Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Howell, MI
Students enrolled: 2,615
Before care: No
After care: No

3 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Howell High School 5

Posted May 02, 2014
- a parent
Howell High School - Howell High School Programs and staff are awesome. There is a place for everyone at Howell!! If you cannot find something you like you are not looking or listening to all the opportunities available. At the high school, there are so many different programs a student is sure to find something they like. AP Classes/Dual Enrollment, Support classes, Athletics - with No PAY TO PLAY, one of the best Performing Arts Department in the area, CAD/Cam programs, Culinary Arts, Medical Careers, Construction trades, Machines class, Pilots school, Photography and art, Marketing and Social Media - I know all these because my students have to pick classes and they want to do them all. There are clubs and activities for many different interests. The size contributes to a student being ready for real world experiences. There are just so many opportunities, the hard part is picking, and not having enough time in the day to take advantage of all the opportunities. .

Howell High School 2

Posted January 11, 2014
- a parent
Very disappointing... I remember when I was in school (a mid-sized Florida public school, then a similarly sized Chicago Parochial high school) things were radically different. We had homework we did from actual textbooks. We received graded homework in a very timely manner. We did hands on Science experiments. I see nothing but an overwhelmingly large number of printed out pages coming home. Textbooks are rarely used at all. Teachers teach "something" but it's often confusing for the students. If over half a class is doing poorly, then it's likely the teacher NOT one student. This school also profiles the wrong children. My son was giving lunch money to friends privately so as not to embarrass them. He was accused of selling drugs. Teachers openly argue with him. This demeans him, infuriates me but ultimately highlights their lack of classroom control or their lack of knowledge relating to the subject matter at hand. I have made them aware of his insecurities but the teachers still continue to berate him publicly. I am currently trying to remove my son from this toxic environment. There are quite a few good teachers but at least 3 VERY bad apples.


Howell High School 5

Posted May 09, 2013
- a community member
Howell High School is a wonderful school with dedicated educators that invest time in all of their students to encourage them to reach their full potential for a bright future! Howell High also offers a wide variety of programs that accomodate to the needs and interests of the large school. Howell is leading the way with their participation in the Reaching Higher program which gives the students life skills to reach their highest potential and be the future of our cummunity. I am very glad to be in a community that offers such great schools and resources for our children

Howell High School 2

Posted April 17, 2012
- a parent
Although there are some good teachers, most offer no extra effort to the students. Students that show signs of struggling with the classroom content are not provided with assistance, additional materials, or other forms of intervention to correct the situation. Teachers rely on posting basic information in a web-based application for parents to read - getting any form of person contact or direct meeting with a teacher is impossible. Counselors and some of the building administrators try to address situations but large caseloads inhibit the process. Central office appears to be out marketing positive sound bites about the district rather than leading any type of significant improvement effort.

Howell High School 2

Posted June 12, 2010
- a parent
There are a lot of good teachers (and some not so good) in this school but it is just too big for a child to get any personal attention. "Guidance counselors" are assigned more than 1,000 kids each and it takes weeks to get an appointment. Scheduling is a nightmare. This school feels more like a factory, than a place of learning. This school's social atmosphere also remains depressingly racist, and the administrators and teachers do nothing (are unable to address) this matter. Two positives: due to the size, there are a lot of AP offerings for advanced students, and the school remains committed to providing arts/music options for students, even during a time of budgetary challenges.


Howell High School 1

Posted April 22, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Howell High School 1

Posted January 06, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Howell High School 4

Posted January 03, 2007
- a former student
This review submitted without content.


Howell High School 1

Posted October 18, 2005
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Howell High School 5

Posted August 09, 2005
- a parent
This school is awesome...very crowded but awesome. The kids seem to stay kids longer at this school and the really seem to care about each other. Academicley its outstanding...even as large as it is kids dont seem to 'get lost' in the crowd. They range from kids with special needs to pre-collage corses. The band is over 100 kids and any sport you can imagine, your child can do including golf, skiing, soccor and so on. The parents chipping in is awesome. They all care about the kids and what the can do to make this school a better inviorment. Recommended A+

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Howell High School
1200 West Grand River Ave, Howell, MI  48843
(517) 548-6206
Last modified Howell High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Howell High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top