Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Capitol City Baptist School

Private | K-12 | 51 students

Our school is best known for teachers who care about their students success.
 
 

 

Living in Holt

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $112,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $680.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 15, 2012

Because of a low student count, the kids get more individual attention. The curriculum is very challenging, so the graduates are prepared for college. Many graduates have tested out of classes (saving money). I know because I was one of them. ~graduate and parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2010

I think that this school has a lot to work on. I know that a lot of people appreciated this school for what it once was, but as it is now, things have got to change. The administration and most (most I say) teachers are very pushy with their own views and takes on the Bible, yet they let so many things slip. If you're going to run a strict school, run it strictly. Don't let girls walk around like tramps, or boys talk about vulgar things in the middle of class. Not to mention there's a drug problem there that I'm sure half the school is oblivious to. If you don't put in to the school, you won't be getting much out of it. Also, the academics don't prepare you for college. I'm a current alumni, still knowledgeable in the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2009

We love our school! I am an alumni from 1994 and our 3 children attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2008

My children have been at CCBS for 3 years. They learn how to use the computer in 3rd grade at CCBS. The teachers are very helpful and help every student, individually.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2007

We are very, very pleased with CCBS. The teachers are caring and skilled, the curriculum thorough, and the results clearly positive for our daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2007

We have been at CCBS for several years. The integrity of the personnel is very high, as well as the quality of education my children have received for the last seven years. CCBS is a place of excellence in every way - I won't send my children anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2007

My youngest daughter went to and graduated from Capitol City Baptist Schools. She was well prepared for her college years. All of my grandchildren that are in the Lansing area are enrolled in CCBS. They are far ahead of other children their age, each one was reading before they finished kindergarten. They look forward to school each day, and love their teachers. I could not be more happy with the experience we have had at CCBS involving both teachers and administration. I would highly recommend this school to other people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2007

I have been greatly satisfied with my two children's accomplishments at CCBS. They have extememly high standards with personal help enabling even underachievers to meet.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2007

This school is a wonderful school. I could not be more pleased. They have a great program and excelent teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 71%
African-American 22% 20%
Asian 7% N/A
Hispanic 6% 5%
Multiracial 4% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Lansing schools
Holt schools
Mason schools
Colleges most students attend after graduation Lansing Community College
Pensacola Christian College
Michigan State University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:45am
School end time
  • 3:30pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Bryan Ogle
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • AACS
Fax number
  • (517) 694-3344

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
  • Special education
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Our school is open to international exchange students, and has has students from Germany, South Korea, China and Thailand attend our school.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
51
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
53
Students typically come from these schools
Lansing schools
Holt schools
Mason schools

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$2000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Lansing Community College
Pensacola Christian College
Michigan State University
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5100 Willoughby Rd
Holt, MI 48842
Website: Click here
Phone: (517) 694-1216

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT