Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hanover-Horton Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 290 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 3, 2014

I have been very pleased with the education my children have received. The staff has always been willing to help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2014

Hanover-Horton Middle School is an amazing place! It is a small school with great programs, an amazing staff and teachers who care about all the students. Students can be involved in a variety of afterschool activities including athletics, Student Council, National Honor Society, Homework Club, Leo's Club, Robotics Club and more. Come and be a part of HH!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2014

I couldn't ask for a better school for my three kids. The administration knows every kid and supports them in all of their goals. I have been very impressed with the programs offered to middle school students both academic and extra curricular. There is a club for everyone who wants to participate. I highly recommend Hanover Horton Schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2014

The teachers know my child personally and provide feedback when needed. The principal knows my first name and my child's and always has a warm greeting. my 6th grader was able to participate in cross country unlike in other districts in the area. My daughter has had a class in technology, art, and currently Spanish. These classes may not be offered in other districts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2014

We have lived in the district for 16 years, and love H-H schools. The teachers are available & open to parent communication. We even had one teacher run a workshop on her own time, after school to help math students improve their basic math skills. The principal is visible and available as well. Our son felt very comfortable going to her with any concerns. The school seems very safe, especially with the new security entrances. Technology is up to date & is being improved each year. I would definitely recommend H-H schools to anyone looking for a great place to grow and learn. It is a great community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2014

When my husband's job transferred us to the area 7 years ago I did a ton of research on area schools. We have been completely blessed and satisfied with our decision on Hanover-Horton schools. We are very proud to be HH Comets!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2005

I agree Hanover Horton is a safe (physically) environment, however there are alot of area's of concern for me as a parent. Bullying seems to be rampant. Students pick on each other, use inappropriate language and name calling. No adults seems to intervene even when it happens in front of them. There are double standards in dicsiplinary actions given to students depending on who you are. Lastly, and most importantly is the LACK of curriculum for our college bound children. No guidence or leadership for teachers or students. How do we prepare for the future if the adults won't promote academic excellence. Who is leading ? Lets not be complacent but proactive and get moving. these kids are our future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2004

The school is getting away from quality fun challenging education and stress conformity and discipline to much. I have straight A children who feel the school is regressing. Listen to your parents give them a forum to suggest things. It still has the qualities to be good but the leadership is disjointed. Middle school is a time of changes and conformity should not be the priority of this school. Critical thinking will challenge the high achievers that you are not reaching. Look at the meap scores are the RMO referal kids high achievers and not being challenged? You will make or break kids at this level and you need to build bridges not point out every little thing a kid does that is not easily dealt with by adults. Embrace their individuality and build on it so they value your educational expertise. Kids will value compassion, caring mentors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2004

this school is a great school with outstanding extracurricular activites. we have many interested and involved parents at our school to, and i would say one of the top most rated math teachers for 7th grade
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 14, 2004

the middle school has a new principal, who is doing a good jon. but the school overall seems to stress discipline to the point that it interferes with the students' ability to learn, and sometimes the right to even attend school. from all of the middle school students that i know personally, they are barely passing and seem to have no chance of graduating from hanover-horton high. i can think of 15 8th grade students who are currently looking for schools to go to for the high school years. if i could i would sell my house and move to columbia central, napoleon, or western, but i can't just yet..3 households on my street send their children to luminchristi, 6 that are old enough to drive have split between western, northwest, and options school. i would not elect to send my children to jr.high or high school at hanover-horton. elementary, not a bad school, that was a good experience for my oldest, and so far has been positive for my youngest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

Hanover- Horton is a very good school for your son or daughter.Its athletic program is great. The teachers challenge students to think and be the best students they can be.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
61%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
19%

2013

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
18%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
21%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
10%

2011

 
 
10%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 69%
Hispanic 2% 6%
African-American 1% 18%
Multiracial 1% 2%
American Indian N/A 1%
Asian N/A 3%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 34%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Denise Bergstrom
Fax number
  • (517) 563-9140

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10000 Moscow Rd
Horton, MI 49246
Website: Click here
Phone: (517) 563-0102

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT