Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Orion Oaks Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 589 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 12, 2013

My son loves going to school here! The staff is wonderful and truly care about your child's success at school. We have always felt that the teachers truly partner with us in our son's education which is so important. The multiage environment has been a very positive experience for our son and has helped to challenge him as well as encourage him to learn at his own pace. Parents are welcomed with open arms and encouraged to get involved at school. We are proud to be part of the Orion Oaks family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2013

Orion oaks is a wonderful focus school. Certified green helps teach the kids social responsibility and now soon to have the leader-in-me program. Teachers are present in my child's learning process and continue to challenge to keep her moving forward. Couldn't be happier with the programs, activities and extras to make learning enjoyable. Pleased parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2013

I am very happy that we have so many choices within the Lake Orion School district for educating our children. The multi-age philosophy at Orion Oaks is a perfect fit for our family. Our daughters excel academically and socially at Orion Oaks. The teachers are so dedicated and a lot of them live in Lake Orion and send their own children to Orion Oaks as well. The neighborhood concept is great - the girls always know who their teachers will be, and who will be in their class. Similarly, the teachers know them as they have been within the same neighborhood since Kindergarden. The extracirricular activites enhance the social responsiblity taught in the school. I also appreciate the no-cost fundraising instead of the constant barrage of overpriced product sales. This is blue ribbon school and the kids, teachers and staff live up to that standard every day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2013

Orion Oaks is the place to be. Our students, teachers and staff "Make a difference" everyday. I have never seen so many teachers go above and beyond to help each and every child. The multi-age approach works very well for all my kids. For the one child that needs extra help and may not be right at level, they work extra to get him up to level. As for my other child, who excels in every subject, the teachers work extremely hard to challenge him and give him extra work. This extra work helps to keep him from being bored and still enjoy school. Orion Oaks students, teachers, and staff strive "To Do Great Things" for their community on a daily basis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

They instill what all kids need to know to be loving, caring people. Its a very family oriented school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

I don't understand why the bike rack is behind the school. A child has to pretty much walk his bike quite an extra distance past all the kids loading / unloading from the buses (which happens all at once) and then in the mornings come back around to the front of the building. There is also a lot of gravel on the ramp from the safety path. Wondering how there can be so much litter as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2009

We have 2 children at Orion Oaks. Fantastic School. Level of enagagement of teachers, staff, and other parents is superior to any I've seen
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2009

I have two children in Orion Oaks. The principal is incredibly involved, has excellent leadership skills, the children have great respect for him and adore him at the same time. He works well with his staff and strives to keep the school one step ahead of the rest. The school is not for every child - this is a multi-age school. Children that thrive here are more independent and do not need to have the typical structure that is found in traditional schools. There are no desks in Orion Oaks, but tables where children sit in groups. The teachers give weekly updates via e-mail, my children's grades are available to me at any given moment - detailed information down to yesterday's classroom work is given. I am proud that my children attend this school, I would not have it any other way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2006

Being a new family with a very young kinder, we feared sending our child off to school. I cannot believe how terrific the entire experience has been. The parent involvement is encouraged though not required (any support one can extend is esteemed). I cannot contemplate how welcome I feel every time I attend anything at the school! There is not adequate room here to summarize my contentment with the faculty. It is easy to perceive why they are such a well oiled machine when you meet the principal. He somehow establishes an environment where everyone feels right at home. At the same time it is made certain that the student's security is number one. No one, not even parents who are consecutively volunteers, is authorized to just wander in without signing in as well as wearing a nametag. I am so pleased with Orion Oaks elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2006

Excellent School! I can't say enough about the principal and staff. I have three children attending. Each teacher is wonderful in their own way. As a Christian our beliefs as a family are well respected. The school is different than a traditional school. We do not celebrated holidays with big parties. There is no competition with the thought that the children are too young to deal with the presure. Two classes are in one room (1/2nd & 3/4 grade) with two teachers that co-teach. If you really like the traditional elementary setting Orion Oaks may not be for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2006

Both my children attend Orion Oaks Elementary School. I am proud to say that it lives up to it's Blue Ribbon Exemplary statues. All the teachers are excellent at what they do. They love teaching and that is evident in their day to day interactions with the children. The multiage philosophy is a great one. It gives the children the opportunity to work at their own pace. If they excell at reading they are able to work to their abilities. They are not 'wasting their time' learning things they already know. If they need extra work with math they are given the time they need to fully understand the concept. The atmosphere at the school is upbeat and relaxed. It provides for an optimal learning environment for the students. There is an outstanding level of parent involvement, the teachers encourage it. You always feel welcome at Orion Oaks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2005

I feel the all of the teachers are very dedicated. I do believe, under the new principal we lack any after school activities or competetions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2005

I have two children currently attending Orion Oaks and couldn't be happier with their progress and with the school. The benefits to a multiage environment are many, and there is a lot of literature available to support the philosophy behind it. I can state with confidence that the children do learn to lead and follow in this environment. For example, in the the split 1st and 2nd grade, the 2nds graders show the 1st the ropes and the following year, the 2nd graders get the opportunity to do the same. The fifth graders and Kingergarten are separate classes. One of the most salient points in my opinion is the fact that the teachers who teach at Orion Oaks WANT to be there and support and bring to life the multiage philosophy. My two children, while different in personality and temperment, are both thriving - academically and socially!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2005

I've had two children go through this school and another with a year and a half to go. I've seen the current principle interact one on one with the students and the with the entire school and was impressed. Most of the parents I've spoken to like their child's teachers. Multi-age also means multi-teacher so, if the teachers that are paired together have conflicting styles they won't be effective. Parent involvement is definitely encouraged. While at the school the kids generally stay grouped into 'neighborhoods'. This helps the teachers get to know the students better and allows the students to develop closer ties with their classmates. Unfortunately, my oldest child's class was clicky and stayed that way for the last 3 years. Happily, second child's class was very close. There seems to be a lot of school spirit among the kids overall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

I have three students in this school. I have found that the school and staff are well maintained, informative, and overall very kind. The children really get to know all of the staff, and get very comfortalbe with the environment quickly. The teachers are very supportive and tend to go the extra mile with all of the children. I love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2003

New principal. Decline in school atmoshphere. Multi age school. Too lax in structure and discipline. Kids' individual needs are not met.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

110 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

109 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
24%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 69%
Hispanic 5% 6%
Asian 3% 3%
Multiracial 3% 2%
African-American 1% 18%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 13%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Michigan Blue Ribbon Award (2004)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 9:00
School end time
  • 3:50
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Ken Nuss
Fax number
  • (249) 393-0018
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1255 Joslyn Rd
Lake Orion, MI 48360
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 393-0010

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Webber School
Lake Orion, MI





Lake Orion Baptist School
Orion Township, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT