Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Douglas Road Elementary School

Public | K-5 & ungraded | 445 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

62 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 5, 2010

I love the staff! The teachers, administrators, and support staff have been an amazing help to my 2nd grader!!! He would not be as successful in school without these incredible adults in his life!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

Douglas Road goes out of its way to help all students.


Posted May 5, 2010

The teachers have really stepped up this year and are doing everything they can to help our children succeed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

Both of my kids went to this school and could not ask for a better group of teachers and parents. I am proud to say my children go to Douglas Rd. They have the best teachers!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

I love the staff and how much they care for the kids that attend there. They truly create a rich learning environment and would like to do more. If DRE were to receive these funds they would be able to do more and more for the kids that attend there. The elemenatary age students need as much help as they can get to increase their abilty to be successful and DRE would help these children to reach there full potential with the help of this wonderful oppurtunity. I have personally seen the compassion and generousity that this staff has given to the children in need and i hope they win so that they can do even more. They are a true family and i am proud that my children attend there. Thank you,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

DRE is the best. My son was a resource room student and is not in college with a 3.2 GPA. And it's because of all the great help he had when he was at DRE
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

Mrs. Nearpass is the most dedicated, capable, and caring educator I have ever met.


Posted May 3, 2010

DRE is a great school. The Teachers and Staff are very caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

DRE is a very warm and inviting school with a very caring and dedicated staff. My children love school and their teachers go out of their way to make learning meaningful and interesting. I am very impressed with all of the opportunities for family involvement (reading night, art night, ice-cream social, donuts with dad, mornings with mom, etc.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2010

I have 2 nieces currently attending this school and they absolutely love their teachers! The thought of them having change schools at such a young age would be very hard.


Posted May 1, 2010

My daughter is in the Young Fives & I have been extremely happy with everything about DRE. The teachers, everyone really cares about the children and make you feel at home right away.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

operates well, clean and good people, good kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

Our family has a deep respect and overwhelming love for Douglas Road Elementary School for so many reasons, but will stick to naming just a few for now. Our family and our family's family have been a part of Bedford Public schools for at least four generations now. Bedford has always been here for whatever reasons may arise, however most recently DRE and Mrs. Nearpass helped make it possible for my daughter to attend 6th grade camp, for which she wouldn't have gone otherwise because of financial reasons. The hold the value that this tradtition of camp is an experience that no child should have to miss out on. I have been permanently disabled so cannot work and provide those extra's that my children should have anymore. Mrs. Nearpass has also helped our family by connecting us with resources to help cope with certain disabilities we would not have sought on our own. I can't emphasize enough how much DRE and their principal mean to this community or how much they deserve the same breaks once in a while that they provide for their families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Douglas Road Elementary is a school whose teachers and staff love the children who attend and really care about the individual childs learning progress. They give of their personal time for fund raising events as well as school functions and meeting with parents. The teachers are well trained and skilled at teaching. I wish every child could have the elementary school experience that my daughters have had!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Douglas Road Elementary is an excellent school. The entire staff cares about students and builds strong relationships with them. The staff understands that each child is unique and they strive to meet the needs of all students. The school fosters the development of positive character trait. Students and staff are mutually respectful. The staff is highly skilled in teaching reading, writing, math, and all core subjects. DRE is a GREAT school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

I love Douglas Road Elementary. The teachers are well trained,willing to work with the parents and are always available for any concerns the parents might have. The principle goes out of her way to know all the students in her school, the kids seem to love her, they go out of their way to give her hugs when they see her in the hallway. You can tell that the teachers care for their students and want them to succeed. The teachers we have had so far have greatly challenged our son, I feel he is excelling so much because of that!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

My kids went to this school and now I sub at this school. The teachers are fabulous! They love their kids and will do anything they can to help a child achieve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2009

I have two children in this school. I have found everyone on staff to be nice, helpful and so willing to work with me on any issues that I felt needed addressed. I have two more to enroll next year and I have no doubt that this is the school for them. The only reason I gave them four out of five stars? No one is perfect. But this place is close!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2008

This school is great! The teachers are awesome! The school provides a safe environment for the students. They also have a variety of teaching techniques. I would recommend this school to anyone!


Posted September 11, 2008

I love this school. My oldest two daughters went to Smith Road, which is also a wonderful school. I have one in Douglas Road, and one ready to begin. The teachers and staff truly care about the kids and work hard to make sure their experience is there is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
34%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

114 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

114 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
35%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
28%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
13%

2011

 
 
12%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 69%
Hispanic 4% 6%
Multiracial 2% 2%
Asian 1% 3%
African-American N/A 18%
American Indian N/A 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 22%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Carol Perz
Fax number
  • (734) 850-6799

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6875 Douglas Rd
Lambertville, MI 48144
Website: Click here
Phone: (734) 850-6700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

New Bedford Academy
Lambertville, MI




Mosque of Imam Ali
Lambertville, MI



St. Anthony Pre-School
Temperance, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT