Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Maple Street Magnet School For The Arts

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 739 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 29, 2012

My son is a current 7th grader and I couldn't be happier with the faculty and staff at Maple Street. The school strives daily to incorporate good behaviors, good grades and manners. They are quick to answer any questions and address concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

My daughter, now a 2010 Graduate in a different City, attended this School when she lived here with me while I was attending WMU. I feel/felt it is an execellent school with a great program for children. I know that she loved it there and I also know that the school could really benefit from some funding to help with upkeep and providing more products; etc.. So, please help us to continue making our school the best it can be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

Maple Street is a great place for students with diverse needs. Everyone is accepted, and everyone can participate.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 29, 2008

this is a really good school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 1, 2008

I'm a grandmother of a seventh grader. I am pleased with the response the staff give to any problem whether it be discipline or academic. The only draw back I have seen is the politeness of one person in the office. Otherwise, I think most teachers and staff are there to help promote success in the future of the students. Safety in a school will always be a problem and something that needs to be continually worked upon by the school, parents and students. Maple Street seems to be much safer than the elementary school my grandson attended. The job of safety is never done.


Posted March 1, 2008

This school is freaking awesome! I attend Maple STreet and have for teo years now. The teachers are great, it's safe, and everybodyis socially active in one wayor another. Nobody left behind.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 11, 2006

Great options here and a safe environment. Arts include the 'normal' classes plus jazz, improv, dance, a recording studio (radio shows were recorded last weekend), lots of plays and musicals, amazing art projects throughout the building, art is integrated throughout the curriculum, technology access is great with even Math projects being creative and using Powerpoint presentations. Sports teams for all available after school. Academics opportunities are good for ALL students regardless of socioeconomic status. Diversity is accepted and embraced. The kids love the food, ask about the homemade cookies. It is safe and clean, go check it out yourself before you make any decisions!!! My oldest attended Maple Street and then Loy Norrix. Eventually she recieved a fantastic scholarship to a top college where she continued to be an A student (chemistry and biology), all based on academic knowledge from KPS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2006

Having had three children attend this school I'm not going to say it is perfect or great in every respect. What I am saying is that this school does an amazing job with all students. Not just the 'white-bread middle class student' but with all students! They have a high minority and transient population that includes many students that suffer from generational poverty, but they also have good teachers and students that truly want to excell. If you look at data on this school you will see that they do exceptionally well with the middle class, stable students. If you are looking for a school to expose your child to the real world, with strong academic and extracurricular programs. Then this is the school for you, with students of every color and economic level. The teachers who work here truly want the best for every child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2006

I think this school can be good but they need to inforce more dicipline with the students that have behavioral problems. My son is in 6th grade and is sometimes afraid of the older students. He has things thrown at him and has been hit. The staff dont seem to protect the children enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

It is a terrible school. The teachers there are very rude and not polite. The school is dirty and not clean and there is a major drug problem and gang problems there i went there and now i go to mattawan and it is 1000s of times bettter the teachers at my new school teach there because they enjoy it not just because of the money.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

241 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
27%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

239 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
54%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

253 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
18%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

218 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
23%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

217 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
47%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

216 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
35%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

234 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
20%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

235 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

252 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
20%

2013

 
 
14%

2011

 
 
8%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 45% 69%
African-American 33% 18%
Hispanic 16% 6%
Asian 3% 3%
American Indian 1% 1%
Multiracial 1% 2%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 69%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. David Evens
Fax number
  • (269) 337-1633

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

922 West Maple St
Kalamazoo, MI 49008
Website: Click here
Phone: (269) 337-0730

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Kazoo School
Kalamazoo, MI


The Gagie School
Kalamazoo, MI




St Augustine School
Kalamazoo, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT