Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Loy Norrix High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1514 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 9, 2013

As a alumni of Loy Norrix I would highly recommend the school to prospective students. Yes it has a bad rap and you hear mostly about the negative aspects to it but it was a wonderful school for me and I don't regret a minute I spent there. I was very active in athletics and the music department all of my 4 years there. I never once had a problem with a teacher, student or activity that I participated in. I was not a gifted student academically and I always had teachers that were more than willing to work with me after school and between classes to ensure my success. I enjoyed a variety of the classes offered including French, law and gym. Every school has its issues and Norrix is no exception however, don't let the amount of negative reviews on this site scare you away from sending your children here. High school isn't easy for anyone, you have to apply and push yourself in order to succeed.


Posted January 26, 2010

Loy Norrix has been a great disapointment. If you want quality classes you better be ready for a lot of work. Don't be slow signing up for classes or you will get classes like dancing, weight lifting, german. They have never been able to give my children the upper level classes they have asked for. We have sent 4 children there and they were lucky to get two or three classes a semister that were what they wanted. I must say that they have done somethings better for the last two. The Kalamazoo has helped a very little. Need many more parents that are willing to complain about class selection.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2009

Loy norrix is a wonderful school and people look over that fact the musical and drama department at Loy Norrix is marvelous! and the school is diverse
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

We have a diverse, awesome school with great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2009

Loy Norrix is in sad shape. With the removal of David LaPrarie I thought it would make a turn for the better... but the administration continues to be weak and the students as a whole are not there for an education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

As a senior at Loy Norrix High School I would have to say the future of this school is looking brighter. This has and always will be a safe school. The teachers are okay, its easy to tell which teachers will be helpful for each students learning form. The extra curricular activities are getting better. The new principal Mr. Edwards is the star that this school has needed for a while, he has made dicipline tighter and as a student I am glad he came.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 23, 2008

Loy Norrix used to be an excellent school. My older son had a wonderful experience there, but the climate has changed dramatically over the past 4 years. The halls are unsafe, students are allowed to wander with no intention of going to class. The safety of students is not a priority of administration as they look the other way for the most chronic offenderse. With the implementation of the Promise, free tuition for all graduates, there seems to be a decrease in accountability and enforcement. There appears to be a overriding mood of families will stay for the promise of college tuition and discipline can become secondary to the politics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2006

I believe the biggest problem with Norrix is that not enough parents get involved with their children s lives. As a recent former student I never once felt threatened or unsafe. The diversity has had an amazing impact on my life. I would never think twice about sending my child or anyone else to this school. Norrix gave me many opportunities to grow and learn. I am thankful for my experience.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 22, 2005

This is a very simple concept to understand, High school to many students, is like a second home. A place to learn and a place to visit. How can parents expect the best from the staff, from their own children, when their involvement is minimal. Parents, if you expect more, give more...more of your time to your childern and to the school. Show that you care and show some school spirit! Problems need to be fixed at home, on the street,not in the school environment. loy Norrix is a great school,parents and students just need to start believing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 19, 2005

My daughter has been a student at Loy Norrix the past four years. She has found numerous activities to her liking including teachers who have guided and opened they way for a career she is considering. She, her mom and I are aware of the challenges at Loy Norrix yet were I to do this again I would choose Norrix as the school for her. I don't feel this is an unsafe atmosphere yet one of real world challenges for staff and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2005

Police officer stationed in school building is necessary to hallway safety. School superintendent is intolerant of suspensions, has tried to distance herself from problem. School has fine theatre and music curriculum but is an unsafe learning environment.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted January 26, 2005

The teachers at this school are of the best I've seen. The major problems from what I gather are unusually large class sizes, a lack of supplies, and a lack of parent involvement! You cant expect a school to run smoothly when a majority of the parents expect the school to raise their kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2004

Despite the negative public criticism i've been seeing lately about Loy Norrix, I still believe its a good place for kids to go to school. we also have a great robust diversity of after school clubs, an uncommonly healthy and renound arts program, and many wonderful and talented students (very high college turnout of LN graduates, etc.). Sure, we're going through some rough times. But 'yo, you gotta keep up your reps' just does not paint the whole picture.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 1, 2004

My daughter is currently a Junior at Loy Norrix and she constantly complains about how rude her teachers are. There are only 4 or 5 good teachers who respect their students at the school. Students don't have any freedom and they are constantly under watch. There are not enough teachers in the school for each child to get the help that they need. I think that you should really think twice before enrolling your child at Loy Norrix. If my daughter could go to a different school then I would send her to one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

My student is a senior this is her last year and I have had only a few problems and that was with her schedule. When I meet with teachers they have all seemed very nice and had time to talk about anything and answer any questions. The teachers at Loy Norrix are great.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

565 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
19%

2013

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
17%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2013.

276 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
22%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

276 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
45%
Science

The state average for Science was 26% in 2013.

276 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
22%

2010

 
 
19%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 38% in 2013.

276 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
33%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 50% in 2013.

274 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

87%

Average ACT score

19

Graduation rate

75%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 44% 69%
African-American 37% 18%
Hispanic 14% 6%
Multiracial 3% 2%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian 1% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 66%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Rodney Prewitt
Fax number
  • (269) 337-0045

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

606 East Kilgore Rd
Kalamazoo, MI 49001
Website: Click here
Phone: (269) 337-0200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT