Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sycamore Elementary School

Public | K-4 | 351 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 23, 2012

II think that Sycamore is an awful school. My son is in special ed and he os an easy target for other students to pick on. My husband and I have had to speak with the principal several times about our son being bullied by other kids and my son has come home crying several times because of this I think they need to get their heads out of their butts and start dealing with the bullies in schools. Our son is going to Elliot ne t year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2011

I have very intelligent kids, so they do well in school in spite of the teachers and type of education they're getting at Sycamore. Almost every letter that comes home from the teachers has spelling and grammatical errors in it, which drives me crazy! The curriculum is also very "left-wing" slanted. My kids get more than enough diversity training, global warming, recycling, and green propaganda. I am constantly having to correct the indoctrination that is occurring with my kids. Fortunately the boys are very smart and can understand reason. There are two specific exceptions to the rule: Mrs. Steere (2nd Grade Teacher) and Mrs. Usiak (Principal) are both incredible. They're both tremendous assets to the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2008

We transferred my son here after a bad Young-5s experience at a nearby charter school. Mr. Hornak worked with our son and was a fantastic influence in getting him started at school again. Now our son has Mr. Strong for Kindergarten, and he has also been a positive influence. I wouldn't recommend the childcare, but the school has provided understanding, help and a positive atmosphere for our son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2008

Staff genuinely care about students and families. They are learning to work with a broader range of students academically and emotionally.


Posted September 18, 2007

As a former student of Sycamore and now the parent of a Sycamore Superstar I can truthfully say that Sycamore is the best of the best! The teachers truly care and go above and beyond to help kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2007

The teachers at Sycamore are very caring and communicate well with parents. They have a strong math and reading emphasis, but need to focus more on writing. Their MEAP scores are consistently low in this area and my children left Sycamore with weak writing skills. Mrs. Reynolds, in child care, is outstanding. Sycamore provides a warm and positive environment for kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2007

Sycamore school was a great school. I went there for four years and was sad to leave to go to Hope and then the Holt Jr.High. I still come to visit teachers there now and then. all my teachers were wonderful and nice to every there. I'm am now in the Jr.High building next to Sycamore the whole Holt district is very good. they have a great gym and music class. all the people at daycare are nice and all the teachers are to. some of my favorite teachers are at that school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 25, 2006

Hello, I have a daughter who goes to Sycamore currently as a school of choice student from Lansing. She is now in second grade, after her kindergaten year she was diagnosed with diabetes and has continued to go to Sycamore. The office staff and teachers have treated her wonderfully, and never made her or our family feel like an inconvenience. She bagan to have some learning glitches this year and her teacher ms. Mckay got with us and acted on them quickly and things have came around beautifully. I feel they are working well over there under Ms. Lattin's guidance. They have all been very involved and I would reccomend this school above any in the area, I feel fortunate that my daughter has been able to attend, and am pleased with her learning at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2005

I also agree that Mrs. Lattin could do more to create a warmer environment at Sycamore School. The teachers though are fantastic and I look forward to working with them each year. I currently have 3 children enrolled at Sycamore and one who has just left Sycamore for the middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2005

I agree with Susan, Mrs. Lattin needs to improve on her personal skills both with parents and students. This was my childs last year at Sycamore, it will be sad to not see the teachers and the day care staff that has been apart of our family's life for the past 8 years. Thank's Sysamore you have done well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2005

I feel that the school needs improvements, the Principal needs to go back to schooling and learn interpersonal skills with both students and parents. My son is behind in reading, math, while his sister and older brother go to Elliott and they are exceeding very well. My plan is to remove my son and my daughter from Sycamore and putting them into Elliott next year my husband and I have discussed that. If my son has to go to summer school to be up to his grade level for next year we will do that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2004

Hi,My name is... Mikayla I have gone to this school since I was in grade k they have great daycare staff,perfect teachers,great office staff including principal Lori Lattin.I love this school and I am sad to say next year ever since they put 5th grade into Middle School I will be leaving this school to go to another Holt school called Hope Middle School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 23, 2004

Sycamore Elementary is a wonderful school with teachers who go above and beyond the call of duty. Our daughter has a learning disability and received a great deal of support. She not only excelled in this school, but learned to love school and ask for help. The principal was very supportive and provided a lot of insight and encouragement to our daughter and to us.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
32%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 69%
African-American 11% 18%
Hispanic 11% 6%
Multiracial 9% 2%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Melissa Usiak
Fax number
  • (517) 699-3449

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4429 Sycamore St
Holt, MI 48842
Website: Click here
Phone: (517) 699-2185

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT