Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Parkwood-Upjohn Elementary School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 521 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 2, 2013

This school is very active and fun to learn! The teachers have the right range for each grade and the students love this school ~ From a student named Jada Thomas :D


Posted October 21, 2011

The staff, community & principal are all very supportive, loving & caring. I have never known a community to be so involved in a school! The location is in a great upscale neighborhood(parking sucks) but they have a good "30 second" drop off for students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2011

I was only in this school for one day, so I don't dare rate it a 5, but I will give you my first impression: I subbed one day, and I noticed: A very involved, happy, and friendly principal. An old, old school with narrow hallways and low ceiling, as well as music piped softly from the intercom in the hallway area, all of which made the school feel extremely cozy and homey!! Very friendly teachers. Very happy, smiling students. Teachers trying their best to teach. A friendly office. I was only in the very lowest grades, and never saw how it went in 2-3, but these are my first impressions. I came home and told my husband that this was the most awesome school I had been in!--and that's over my 6 years of subbing.


Posted August 29, 2011

Two of my children attend Parkwood Upjohn , one will be in the kindergartner and one in the third this year. They both are doing really well thanks to a caring, loving and excellent staff at Parkwood. I only have good things to say about the school and the teachers we have had so far. My only hope is that it continues just the same way in the years to come! I really believe it is a very good school. There are issues at the school but over all the staff handles these situations before it gets out of hand.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2011

This school, it's dedicated staff and principal, the diversity, and the involved parents is exactly what I want for my three children. I feel that every child in this school is respected and honored. Respect, responsibility and safety are key lessons, along with anti-bullying. There are many opportunities to learn in the way that best suits each child. I have three children with very different educational needs and the teachers and principal have recognized the needs of my kids, and others that I know, and have done their best to teach to my children's strengths. The PTO is very active at Parkwood, raising tens of thousands of dollars in one year to send kids on field trips, buy new copiers for teachers, and provide all sorts of activities throughout the year. This year we have a new vegetable garden and will be getting a new preschool/young elementary playground. I can't say enough about the good intentions of everyone involved. There positivity towards the school iscontagious.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

the teachers really help and care for kids that is having a hard time learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

Our family loves this school. The principal is absolutely fantastic and has such a wonderful relationship not only with the parents but also with the students. She is frequently helping kids on and off the bus in the morning or afternoon, stopping to greet and speak with students and she visits all the classrooms on a regular basis. Today was the school Literacy Parade with all the studentsw parading the costumes they made in class based on a book character. Afterwards she sang silly Halloween songs to the kids in my son's class when she dropped by. Many kids love to come up and give her a great big hug. We also love my son's 2nd grade teacher Mrs. Kessler. We moved here from North Carolina this year and everyone has made such an effort to make sure our son felt welcome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Parkwood Upjohn is a socio-economic, racially integrated school. As a school consultant working at Parkwood Upjohn for 2+ years, I was impressed by the effort of staff and community members to willingly educate themselves and in turn implement change for the benefit of their students. In the process, they developed many innovative and motivating experiences that meet diverse needs. The school/community members of Parkwood Upjohn deserve recognition for the creative and diligent effort they exert to overcome the challenges they face.


Posted August 5, 2009

Two of my children attend Parkwood Upjohn , one will be in the first grade and one in the third this year. They both are doing really well thanks to a caring, loving and excellent staff at Parkwood. I only have good things to say about the school and the teachers we have had so far. My only hope is that it continues just the same way in the years to come! I really believe it is a very good school. My children could both read pretty well by the end of Kindergarten and they are both at an advanced level. What more could I ask for?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2009

My daughter has been going to Parkwood for 2 yrs and we have had a great success since we've been there. The principle and the teachers have been great. We had an issue with a student there and the staff handled it greatly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2008

I have a child at Parkwood she is in KG and she also attended PEEP at this school. I cannot say enough good things about the staff and principal. When ever I have an issue I know I can call on either one and get results! My child is reading at an amazing level and learning more each day. Hey I love Parkwood
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

If you have a child that is quiet, attentive and has overall good grades, they may not survive this school. Parkwood Upjohn bends over backwards for students that have behavior problems and are a constant disruption. If you dare complain to the administration - your child will suddenly have unexplained behavioral problems and the Principal will try to 'teach' you to be a better parent. In other words - they turn the tables on you and make everything your problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2008

I have 3 children attending this school and we've been actively involved for 3 years now. The staff is loving and attentive, the Principal greets the children every morning with boisterous smile and a hardy good morning. The extra curricular activities are fantastic and the parental support can not be beat.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2008

We moved within one block from Parkwood from another state because we were told of what a 'great school' it was. We are now having to pull our second grader from the school and put him into private school. This school, at one time many years ago, may have been a good place for 'children', but it presently has many cultural issues, the staff is surley and unkind, and the administration does not listen to parents (nor children) to resolve issues in a productive way. There is only a short recess for the chidren everyday. This school was very disappointing to parents who (before this experience) believed highly in the public school system!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2006

My entire family loves this school so much we are selling our house and moving into the neighborhood! The principal does a great job with not only administration, but also takes the time to get to know each kid and every family. The teachers are warm and friendly, know how to teach, and really care about the kids. Both my husband and I have full-time jobs, so we can't participate as much as we would like, but we already feel a part of the Parkwood-Upjohn community. I have visited other schools and talked to many, many parents, and Parkwood-Upjohn is tops!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2006

I have been a Parkwood parent for over 10 years. All of my children have received a terrific education, and I have constantly and continually been impressed with the teachers, staff, and principal. The school community, staff and parents alike, has been consistently enthusiastic, energetic, and creative. Is it perfect? Of course not, but there is always a strive for improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2006

This is the type of school that if you are a working parent, you will not know what is going on. You have to practically be on the PTA Board to get any information. The teachers try, but to a minimal effort. They will pass a child that is receiving a 23% in all subjects. I have seen it done. You have to request all information to be sent to you. They do nothing on a voluntary basis. I mean if you are not a working parent, or you have a job where you can invest 're'teaching your child knowledge.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
14%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 69%
African-American 27% 18%
Hispanic 6% 6%
Multiracial 4% 2%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 53%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Carol Steiner
Fax number
  • (269) 337-1632

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2321 South Park St
Kalamazoo, MI 49001
Website: Click here
Phone: (269) 337-0720

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Gagie School
Kalamazoo, MI


Evergreen Academy
Kalamazoo, MI


The Montessori School
Kalamazoo, MI




Kazoo School
Kalamazoo, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT