Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Vandercook Lake High School

Public | 6-12 & ungraded | 681 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 29, 2013

I left the Vandercook school district about 4 years ago. When I left the school had recently put a new bully policy in effect. At the time student were taking it as a joke. I faced bullying from students and staff. When my mother and I approached the administrators about they simply replied with "Do you think it could be your daughter causing the problem?" I finished the school year and moved to Western where I have been glad to go to school every morning. Not to mention the teachers are horrible and their band program is horrible. I entered band and self taught myself due to the lack instruction from the director. I only stayed enrolled for a year but during that time he had us watch movies (non educational) for 5 weeks then would give us 2 weeks to attempt to learn our music. He is an ignorant instructor and enjoys embarrassing the children by having them not perform but do an "informance" to show they don't practice. To send your child here would be a huge mistake. The better schools are on the outskirts of Jackson (Colombia Central, Northwest, Western, Hanover Horton! etc.)


Posted September 20, 2010

I totally agree that this is the worst school, they promote bullying. They do nothing for a student that needs a little attention or proding totally ignore parents that are not in their little circle of friends. For your childs safety and sanity DO NOT put them in this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2010

This school is by far the worst school that any parent could send there child to. they are only money hungry, and they will do anything that they have to, just to get money from you even if its changing dates on paper so they can count your child for student count day. if ur student is a senior at VCL i feel sorry for them, u as a parent might want to contact someone in the office and see if your child is still gonna walk. my child was suppose to graduate then she left for medical reasons and when she went back there they had lost over half of her school records and she went to VCL schools since kindergarden. so when graduation time came around they didnt tell her until 4 days before the ceromonie that she wasnt going to be able to walk or get her diploma.


Posted June 1, 2009

I'm a student at this school. It's ok, but I feel like I'm not getting the best education there is. A lot of students don't really care about their grades, they can be very rude and disrespectful to their class mates and some teachers/ substitutes. And I don't think that people are paying enough attention to this, it needs to be resolved before some of the classes graduate. - class of 2010
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 9, 2009

i go to this school right now we may not be good in sports but we have the best edication
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 11, 2008

I pulled my children out of another school because of the bullying that led to my 5 year olds ulcers and put them into Vandercook. that was almost 5 years ago and my children have excelled in every way. there are some things that need to be worked on but this school district is on it's way to the top.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2007

I graduated from Vandercook and I think it is a great school. The teachers are great and they put grades and school work above sports. I think that is very important. The principals are wonderful! The school is small enough that the teachers and principals know all the students so you can't get away with any funny business. I will definitely send my kids there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 24, 2007

This is the best public school in the jackson area. I myself have attended this fine school. The teachers are great, the buildings are being updated, and the sports programs are on the rise. All this is able to happen because of the great community and those who live in it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 23, 2005

This is the best public school in the county. It's small enough to have the private school attention and opportunities each child deserves. I have known families who have attended Vandercook Lake for 3 generations and there are multiple generation staff members as well. The staff are involved in the community and the community is involved in the school, making it a truly wonderful place to send your child. The class of 2004 has a very high percentage of it's members attending state universities and this is a credit to the high accademic standards the school strives for. The sports facilities are among the best in the area and are kept up to date by the financial support of a very committed community boosters club. Because it is a small school there is a high rate of participation in sports, music and other clubs which increases positive attitudes towards education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2004

We have been in Vandercook schools for several years. When we have a concern regarding any issues in school, the principals have been available to listen and resolve the issues. Overall we have been pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
52%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
8%

2013

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
12%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
34%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
41%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
12%

2011

 
 
12%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
16%

2013

 
 
9%

2011

 
 
6%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
19%

2013

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
24%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
10%

2011

 
 
11%

2010

 
 
18%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
43%
Science

The state average for Science was 26% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
12%

2011

 
 
19%

2010

 
 
16%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 38% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
27%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 50% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
34%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

92%

Average ACT score

19

Graduation rate

84%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 69%
African-American 4% 18%
Hispanic 3% 6%
Multiracial 2% 2%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian N/A 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 56%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Mark Schonhard
Fax number
  • (517) 782-3730

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1000 East Golf Ave
Jackson, MI 49203
Website: Click here
Phone: (517) 782-8167

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Ta Wilson School
Jackson, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT