Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gaudior Academy

Charter | PK-8 & ungraded | 231 students

Montessori Curriculum

 
 

Living in Inkster

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $75,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $750.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 6, 2014

Gaudior Academy is the only PK-8 public school in Inkster. You will find exceptional caring leadership and teachers who work hard to give every child an excellent education. State test scores are rising fast this yeah. Enroll now and keep Inkster PK-8 alive.


Posted February 26, 2014

Gaudior academy has been a great start for my kids.I see alot of changes with the school and kids.Im trying my best to get more kids to come to Gaudior .The teacher's and staff are great with the kids.Im very proud to say Gaudior change for the better.The parent of k-5. Tameka Boyd
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2014

My Children have been attending GAUDIOR for 4 years !! The school and teachers were always so warm and welcoming. It actually felt like a loving learning community..The upper level children looked out for the lil ones without being told too..The older children also had many roles in the school which the younger kids looked up to.GAUDIOR night was the best ! It helped alot of children get over fears of speaking or performing in public. It was great for my children they actually likes forward to @ family literature night !! Getting your new GAUDIOR shirt not knowing what color it would be that year was a fun mystery !! I loved the fact that they made a book every year and actually read it infront of Now the New GAUDIOR is coming along but I don't think that they should have taken Al away from all these children. Camp trips and more that these children have been waiting to get the chance to participate in. When the school changes and good teachers left we also lost alot of the things that made GAUDIOR ACADEMY better than any other schools around. Trying to hang in there !! Hoping that some of the Old GAUDIOR Returns !!! Ms. N. Williams A Proud Parent !:-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2014

As someone who has seen the improvements made at Gaudior since the summer, I am amazed at the progress so far. The school is far cleaner, more organized, and a much safer environment. The teachers are dedicated and energized, and really take a personal interest in the well-being of their students. Considering what the City of Inkster has gone through, with their public district closing, it's nice to see there's such a great option for families in the city.


Posted August 24, 2010

Yep - 09/10 school year was a tough one. I feel it was due to the fact that many children that had left (or been asked to leave) other schools, found themselves at Gaudior. They were welcomed with open arms - but their ridiculous behavior made it difficult on everyone - students and staff alike. Yes - two directors vs. one - that takes time - it'll work. They both are the most dedicated people I know. I have been assured that 10/11 will be different. The staff that I have spoken with sound positive and upbeat about the coming year. We've been here for a number of years - and are excited about the 10/11 school year!. And no - the Gaudior of today is NOT the Gaudior of yesterday. And I'm glad for that. The Gaudior of today and tomorrow will be even BETTER! Come see what we're about!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2010

The Gaudior of today is not the Gaudior of yesterday. As someone who has seen some very dynamic changes in the the past years, I can only say that the school has been on a downhill trend. With the Teachers, it is truly a hit or miss, some of the best and most dedicated teachers i have ever seen are here, while also some of the teachers just have no idea how to control a classroom, creating an enviroment unsuitable for teaching. The administrative leadership has devolved from one highly dedicated and involved principal, or "Director", to two very inefficient people who are unable or unwilling to create a proper chain of command, creating a perceived lack of responsiblity which results in no actual work getting done and no decisions being made. Gaudior has the potential to be the best, i've seen it, but it's not living up it now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2009

My child attended Gaudior from kindergarten through eighth grades. He received a quality education from caring teachers. He went on to excel at Cranbrook High School and the University of Southern California. He is currently in a PhD program at the University of Chicago. I highly recommend Gaudior to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2009

I am sorry to say i would not recomend this school. My child attended this school for 3 years and when she was evaluated she was behind but by Gaudior standards she was a S+ (A-B student ) in all subject areas. I do love the fact that it is a small school and everbody know every boby but while that help there socials skills i do believe education is not enphasis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2009

Gaudior is a good school i just graduated from it it helped me come from D's to all A's this school is very well put together
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 27, 2009

The school has alot to offer as far as teacher/student involement. The teachers really care, Rosie is exceptional. Whether they are taking the children to a museum, Mackinaw Island, planning Gaudior Night, or just working real hard just so the student will finally 'get it' in their math. They are second to none, and I have experienced quitea few other schools who would rather send a kid back 2 or 3 grades than sit down and work with them. The school seems clean enough, not sure what the other remarks meant, have they ever been in any other pre-school-8th schools before, especially any that have so many projects going on for the kids, it may be a little messy, but is mostly activities for kids, or showing off their work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2008

The people are nice. I agree with the comment on the cleanliness, or lack of it. Some of the classrooms are very junky, the office looks like my garage. There was always a strong urine smell when I just walked past the bathrooms. It always seemed like there was just piles of stuff on the floor around the school. The outside frequently has garbage laying around. As far as the learning, it seems hit or miss. A couple of great teachers, but then the turnover is extremely high; the really good ones seem to leave. No textbooks, which is okay, but then we have a bunch of illegally photocopied pages that are hard to keep track of. Sometimes I felt like some of the lessons were just straight from the Internet (evidenced by the web addresses at the top of the pages). And the discipline was rather lax.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2008

It seems the naysayers always have the taste of sour grapes in their mouths. Well, I'm a reluctant naysayer because I really do like the teachers there. As an extremely involved member of the Gaudior community for several years, I enjoyed that atmosphere. Comfy, shabby, not too clean or fancy - kinda like how most folks with kids live. It was cool in its way, even though some folks couldn't get with the dirty bathrooms or the ringworm the kids passed around routinely. But, you figure, that's life. However, after experiencing another (clean) school more technology/math/science oriented, I wonder if all that comfy coziness was really what my kids needed in a school. The school they now attend is immeasurably, incomprehensibly beyond what they were getting at Gaudior. Not to mention it is a relief to be in a place with firm classroom management skills. That's priceless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2008

I love this school! The teachers are involved and on target with their learning lessons. EVERYONE really plays an active role and does a great job pulling Parent involvement in. The school focuses on academics as well as building characteristics, self-esteem, self-respect and respecting others. They do fun things to develop the children's gifts and desires...plays, book writing, field trip adventures, performance nights, etc. We had our youngest in the preschool and left for convenience...BIG mistake. Upon leaving we realized what a gem this school was...our oldest graduated from Gaudior 2 years ago and doing well in high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2008

I currently attend Gaudior Academy. I think the school is pretty good. The only thing that Gaudior lacks is extra-cirriculor activities.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 7, 2008

I attended gaudior academy for six years. The school has a wonderful family style community with many different educational and social opprotunities. However, the extracurricular activities are non-existant and the staff could use an update on curriculum. I enjoyed the atmosphere but I could hve recieved a better education at a different school
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 17, 2008

I have attended Gaudior Academy from the second to the eight grade and it is the greatest school that I have been to yet and the education, memories and friends i received from the school are still with me today.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2007

I attended Gaudior Academy from second grade all the way up until eighth grade, and I do not believe that I would have gotten nearly as good an education anywhere else. My eighth grade class graduated in 2004, and I went on to the University of Detroit Jesuit High School, where my education rivals and surpasses that of many people who came from private middle schools. It is now my senior year in high school, and I'm still finding out new and good ways in which Gaudior has affected me.


Posted February 5, 2007

This school was a wonderful find! All 3 of my kids attend there from the preschool program on up! With a son who has ADHD I couldn't have found a better school! The teachers are patient and they don't lable him in anyway. If you are looking for a quality education as well as a school that promotes good health and good values this one would be it! Every year this school gets better and better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2005

Teachers are all working on the same page. Each teacher is aware of what the other is doing. Progress reports go out every Friday and parent's are kept abreast of of what their child is doing. Students are taught based on their ability. More advanced students are place accordingly and likewise for the other students. The principal is very active throughout the school and makes it a point to know each student and parent personally. There is a high level of parent involvement. The school makes parents feel grateful that they helped out. Discipline problems are handled right on the spot. Small class sizes with a teacher/student ratio averaging 1 to 12. The only drawback is that the school allows students too many chances. Deadlines continue to be altered to allow students to turn in missing work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2005

Gaudior Academy was a great school for me. I enjoyed all 6 of my years that i spent there learning new and more exciting things as the years went on. I am now in highschool as a 9th and excelling in math all thanks to Rosey Gonzales. I really appreciated what the school did for me and i gurantee it would do the same thing for you :)
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

20 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
5%

2013

 
 
10%

2012

 
 
4%

2011

 
 
4%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

22 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
21%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

17 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
6%

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
15%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

17 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
31%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

17 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
12%

2013

 
 
5%

2011

 
 
12%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

19 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
5%

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
4%

2011

 
 
4%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

20 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
48%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

19 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
0%

2013

 
 
8%

2011

 
 
4%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

21 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
5%

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
14%

2011

 
 
14%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

23 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
43%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

21 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
5%

2013

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
14%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

20 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
5%

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
24%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

20 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
28%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

20 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
15%

2013

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
20%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

27 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
0%

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
0%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

27 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
11%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
25%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

27 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
0%

2013

 
 
4%

2011

 
 
0%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
African-American 73% 18%
Multiracial 13% 2%
Hispanic 7% 6%
White 6% 69%
American Indian N/A 1%
Asian N/A 3%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 190%N/A48%
Female 255%N/A48%
Male 245%N/A52%
Source: 1 MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Margaret Ameel
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (313) 792-9445

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Montessori
  • Montessori
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Individualized learning plans
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

27100 Avondale St
Inkster, MI 48141
Phone: (313) 792-9444

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


David Hicks School
Inkster, MI


Daly School
Inkster, MI


Kinloch Elementary School
Dearborn Heights, MI



Tipton Academy
Garden City, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT