Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Kalamazoo, MI
Students enrolled: 548

3 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Parchment High School 5

Posted June 23, 2014
- a parent
Awesome teaching staff great support and very involved ! So glad we made the change to go to Parchment also a great community!!

Parchment High School 1

Posted August 26, 2013
- a community member
To anyone who thinks Parchment is a great school for academically talented students, I can attest to how awful Parchment is towards it's KAMSC students. KAMSC students are forced to take three classes despite having to leave half-way through their third class due to a time constraint. The teachers in that third class then docked the KAMSC students participation points for only being there half the class. KAMSC kids at Parchment were not allowed to have a lunch period. Instead we had to eat lunch in transit to/from KAMSC. The environment Parchment creates for its students is not reflective of the real world nor introduces the students to a global world. Parchment is a strong supporter of Christianity and large cliques among students of the same youth groups form. This further propagates the small town mentality and most students leave closed-minded and already set in their ways, on the way to lower-middle-class America and never striving for more.


Parchment High School 1

Posted August 26, 2013
- a community member
1200 characters can't encapsulate the unsavory environment of Parchment High School. Play sports that aren't mens football & basketball? Don't expect any funding. Instead of learning in class, you'll do a lifetimes worth of crossword puzzles and word searches. Administration doesn't spend enough time on real problems, like theft during school, and instead focus on enforcing the dress code and hiring an inspirational Christian guest speaker who concludes his speech with a poor cover of Don't Stop Believin. Honors students are "recognized" with breakfasts that consist of stale food and speakers who try to convince them to stay in school. What can improve Parchment? Well, offering more challenging classes and electives that don't take place in the gym would be a decent start.

Parchment High School 1

Posted July 15, 2013
- a community member
Quite murderous. If you don't love your child and wish for them to perish, this is the school for them.

Parchment High School 1

Posted November 10, 2011
- a student
i severely dislike this school system, this school system is way to focused on sports and not on academics. students who are not "perfect" students get shipped off to alternative schools. the assistant principle's dictatorship style made me feel disrespected and condescended. most of the teachers careless about the below-average students, some do take action to help, most just focus on the above average students. if you considering sending your child here DON'T!


Parchment High School 1

Posted March 30, 2011
- a student
I would never send my child to this school. Despite what they may say, they do not welcome diversity be it race or otherwise. Students who do not fit into their idea of the perfect student are shipped off to their alternative school which can hardly be called that. If your child is creative, a minority, or poor, avoid this school because it will only ruin your child. High school already isn't easy, but this school is hell.

Parchment High School 5

Posted October 16, 2008
- a student
I think Parchment is a great school for it's level of excellency academics. It has many extra curricular activities, such as sports or different clubs. There is also the PHS marching band who got a 1 this year at the MSBOA district band festival they also placed first at the Gull Lake invitational. There are many sports teams like, mens/womens basketball, tennis, soccer, wrestling track, girls volleyball, softball, mens baseball, and many more. The school fits to your level of ability in the classroom. The school also supports the KAMSC (Kalamazoo Area Math and Science Center) program. If your thinking about moving around Parchment school district I would definitely recommend Parchment schools.

Parchment High School 5

Posted January 15, 2008
- a community member
Parchment was just announced as one of 2008's best high schools by U.S. News and World Report. Don't believe me? Read the article - http://www.wwmt.com/news/high_1346049___article.html/parchment_school.html PHS is a great school!


Parchment High School 4

Posted September 16, 2007
- a student
I have been in the Parchment School District since Kindergarten and there is no other school that I would have rather spent all those years at. I am very pleased that the bond passed and that soon the high school will be redone. Sports do take more of a priority, but the band is also a big one with the members making up a quarter of the school. The teachers are all great, and I really think that they all want the best education for everyone who is enrolled.

Parchment High School 1

Posted June 21, 2007
- a parent
Parchment is a pathetic school and focuses too much on sports. The building isn't taken care of properly. The quality of the teachers is very poor.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Parchment High School
1916 East G Avenue, Kalamazoo, MI  49004
(269) 488-1100
Last modified Parchment High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Parchment High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top