Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Baylor Woodson Elementary School

Public | 3-5 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 22, 2013

SLast semester my child teacher was only there for maybe 60 days.While she was out my child has been bully,lye on,and much more.The principal love,is a good principal however it didn't stop the bully.They called my child names and put there hands on him.He come home and tell me he don't like that school.Now I talk to the principal and teacher but it didn't work.I really do hope there do close down the Inkster school.I will not get started on the Middle School or the 9th grade academy.. but the 9th grade academy is not only a waste of space. It remind me of that movie Lean On Me. I don't have enough space to tell u about those to schools.I hope if they don't shut the schools down then atleast put someone in charge that can ran the schools instead of taking from our kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2012

i love my sons teacher ms. colts but the principal needs to take more action on the bully's she docent seem to care about the topic
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2010

I enjoyed my child's experience in Mrs. German's class this year. She taught the kids academically and basic life skills. My child was in school everyday and would be upset if she was late. My other daughter will be in 3rd grade next year and I am looking forward to her being in Mrs. German's class. Overall, Baylor Woodson is growing tremendously if they can get the discipline policies in check they will be a dynamic school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Because the teachers are very caring and are dedicated to teaching the students. My grandchildren got to know their teachers very well and like their teaching methods. They keep the parents and guardians informed on what is going on in the school, what programs they have after school for students and for parents. They get parents participation and cooperation in working in the school during the day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2008

As a parent of Inkster school children for the past 3.5 years I have seen great advances in the quality of education provided. From the elementary to the Middle school to the High School the teachers that my children have had are always there to give the kids that extra attention. The open door policy the staff and faculty have is exceptional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2007

I have 2 daughters enrolled in the school and I am very highly pleased with the teacher's willingness to make sure each student is successful when they leave their classroom. The parental team is also wonderful as well & very involved in the success of their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2007

I currently have a 3rd grader enrolled at Baylor-Woodson.We are very satisfied with the education our son is receiving at this school. I feel Baylor-Woodson is providing a quality education as well as many after school and extracurricular activities. As a parent I feel very well informed of what is being taught in the classroom as well as my childs progress. I would highly recommend this school to anyone interested in the Inkster Public School District.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2007

School needs more parent and teacher communication, as well as involvement and updates on the development of SOP for prevention of bulling and assaults on vulnerable students......
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
1%

2011

 
 
27%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
African-American 98% 18%
Hispanic 1% 6%
White 1% 69%
American Indian N/A 1%
Asian 0% 3%
Multiracial N/A 2%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 93%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Beverly Gerhard
Fax number
  • (734) 721-7968

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

28865 Carlysle St
Inkster, MI 48141
Website: Click here
Phone: (734) 467-5697

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare

Add this school to compare
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT