Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holt 9th Grade Campus

Public | 9 | 482 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 18, 2007

Well the 9th grade is a little small and i think that we could use a little more space to eat. But i do have to say...Mr. Tews was the bomb!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2006

I think that Holt schools are well almost wonderful. I enjoy the half day wednesday, as it allows my child to do work that is due the next day. The teachers are unlike other teachers, and make the learning experience more enjoyable for the students, less book work, and more discussion on things in class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2006

I'm a student in the 9th grade and have been in Holt since Kindergarten.I would like to see more emphasis on foreign languages and Physical education.I think our generation is becoming very lazy and it should be mandatory.I think the Wednesday mornings that we have off are rediculous. More of our taxes should be spent on the arts.(the ninth grade building does not have half the percussion instruments we need) We also do not have the room we need.Right now we are sharing rooms for classes.Yes the schools are crowding, but it is not only due to open enrollment.Holt is growing, I know.There were aprox.1,000 pupils in the jr. high last year and probably more this year.I have always been pleased with our teachers, especially the English teachers this year. If your child can't spell by now and use grammar correctly, they never will.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 1, 2005

Schools are over crowded, due to open enrollment. English is not emphasized enough, poor spelling and writing skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2004

The truth of the matter is that the students in Holt do go to school 5 days a week like in a traditional school system. They have a short day on Wednesday to allow for professional development, but they go slightly longer the other days to make up the hours, so the hours in a week are essentially the same as if they went 5 full days. We have had a wonderful experience with Holt schools. They have so much to offer!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2004

A response to the misdirected information from the initial review: Holt Public schools does indeed have students attend school 4.5 days per week. The half day that students are not in attendance is a nationally-recognized professional development program initiated in conjunction with Michigan State University's Department of Education (the top teacher preparation school in the nation) where the staff work to improve teaching and learning together each and every week. Clearly, since the state mandates the number of instructional hours, it is absurd to imply that Holt students get less time in class. Second, Holt does have high taxes, which means the community values the work done in their schools and voted to accept higher taxes for better facilities. As with all bond money, it is required to be used for building projects and under law connot be used for supplies or textbooks. Please understand the issues before you speak publically.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 28, 2004

Holt schools are out of control. Students do not attend school five days a week, like in traditional schools. Students attend schools only four days a week. Presently Holt Schools are rated in the lower 5% of all schools in Ingahm county, Michigan. Yes, Holt schools have test scores as good as the Detroit, Michigan public school system. Holt, Michigan has some of the highest taxes in Ingham county. However, the students see little of this money. The majority of the money is spent on building projects. The Holt high school is called the 'Taj Ma-Holt'. Meanwhile, math students do not have books. A word of warning, new home buyers, do not move to Holt. The schools are in the state of free fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2004

I attended Holt High School for a little less than a year and I loved it. The staff, for the most part, was very helpful and I fully enjoyed the new additorium. I fully appriciated the 'Black Box' and the new equipment in the soundbooth. The new pool and gym were excellent and the classroom sizes made it easier to walk around. The only problem I found during my time spent at Holt High School was that during passing time going up and down the stairs seemed to be a bit of a hassel. But besides that I loved it!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

486 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
28%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 69%
African-American 12% 18%
Hispanic 12% 6%
Multiracial 7% 2%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5780 Holt Rd
Holt, MI 48842
Phone: (517) 694-4370

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


EdTrek
Holt, MI






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT