Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kalamazoo Central High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1620 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 24, 2013

Both of my children attended Kalamazoo central and were college ready scoring 26 and 28 on the act. I substituted there in 2001 and there was minimum student disrespect . There has to be more PARENTAL involvement and COMMUNITY involvement to correct the current situation. All the resources necessary to succeed are at Kalamazoo Central. Some student disruptions, violence, and even bullying need to be videotaped so we can identify the persons disrupting the educational process and inform and if necessary aid their parents( if they are receptive to it) in turning these kids in the right direction. This situation has to be turned around soon
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2012

The violence and poor race relations in this school has been present for a few decades now. A lot of the kids are disrespectful, but the teachers can get jaded and end up reinforcing bad behavior - assume the kid is going to be bad and the kid is going to act out. The Kalamazoo Promise in part attempts to address disadvantaged students and prompt higher teaching standards, but it hasn't improved much. Considering the culture, interest in social justice, and positive education values, it is almost mysterious that this school system can't get their act together. It's very unfortunate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2012

What a AWFUL place !!! I substituted here and it was a hot mess. You couldn't pay me to send my son here. Most of the students have zero respect for teachers, principal or themselves. F this and F you and F that is all you will hear all day long. For the few student who have made it to 12 grade and are still thriving you are 100% amazing and our unbelievably resilient !! The Kalamazoo promise is a joke, due to the fact that any child who is truly trying to learn is gonna have a very hard tim staying focus. Truly very very sad !!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 7, 2010

Kalamazoo Central high school is an amazingly diverse place where kids spend some of their most volatile and dramatic years. With so many changing teens in one place, it's amazing how smoothly the school runs. That's not to say there aren't hiccups, but since the time Principal Washington has been there, the majority of the student body went from despising the administration, to turning to them for support and assistance in day to day activities. To say that the teachers of this school don't care about the students is a direct insult at their hard work. It's been three years since I graduated from this school and I've grown to appreciate it more and more. I didn't realize how prepared I was for college until I got through my first year and realized that there were times at Kalamazoo Central where I was challenged more than in College.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 26, 2010

Lots of violence and a lack of teacher concern for student well-being. Drugs are sold openly in the hallways and there are knives in the building. The boys' bathrooms are like smoker's lounges and there is a lot of racism and hatred directed toward the minority whites.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 23, 2010

I pulled my son out of this school last year and he is now doing much better. He hated the violence and the lack of control that the staff has over the students. The Kalamazoo Promise was just not worth it for us. Calls placed to the principal were not returned, and everything is in a state of chaos in the school. My younger son is only eight, and has asked if we can move before he gets to middle school. I wanted my kids to have a lot of diversity in their school, but I cannot send them to a school that is not safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

It is billed as a world class school and I can attest to it's world class curriculum aimed at preparing our young minds for the next level of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2009

New to michigan from california and our experience with KCHS has been positive. Very caring staff and dedicated teachers. Very impressed with the variety of classes offered and the supervision of students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2009

School is about what you put into, staying the course. I am a parent of 2 students who have received the full Kalamazoo Promise and feel all whose children attend should feel very blessed and not let this opportunity ever be wasted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2009

My daughter transferred from Loy Norrix and loves it. The staff has really went out of their way to make her feel welcomed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2008

My son goes to central, now in his senior yr, I'm glad is almost over, I don't really care for this school, its overwhemlingly big, too many teens in one confine space, and the violence its horrible, along with the bullying! that needs to stop., but they are few teachers that care, and thats why my son will be graduating. if I had another choice of school , I would taken it. I don't recomend this school to people., but then again, the choices for public education are limited.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2008

Over all it was a great experience. I made some amazing friends and had many great expperinces through extra curriculars. High Marks for extra curriculars, poor marks on some of the text books. Lower level math thext books for classes like geometry and algrebra 1 and 2 just don't measure up to those I used at my previous school. My sister had a harder time learning from them that they should have. Teachers do encourage students to learn the information for themselves which is great. The school is very sports focusedd, especially when it comes to basketball. This isn't necessarily bad, but if your child is involved in other activities, don't expect a lot of school recognition. Other than a few curriculum issues KC is a Great School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 14, 2008

this school is amazing. the teachers are wonderful and they are always willing to help out.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 21, 2007

This is a richly diverse school with some wonderful, dedicated teachers. However, there are serious problems with achievement, including graduation rates and test scores; and very poor communications with parents. However, the school district has received some grants and is working diligently on reform. These efforts have included making changes in key personnel, including principal, effective this coming year. I am hopeful that some of these changes will reap positive benefits, but it is far too early in the process to see any results. Extracurriculars are worthy of 5 stars! There are few avenues for parents to have meaningful input in anything but extracurriculars. Safety and discipline are on-going issues for this age group. The school does house a police officer and has security personnel. Consistently implementing procedures according to policies is frequently an issue. However, the district is creating avenues to manage these issues now and into the
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2004

I am also not a parent but I went to Kalamazoo Central this year and I loved it. I was not happy when they told me that I had to move. I liked my teachers and all the staff. I have reasons why I liked the teachers so much. They will give up their time to sit down with you one on one and help you with anything that you need. I know that those teachers dedicate them slef to their job. Ilove all you at Kalamazoo Central. Special thatnk to Mr. Myles. Angel Clark
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 16, 2004

Kalamazoo Central high school offers kids a great, friendly, healthy environment. I was an exchange student in that school and enjoyed every single second. Every day I felt like in paradise. I love you KC.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 19, 2004

I am not a parent, but I do attend Kalamazoo Central High School. This year (2004-2005) I will be a Senior. I have really enjoyed going to K Central. The school is very diverse and the teachers are great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 16, 2004

I'm not a parent, but i do attend Kalamazoo Central. I think that it is a really good school to attend, because it is realy diverse and there are no race issues and all of the kids really seem to get along. The teachers are very understandable and eager to reach out a helping hand to help all of the students achieve and succeed! I really enjoy going to this school, because you learn alot, but in the mean time you meet alot of friends and have fun!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 18, 2004

Kalamazoo Central High School is a wonderful school to attend. It is very diverse, almost all the students find a common ground to level onwith each other. The athletic programs are wonderful. The school spirit and love for the school itself is amazing to see. Academically the school needs a little work, but many of the faculty see the issue and reach out to the striving students, still some don't. Things like the after school programs like Novanette which is desined to help regain loss credit is a wonderful addition to the school. There are so many great things at Kalamazoo Central and it is a great place to be overall.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 22, 2004

This school, although overly violent at times, is rich in diversity which makes it a good school to learn about life at. As far as education goes, it is possibly not the best school to attend, however, there are a few excellent teachers which make all the difference.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

507 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
15%

2013

 
 
13%

2011

 
 
18%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2014.

302 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
21%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2014.

302 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
41%
Science

The state average for Science was 28% in 2014.

302 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
20%

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
15%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 44% in 2014.

302 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
35%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

301 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
37%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

All Students26%
Female18%
Male35%
African American14%
Asiann/a
Hispanic14%
Multiracial27%
Native Americann/a
White38%
Economically disadvantaged12%
Students with disabilities4%
Students without disabilities27%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a
Homeless10%

Reading

All Students59%
Female61%
Male56%
African American43%
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracial47%
Native Americann/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities8%
Students without disabilities63%
English language learners29%
Migrantn/a
Homeless30%

Science

All Students20%
Female13%
Male28%
African American8%
Asiann/a
Hispanic11%
Multiracial20%
Native Americann/a
White31%
Economically disadvantaged9%
Students with disabilities4%
Students without disabilities21%
English language learners7%
Migrantn/a
Homeless0%

Social Studies

All Students47%
Female41%
Male55%
African American29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracial60%
Native Americann/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilities4%
Students without disabilities51%
English language learners14%
Migrantn/a
Homeless30%

Writing

All Students49%
Female49%
Male50%
African American29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracial60%
Native Americann/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities4%
Students without disabilities53%
English language learners21%
Migrantn/a
Homeless20%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

83%

Average ACT score

18

Graduation rate

82%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
African-American 48% 18%
White 34% 69%
Hispanic 8% 6%
Multiracial 6% 2%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian 1% 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Valerie Boggan
Fax number
  • (269) 337-1610

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Cheerleading
Girls sports
  • Swimming
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2432 North Drake Rd
Kalamazoo, MI 49006
Website: Click here
Phone: (269) 337-0300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Transition Services
Kalamazoo, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT