLY inadequate. But overall I think it is a great school. I would recommend to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2005

This school rocks. I use to go to this school for 5 years and i wish i would have gone there for a few more years. The teachers are great. the activities like the carnaliv, the talent show, Field day, The surviver, the Field trips, honor roll field trips were AWESOME. I LOVE EC. thank for being the bestest school ever.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
8%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
16%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 69%
Hispanic 22% 6%
Asian 13% 3%
Multiracial 5% 2%
African-American 2% 18%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 138%N/A48%
Female 252%N/A48%
Male 248%N/A52%
Source: 1 MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Highest MEAP score in the State of Michigan 96.7% Proficiency (2010)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Marching band

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Girls on the run

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:10 am
School Leader's name
  • Jack DeLeeuw
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (616) 786-4692

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • bowling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • Drama club
  • Girls on the run
  • Marching band
  • Science club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11950 Riley Street
Holland, MI 49424
Website: Click here
Phone: (616) 786-2400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT