Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Kalamazoo, MI
Students enrolled: 343
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Monica School 2

Posted September 29, 2014
- a parent
Unfortunately the St. Monica's of 10 years, where academics blended with Catholicism, is gone. Note the enrolment decline in the last 10 years of over 100 students, despite the addition of a pre-school. The administration has continually downgraded the academics to a point where other local schools, and certainly other schools in bigger areas far exceed St. Monica's. Note how Math classes are taught and that there is no completion of a Language Year 1, becasue the Spanish program is taught 1 day per week. If you are considering St. Monica's you need to delve into the school's test scores. Though they have eliminated standardized testing to provide comparisons, MEAP results show the weakness of the school. If you want an academically strong Catholic school you need to consider St A's, which we originally excluded because of the downtown campus. But it performs far better than St. Monica's, primarily because it's Principal believed in academics. St. Monica's principal believes in multiple masses per week, multiple prayers per day and not in rigorous academic preparation. It's sad to say that St. Monica's has declined so significantly but we don't see signs of change from CSGK

St Monica School 5

Posted August 10, 2014
- a parent
We have had children at St. Monica School for the past 14 years. Each has graduated happy, healthy, and well prepared for high school. The current group of teachers, administrators, and staff are professional and effective in their role, and among the best we have experienced. What we like best about the current administration is the same thing that may have prompted some of the negative feedback on this site. We appreciate that the school is not run by a few verbal parents, whose opinions may or may not be in the best interest of the larger student body. The current administration works to implement principles of best practice in education, even when unpopular or misunderstood by parents. We have trusted the teachers and administrators to do what they were educated to do - create an environment for learning and teach our children - and we have not been let down.


St Monica School 4

Posted November 15, 2013
- a parent
St. Monica educates the whole person and solicits parent to be an active member of their child's faith development and academic success. Mrs. Reits is a principal that makes decisions based on principles and not on who's the loudest wheel. She'll listen, but doesn't jump an every suggestion that is put forth. This may come across as a turn off. I think she's very courageous. I have three children enrolled in the school and they very at their academic abilities. They are happy to be there and love their school community.

St Monica School 1

Posted August 12, 2013
- a parent
Not happy, not impressed. Poor academics can not be glossed over by a veneer of "strong Catholic identity". An administration that fails to communicate with parents can not be fixed through cronyism. Complete program overhauls that are not vetted by parents result in families who are fed up and choose alternative schools. Lumping 3, 4, and 5 year olds together does not necessarily prepare them for the challenges of kindergarten and first grade. Be aware - should you choose to spend your hard earned money here it will be assumed that you are happy with the status quo even if you aren't. You will be kept in the dark regarding program, curriculum, staff, and teacher changes as it isn't any of your business. Just keep signing those checks!!

St Monica School 5

Posted February 15, 2013
- a parent
St. Monica School has been a wonderful environment for our children to grow academically and spiritually. The teachers are wonderful and the school creates a safe supportive environment for all children to achieve. In light of other reviews regarding administrative leadership; I only say that administartors change over time. What doesn't change is the opportunity afforded by catholic schools to provide an academically challenging environment within the context of learning and practicing Christian values and Catholic teachings. This freedom to learn and practice your faith helps direct the course of so many students' lives towards becoming caring, Christian adults who will have been prepared to have a positive and profound impact in their own families and in our society. I would and do recommend St. Monica School and all the Catholic Schools in the Kalamazoo area to everyone. Thank you for this opportunity.


St Monica School 1

Posted March 01, 2012
- a community member
the administration is awful they wont take care of any problems they're zero tolerance for bullying is so the staff doesn't have to decide who was defending themselves and who was the attacker they are both just automatically in trouble i would choose a public school over this school is because the only thing you lose is being able to express you faith you gain extracurricular activities and a chance to get a better education

St Monica School 1

Posted November 18, 2011
- a parent
The mission and public credo/marketing of the school is absolutely wonderful. As a catholic it appeals to my family. The teachers are proficient and the many of them work very hard to be good educators to the students. The parents and families are exceptional. However, there is a great deal to be desired in terms of administration and the overall operation and leadership. There is an overall stoic feeling to the environment.

St Monica School 5

Posted March 31, 2010
- a parent
I have (3) girls that have attended St. Monica School since the 2000-2001 school year. We had to leave in 2009-2010 school year for personal reasons knowing we would come back. All I know is I have seen a reflection of the lack of education and one on one in their grades. We are definately coming back here and Hackett. This is worth every penny. I firmly believe what you do now will show the benefits always. This is my opinion based on our time here. I also believe it does not matter what school you thinking about sending you kids too they all have kids who are finding out more and more about themselves. In this transition you may find friends and you may not. We are all different no matter what always searching for others with similar interests. I am most important with education than socialization.


St Monica School 5

Posted March 30, 2009
- a student
I've been attending St. Monica ever since kindergarten and I love it. Most of my teachers have been awesome and I've made many good friends. Wheneer you have a problem, the teachers take care of it. Also getting to pray everyday, go to mass once a week, and learn our Catholic faith is a privilege.

St Monica School 1

Posted January 16, 2009
- a parent
If your kid doesn't fit the mold, don't expect them to get what they need here. Portage Public Schools have many more resources at their disposal for all types of students and the education is free. If your child is exceptionally gifted or requires any type of Special Education, St. Monica''s is not equipped to deal with it. The staff is relatively inflexble and has difficulty adapting to students outside of the bell curve. The only thing that public schools lack is the faith based education.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Monica School
530 West Kilgore Road, Kalamazoo, MI  49008
(269) 345-2444
Last modified St Monica School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
St Monica School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top