Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Parchment High School

Public | 9-12 | 548 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 26, 2013

To anyone who thinks Parchment is a great school for academically talented students, I can attest to how awful Parchment is towards it's KAMSC students. KAMSC students are forced to take three classes despite having to leave half-way through their third class due to a time constraint. The teachers in that third class then docked the KAMSC students participation points for only being there half the class. KAMSC kids at Parchment were not allowed to have a lunch period. Instead we had to eat lunch in transit to/from KAMSC. The environment Parchment creates for its students is not reflective of the real world nor introduces the students to a global world. Parchment is a strong supporter of Christianity and large cliques among students of the same youth groups form. This further propagates the small town mentality and most students leave closed-minded and already set in their ways, on the way to lower-middle-class America and never striving for more.


Posted August 26, 2013

1200 characters can't encapsulate the unsavory environment of Parchment High School. Play sports that aren't mens football & basketball? Don't expect any funding. Instead of learning in class, you'll do a lifetimes worth of crossword puzzles and word searches. Administration doesn't spend enough time on real problems, like theft during school, and instead focus on enforcing the dress code and hiring an inspirational Christian guest speaker who concludes his speech with a poor cover of Don't Stop Believin. Honors students are "recognized" with breakfasts that consist of stale food and speakers who try to convince them to stay in school. What can improve Parchment? Well, offering more challenging classes and electives that don't take place in the gym would be a decent start.


Posted July 15, 2013

Quite murderous. If you don't love your child and wish for them to perish, this is the school for them.


Posted April 25, 2013

They provide a higher level of engagement and support . Professionals you can trust . They support KMASC ( Kalamazoo are math and science center) They offer many ways for parent involvement. They have recently received Academic ALL-STATE honors for volleyball and girls basketball and last year soccer .They really seem to challenge their student body. And the community is Awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2011

i severely dislike this school system, this school system is way to focused on sports and not on academics. students who are not "perfect" students get shipped off to alternative schools. the assistant principle's dictatorship style made me feel disrespected and condescended. most of the teachers careless about the below-average students, some do take action to help, most just focus on the above average students. if you considering sending your child here DON'T!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 30, 2011

I would never send my child to this school. Despite what they may say, they do not welcome diversity be it race or otherwise. Students who do not fit into their idea of the perfect student are shipped off to their alternative school which can hardly be called that. If your child is creative, a minority, or poor, avoid this school because it will only ruin your child. High school already isn't easy, but this school is hell.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 16, 2008

I think Parchment is a great school for it's level of excellency academics. It has many extra curricular activities, such as sports or different clubs. There is also the PHS marching band who got a 1 this year at the MSBOA district band festival they also placed first at the Gull Lake invitational. There are many sports teams like, mens/womens basketball, tennis, soccer, wrestling track, girls volleyball, softball, mens baseball, and many more. The school fits to your level of ability in the classroom. The school also supports the KAMSC (Kalamazoo Area Math and Science Center) program. If your thinking about moving around Parchment school district I would definitely recommend Parchment schools.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2008

Parchment was just announced as one of 2008's best high schools by U.S. News and World Report. Don't believe me? Read the article - http://www.wwmt.com/news/high_1346049___article.html/parchment_school.html PHS is a great school!


Posted September 16, 2007

I have been in the Parchment School District since Kindergarten and there is no other school that I would have rather spent all those years at. I am very pleased that the bond passed and that soon the high school will be redone. Sports do take more of a priority, but the band is also a big one with the members making up a quarter of the school. The teachers are all great, and I really think that they all want the best education for everyone who is enrolled.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 21, 2007

Parchment is a pathetic school and focuses too much on sports. The building isn't taken care of properly. The quality of the teachers is very poor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2006

I have gone to a lot of schools, but parchment is by far my favorite. the teachers are great, my classes fit me and my intellingence level, and i love to play sports, so this school is great for me. although i higly disagree on the band thing, Varsity Girls basketball is the best thing at Parchment...!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 16, 2006

We have lived in Parchment for 11 years. We have 4 children and 3 attend Parchment School District, I have 1 child in each level. My daughter who is a freshman this year, is doing very well @ the HS. She enjoys her teachers & has made good friends. I feel that PHS does the best it can towards challenging students to do their best and offers many academic opportunities. As in any school sports does play a big part but many of the students do a great job in supporting one another. Of course PHS Band is one of the best around!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2005

I think the Parchment school system is a great school, stressing academic challenges. Although sports like football and basketball are given more attention than smaller sports such as tennis and soccer, all sports are given some respect. The band is, although, the least appreciated. They work just as hard in their practices as most sports teams. In academics, i believe that the classes given are challenging, but some of the teachers pile the workload a bit much.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 23, 2005

i would like to say that having been a student at parchment it is one of the better schools in the district. the teachers are great. Mr. Lefere has taught me how to focus on whats important and how to enjoy class! also Parchment band is one of the best bands ive ever seen!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2005

As a graduate from PHS, I feel that the school does focus on the sports aspect rather than academics. I was not very well prepared for college and that has cost me more then money. I think PHS needs to add elective programs that are going to benefit students later in life...so they dont have to take jewelry 4 times.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 7, 2004

Parchment is a pathetic school compared to it's surrounding facilities and does not offer enough help towards graduating seniors or towards any other student who really needs it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 7, 2004

The school doesn't pay enough attention to the small sports and doesn't have enough class offerings, especially for the academically gifted students.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

119 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
20%

2013

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
18%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
22%

2010

 
 
21%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 26% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
12%

2011

 
 
16%

2010

 
 
34%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 38% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
49%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 50% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

94%

Average ACT score

20

Graduation rate

"93"%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 69%
African-American 8% 18%
Multiracial 8% 2%
Hispanic 4% 6%
American Indian 1% 1%
Asian 1% 3%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Scott Karaptian
Fax number
  • (269) 488-1110

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1916 East G Ave
Kalamazoo, MI 49004
Website: Click here
Phone: (269) 488-1100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Youth Center School
Kalamazoo, MI


Comstock High School
Kalamazoo, MI


Transition Services
Kalamazoo, MI


Valley Center School
Kalamazoo, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT