Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Northwest High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 878 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 26, 2014

They/Teachers give certain kids more attention than other kids. One kid may have more privileges than another kid with the same disability. If a kid is in love with something, the school tries to take it away from them so they can't have it, calling it a "distraction." When it's actually helping them with focus. THIS SCHOOL SUCKS, DON'T SEND KIDS HERE.


Posted November 11, 2013

I wouldn't give them any stars, but I see that's not an option. I recently moved from Northwest High School to the Alternative because I was bullied so bad at the high school. I even went to the principle about it and he asked me "what did you do to make them do that?" Every staff member definitely has favorites, even the principles.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 2, 2013

I am a current student, and the Northwest teachers are horrible for the most part, the school is junky, and there are not enough busses for the amount of children at the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 27, 2011

Ultimately though, the administration at NWHS helps provides yet another example of a public school system that places actual student achievement and educational success low on the priority list. If I gave more specific examples of the behaviors and educational styles of some of the tenured teachers I had, you would be shocked. Some of the things I experienced: many instructors that would 1) sleep in class, 2) have us copy notes out of a book, then use our notes on the weekly tests, never learning anything, 3) gossiping (yes, gossip. Idle back-talking) with their more-liked students about other students, and more. I had a few amazing instructors during my years at NWHS. Mr. Seal, Mr. Mark Hoyt, Mr. Bowen, Mr. Brandon Baker, Mr. Woodruff (the latter two are retired). But they're the exception, not the norm. There is a pronounced disconnect between the needs of the students and the goals of the administration. This is representative of the larger problems with the national educational system, yes, but it doesn't in any way let them off of the hook. Until student achievement and engagement become the primary priority, the problems observed at NWHS will continue on indefinitely.


Posted September 21, 2010

I am a teacher at Northwest High School. In the past two years the staff has done a tremendous job of making this school a "safe" place to come and learn. Teachers are monitoring hallways, the principals are out and about each morning before school, during class changes, during lunches and after school. There is a no tolerance for student bullies, fighting and overall not following rules. Cell phones are allowed before school, during lunches and after school. Like in all schools, cell phones are not allowed in the classroom, but in cases of emergency, students are allowed to use the phones in the rooms to call parents if they need to. Lanyards with ID are a must to keep our students safe. Teachers are there for the students. Having been in other districts I have found, Northwest high school to be an excellent choice for your student.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 15, 2010

My son is going there and I would just like to say that the school is horrible, they have a lot of drug problems "more than the last school my son was at" and a lot of kids who are just plain horrible. Most of the teachers are under qualified and sometimes end up learning a thing or two from the students. Overall I never recommend sending your kid to this school it will be a huge regret you have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2010

When I was a student there years ago we never had cell phones.we would realize that if there was a family emergency someone from the office would give us a note and that we could call home.as for dress code it's a good idea.years ago the guys would stand against a wall and make comments good and bad about the girls that walked by.my sister was shy and always hated the comments made to her when she walked by going to her classroom.you need to have some dress code because it's not good for clothes to be to tight or showing everything.It's dress etiquette when going to school or work.you would not wear short shorts to work and a tube top to work.same rules as going to work.


Posted November 18, 2009

Poor leadership, inconsistent discipline, unnecessary policies. Need I say more?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Low academic standards and very little discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2009

We moved here 10 yrs ago and enrolled my nephew in this district 3 years later. Our nephew had reading probs and we were told not by his former teachers in another state not to expect much more advancement from him. Well, since starting school in NW, he has blossomed and thrived. He is about to graduate high school and is out of ALL of the LD classes he started with, is mainstreamed in all classes and is making the 'B' honor roll. Thanks to his knowledgeable and caring teachers.....they have been wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2009

I don't honeslty understand what i was thinking when i was deciding where to go for high school. There are so many freakin' rules. Like next year shorts have to be 2 inches above the knee or you can not wear them. What kind of bogus is that!? No cell phones either, ok what if something happens to someone in our family? The teachers also love to pick and choose favorites. They only fallow whatever rules they choose and to whom they want to. I am so happy i only have 1 year left. Let me know of what you think about the school. Thanks.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 27, 2006

I moved to another state this school year after 5 years in the NW Middle School and High School. I had 2 children attending. The academic quality of their education was excellent. They had awesome teachers and my daughter was well prepared to go into the top math and science classes in a very competitive school district in GA. My main concern is the fact that they are taking away more extracurricular activities each year, such as foreign language clubs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2006

I am currently enrolled at Northwest High School. Even though we are underfunded and understaffed, the school still makes a very strong attempt to teach the students, and make it a positive learning environment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 7, 2006

Northwest Highschool is located in a district that hasn't passed a bond proposal in over two decades. Despite the chronic underfunding the school exhibits a dedicated and caring group of teachers and administrators. The band and choir programs are very successful and the school has recently added a Drama Club thanks to the dedication of it's staff who give of their free time to enrich the students' lives. The parents of the district are involved and do what they can to make up for the lack of funding. I don't regret sending my children to Northwest, the community spirit and moral values in the district offset the failure of the community to value it's school enough to properly fund it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2005

I am currently attending Northwest High school. I think it is an 'ok' school considering the lack of funding. As far as the education goes, they teach important things to know for college and the basics. I have attended another school and i think Northwest has a better staff and educational program. I am currently in the serenade at the high school and find it challenging and enjoyable. The extracurricular activites though are unffair when it comes to the selection of students. People who are 'un-popular' will never get picked even if they have a higher skill level than someone who is in the 'popular' group. Northwest has a high level of parent envolvement. We have a group that meets once a month to talk about the school and support the students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 17, 2005

I feel that the school is great other than the extracurricular activities. At least in my point of view. You will not make the team unless you are the child of a worker or a favorite of them and that to me is unfair. There is too much that people are not aware of but I plan to make them aware of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2005

This school is a poor example of a school. The teachers are underqualified, the students wild, and the afterschool programs are half quality. This school needs much help if it is to ever prosper again. I do not recommend sending your child to this school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 23, 2003

I curintly attend this here skool and I love the kurikulum it is grate. Me and them teechers get along reel well I reely understan them reel good and we is at about the same level. The principal is real smart and we have long conversashuns about reel intalectual stuff he teeches me lots of stuff.


Posted June 6, 2003

I am currently attending this high school. The leadership leaves much to be desired. The school is underfunded. An example: they are unable to provide students with paper.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

232 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
17%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2014.

206 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
19%

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
15%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2014.

206 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 28% in 2014.

206 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
24%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 44% in 2014.

206 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
45%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

205 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

All Students19%
Female15%
Male23%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic23%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White20%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities21%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homeless10%

Reading

All Students55%
Female61%
Male48%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities11%
Students without disabilities60%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homeless20%

Science

All Students18%
Female14%
Male21%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic15%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White19%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities19%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homeless10%

Social Studies

All Students41%
Female36%
Male47%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White45%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities6%
Students without disabilities45%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homeless30%

Writing

All Students49%
Female57%
Male39%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities53%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homeless10%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

92%

Average ACT score

19

Graduation rate

86%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 69%
Hispanic 4% 6%
African-American 3% 18%
Multiracial 3% 2%
American Indian 0% 1%
Asian 0% 3%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Scott Buchler
Fax number
  • (517) 569-2935

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4200 Van Horn Rd
Jackson, MI 49201
Website: Click here
Phone: (517) 817-4702

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Ta Wilson School
Jackson, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT