Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Good Shepherd Lutheran School

Private | K-8 | 90 students

 
 

Living in Lake Orion

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $135,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $910.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 29, 2014

Superb school that has made a push to put themselves on the top tier academically. Great teacher/student ratio combined with a more traditional and rigorous curriculum has made this school more desirable than surrounding schools. As a public school teacher, I highly encourage you to look at this school for your children.


Posted September 12, 2007

I have nothing but praise for Good Shepherd Lutheran School. I have been involved with the school for four years, and I have had such a good experience. The teachers and principal are such wonderful people. They are very professional and warm. They make the families feel so welcome. The teachers and principal go the extra mile to make the school such a success. The academics have also exceeded my expectations. With the small class sizes the teachers are able to spend more one on one time so each child is learning to their full capacity. They not only teach about christianity, they are true role models of it. The security of the building is better than in the public school building that my child was in. The principal has put extra security measures into place to keep all students as safe as possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2007

My children have attended Good Shepherd for 5 years now and we feel very blessed to have such a great school so close to home. The environment is very positive and the teachers care deeply about their students. We are confident that the school will continue to grow and will continue to educate young minds with the high quality teachers that are in place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2007

The School has continued to keep the building locked from the outside during school hours. Anyone wanting into the building during school hours must press and buzzer to alert the secretary of their presence and she will let the person in once she has determined it is OK to do so. The Teachers are well educated and most are also working for higher degrees including the Principal
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted September 10, 2007

This is now my fourth year at Good Shepherd, and I finally have two of my four children enrolled here and could not be happier to be starting the school year. I feel the leadership is completely headed in the right direction, both by the principal and school board. While nothing can be completely smooth sailing with a newer school, the level of christian guidance and love combined with a curriculum that directly competes with and in most cases surpasses public completely outweighs any small issues that come up. My oldest is a smart, confident, loving child that is ahead academically to boot. The teachers and staff are utterly dedicated to both the success of the school and the children themselves, as are most of the parents, myself included. From day one, my family was made to feel valued and welcome, and I would recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2007

I do not recommend this school based on the poor leadership of the current principal and the lack of security at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2007

Good Shepherd is a blessing. The small class size is very beneficial to the students, and the loving, caring environment shows through with the older students helping the younger ones in everyday activities. The Holy Spirit at work is evident when the students share their faith during the weekly chapels or when they sing during Church on Sunday s. The teachers are loving and kind, and very helpful to the students. The school offers art, Spanish, computers, and music. My experience with Good Shepherd has been positive, it is a young school that needs to grow, but while its growing I know my children are growing academically and spiritually, that is not something you can say about a public school know matter how excellent it s reputation may be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2007

My daughter is in Kindergarten and also attended Pre-school at Good Shepherd. By attending pre-school and continuing with Kindergarten, my daughter knew the elementary teachers, and some of the students. It was a natural transition. I am pleased that Kindergarten meets every day, in the morning, providing more stability and routine. I am amazed at how much my daughter has learned, not only in reading, math, etc. but in religion as well. Sometimes I feel she knows more Bible stories than I. I couldn't be more pleased. I love how the school has an art and music program. My daughter also enjoys going to the library each week. The little extra's the school does I cannot say enough on - the 'I got caught being kind' stickers make the kids proud; small class size adds to the relationships between each child; field trips; movie nights and more. What a blessing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2006

We are immensely pleased with Good Shepherd Lutheran School s environment and atmosphere. Good Shepherd Lutheran School is filled with Christian morality and is ever increasing their academic curriculum. Our daughters have developed healthy relationships with teachers, staff, classmates and classmates parents. We know that our daughters are in a loving and caring environment. We are confident that our children are safe and cared for at Good Shepherd Lutheran School. The peace of mind that our daughters are in an academically sound and spiritually healthy environment is worth more than words can describe. We believe that Good Shepherd Lutheran School is an extension of our Christian values and is positively influencing our daughters.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2005

The education my first grader is receiving at Good Shepherd Lutheran has exceeded all my expectations. The children are learning Spanish, music, science, and religion beyond the current standards. There are computers in the classroom for students to use. The children are taught to interact with each other with care and respect. My child has been learning at his level, not the majority level of a public school classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 69%
African-American 2% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hispanic 2% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Green School - Project Learning Tree (2011)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • St. Jude Children's Hospital - Trike-A-Thon (2011)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Eric Heins
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Fax number
  • (248) 391-0558

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Religious
  • Science
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Transportation options
  • Lake Orion School Buses
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Bowling
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Bowling
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1950 South Baldwin Rd
Lake Orion, MI 48360
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 391-7244

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Webber School
Lake Orion, MI







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT