Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Da Vinci Institute (9-12)

Charter | 9-12 | 128 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 3, 2009

they help students that most schools have given up on.they believe all children are teachable.


Posted June 5, 2008

The staff truly cares about each student. This is shown not only recognizing their academic successes, but personal success as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2007

My son graduated from the Da Vinci Institute. He did not do well in the traditional school environment. He graduated with College credits from Da Vinci, served 8 years in the USMC achieving the rank of Sgt. and is now a Business Development Manager. The freedom to design an individualized education plan is what made his educational experience successful. If students and parents are willing to work with staff, the most important thing your child will learn how to function in the real world, critical thinking skills and how to learn. If you just want a babysitter, this is not the school for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2007

Whoever said that this school is awful is either a liar, or isn't very smart; da Vinci is a very good school, with classes like bowling, a good biology class where you can learn quite a lot, and art classes based on what the students think is fun. There is also a system where students can sort out their problems; and a lot of activities that require parent involvement. How do I know? I am a student there. Trust me, this would be the school I would send my kids to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 16, 2006

I attened this school for two years and I really enjoyed being there.This school is really set up so that the students get a really good eduacation and all the help they need.A lot of the teachers made some of the subjects I hated so much fun and a great learning experience.The staff really do care about the students best intrest at daVinci,and that's the truth!They just need to add more extracurricular activities into the school.Other than that,it's a really good school.~Shaquor~
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 26, 2005

I attended this school and loved every minute of it. Da Vinci provides a safe learning enviroment that still allows you to grow. The classes are set up for you to take charge and learn to be responsible for your own self, while still having guidance. This school helped to form a bond with not only other students, but the teachers as well. It teaches you to have self respect and helps you to gain a direction for your future. I would recomend this school to any one! It is truely an expirence that will change the way you look at school forever...and make you a better person in the process!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 22, 2005

My daughter has been attending da Vinci for two years now. I have been very impressed with all they have to offer her. It is a safe enviroment where teachers and parents can really work together. Because of the option of career center and dual enrollment at JCC, I am always confident she is taking the right courses for her skill level. She was in the African Drumming class for three years and thoroughly enjoyed every moment of it. I to loved watching all of the schools perform. Elementary, middle, and highschool. Thank you da Vinci for supplying my daughter with what she needs to suceed in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2004

This is an awful school do not send your kids here my daughter went here and was picked on continusly and nothing happened when she told the principal. It isnt a good school it is the smae as every other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2004

I attented this school (the high school version) for two years and I really enjoyed it. However, while some teachers were very involved with the students and the schoolwork, others allowed a lot of 'group work' which made it really easy to slack off and get behind. I liked that it is an ungraded school because if you work really hard you can graduate early. They really try to make learning fun and provide some awesome opportunites that most students would never have had the chance to do if not for this school. On one summer session I was able to go backpacking in Colorado and Utah with a group of students and teachers.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
2%

2013

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
8%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
6%

2011

 
 
10%

2010

 
 
10%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
15%
Science

The state average for Science was 26% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
5%

2012

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
10%

2010

 
 
10%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 38% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
20%

2010

 
 
23%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 50% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
17%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

59%

Average ACT score

18

Graduation rate

60%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 69%
African-American 13% 18%
Multiracial 9% 2%
Hispanic 2% 6%
American Indian N/A 1%
Asian N/A 3%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 168%N/A48%
Female 240%N/A48%
Male 260%N/A52%
Source: 1 MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2255 Emmons Rd
Jackson, MI 49201
Website: Click here
Phone: (517) 796-0031

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT