Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

David Hicks School

Public | K-4 & ungraded | 385 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 29, 2009

My son as been attending David Hick since 2006 and now he's in the 3rd grade. I feel the school is awesome and the princioal does an outstanding job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

I recently posted a comment regarding David Hicks being in Inkster and having children attend/attending that school and have done well and are doing well. One more thing I wanted to add was that I wish Mrs. Mosca could teach my child all throughout elementary. She 's great, very caring and understanding/patient and was very good with my child in 1st grade. Thanks Mrs. Mosca As a result, he making great stride in 2nd grade. thanks Mrs. Mosca.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

I disagree with the comment stating that it's in a rough area. If the area is so 'rough', why send your child there. Inkster has received unfair reviews. The school is great and the teaching staff is the best. I'm unsure about the area that the person was speaking of but I've been a resident for seven years and my area has been awesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2008

David Hicks Elementary School is a top notch school.The principal and staff are caring professionals. The have a top notch reading recovery program..Ms. Larson is the greatest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2008

This school is quite good considering the fact that it is in a rough area of Inkster. The principal is working hard to make it a great place. The teachers are good, especially the fourth grade staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2007

I am really proud of a teacher. She is Mrs.Grezak. My child is always coming home with a smile. You should give her a thumbs up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2006

I have a Kindergarten student in Hicks Elementary. The school is Fantastic! And I cant say Enough about the Principal Akeya Murphy. She is so open to suggestions and parents concerns, the teacher and principal being so eager for parent involvement put my fears of sending my first son to school, at total ease!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2005

I have 2 children going there and a third entering. They have been there since kindergarten. I think they have very dedicated pta staff and they have good extracurricular activities. The principal is just OK. But I have never had a problem with the teachers or other students. I feel my kids has had a decent education. Nothing spectecular but it's enough. I know for a fact the teachers are good and would love to do more but the funds just are'nt there in the district unfortunately. But overall an very good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2003

Davi Hicks Elementary School has made a 90 % turnaround in the last few years. This school took an interest in its overall advancement. They recruited teachers, administration , parents even the students themselves to become more committed to achievement. They focused on reading writing and attendance. This school improved in every area and is still committed to improving . I have twin students entering the third grade ,each with individual strengths and weakness's. I feel confident David Hicks will address all of there concerns. I would recommend David Hicks to all Elementary students and Parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
5%

2013

 
 
5%

2012

 
 
11%

2011

 
 
11%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
35%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
5%

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
9%

2011

 
 
9%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
35%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
22%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
African-American 75% 18%
White 15% 69%
Multiracial 5% 2%
Hispanic 4% 6%
American Indian 1% 1%
Asian N/A 3%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 89%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Andrew Rosinski
Fax number
  • (313) 563-8450

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

100 Helen St
Inkster, MI 48141
Website: Click here
Phone: (734) 419-2660

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


United Christian School
Garden City, MI


Tipton Academy
Garden City, MI



Gaudior Academy
Inkster, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT