Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Delta Center Elementary School

Public | 1-6 | 580 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 13, 2013

Personally I'm really happy with Delta Center. From the front door to the class rooms I'm happy. There could be more friendly attitudes exampled but all in all its a good school. Great teachers and students. I will say parents must step up and not expect the school to raise their children. We have an obligation to equip our children regardless. I say continue to pray for unity and one accord.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2013

The parents are more the problem in this community. Lack of education is the primary reason for this. There is an intolerance hard to understand. When the world is changing you need to change with it. This community is doesn't understand simple kindness and it was terribly annoying and not worth my time. I didn't want my child brought up in a community like that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2012

Greatest school in grand ledge, teahers and students have much to offer. I am very excited for years to come. I disagree with most of the comments posted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2011

I agree with the last few post. I have 3 children in this school and not even one of them want to go here. The teachers dont know how to talk with the children at all, they are very quick to write them up without understanding the situation. My 3rd grader says that her teacher doesnt like her and is mean to her, What kind of a school is being ran here? I myself feel uncomfortable when at the school for events. I thought putting my kids in the Grand Ledge schools would be great, but I really wish I would have kept them in the Lansing school district where the teachers are caring, and talk with the children to work out any issues! My children will be returning to the Lansing school district next school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2011

School is very reactional when it comes to its students. They are not pro-active when it comes to working with the student to figure out what kind of issues is going on. Have not been happy since day one at this school. Currently looking for other options.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2011

My kids have been thier since 2nd grade. Very soft and unclear with direction with discipline. Kids are always guilty and never given a chance to tell thier side. Principal is very weak in leadership of the kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2010

As a second grader, my child was not introduced to anything that she should have been, and my Kindergartener got absolutely nothing from this school. Our tutors are the only reason she passed through to 1st grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

The principle is wonderful and he is active in every part of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2004

This is an excellent learning center for children! My hats off to the entire teaching staff at this school. My child has attended this school since 1999. I would recommend this school greatly. My child is so very lucky to have such a wonderfully well rounded school to attend!. They focus on all aspects of learning, and communicate well with me and my child. The principal is nice and knows all the students and they have certain standards they practice. IF you can get you child in I'd do it. Thanks Everyone! Andrea Cooper
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

101 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

101 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
12%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
30%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 69%
African-American 6% 18%
Hispanic 6% 6%
Asian 5% 3%
Multiracial 2% 2%
American Indian 1% 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 24%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Scott Eckhart
Fax number
  • (517) 925-5579

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

305 South Canal Road
Lansing, MI 48917
Website: Click here
Phone: (517) 925-5540

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Greater Lansing Adventist School
Lansing Charter Township, MI






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT