Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Woods Lake Elementary:A Magnet Center For The Arts

Public | K-5 | 507 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 8, 2013

My son has struggled with behavior issues in Peep and Kindergarten at other schools and we have been praying for improvement. This is my son's first year at Woods Lake and so far, we have very much enjoyed it! There is a wonderful sense of communication between the teachers and the principal and I am confident that this will a ever changing growth experience for my son and I. I believe with my heart that with the help of the staff at Woods Lake we will succeed and allowing my son to enjoy learning and to get back on the right educational path.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2008

My child has been having problems with other students. The teachers seem to be doing nothing about it. I have came up to the school 4 times and nothing has happened with the students bothering my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2008

This school is Great. We just have a lot of slow learning children who need more help. My children attend this school and they get help when they need it. Ms. Weldon is the Best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2006

My daughter attends Woods Lake and I think it is an excellent school. I do think that the students need more challenging academics and that there should be more options for advanced learning. Since the Kalamazoo promise there has been a huge increase in the attitude of the staff towards getting the children prepared for college and this is very exciting to see.This is a very special time for KPS and I feel very fortunate to have a child enrolled there. I could have picked any school in the area and am very happy with my choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2006

My son attended Woods Lake Elementary School for two years. He got there just as Principal Joan Weldon arrived there. She alone has made a change to the school. We love her enthusiasm with the kids and the particular details she has regarding their academics. I anticipate even more improvement in the years to come. My daughter will be attending Kdg. their this year. We chose the school because of all it has to offer her in music, drama and dance. I look forward to her endeavors and all she will get to experience under Principal Weldon leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2005

I also am not satisfied with this school. I also do not feel that my child is being challenged enough or given the tools needed to succeed academically. I aslo am disappointed in the out put of programming coming from a magnet school for the arts which is very little, there should be several music, dance, and ,art programs preformed by the students whom attend there. I am thinking not to continue my child in this school. However, I may keep my child within the district for the time being.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2005

I did not like this school for my child. He was not challenged at all. This school does have some nice teachers but I do not agree with the curriculum and it does not seem to be working for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
15%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
18%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
45%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
25%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
26%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
5%

2013

 
 
3%

2011

 
 
4%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
African-American 44% 18%
White 29% 69%
Hispanic 19% 6%
Multiracial 5% 2%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian 1% 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 89%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Tamara Jamierson
Fax number
  • (269) 337-1637

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3215 Oakland Dr
Kalamazoo, MI 49008
Website: Click here
Phone: (269) 337-0790

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Kazoo School
Kalamazoo, MI


Evergreen Academy
Kalamazoo, MI


Gagie School
Kalamazoo, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT