Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Attwood School

Public | K-5 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 16, 2009

Great teachers and wonderful PTA. Lots of involvement!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2009

I have 2 sons that attend this school. This school is definitely a melting pot of races. I thought that was a good thing at first. The principle is African American and she is biased to them. During Black History Month, it's an every day thing, assemblies, songs. Come Cinco De Mayo, Nothing! Chineese New Year, Nothing! I don't like this at all. The school is not just black and white. They do have some excellent teachers there. Both my boys had a teacher each, that I feel have no business being in the career they are in. This school needs alot a help when it comes to the PTA they are the same parents over and over, they are unable to recruit new parents. I have yet to see them attempt to reach out to different races other than their own.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2008

I love this school great teachers and a great place to learn...I drive out of my way to drop my children off every morning to get the education they need!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2007

My daughter just loves her school. I think the school is great! But, if your a parent who doesn't like to get involved in your childs education this is not the school for you! your time & attention is demanded here! the teachers are excellent! but I'm happy that there is so much parent participation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2007

Well, I now have 3 kids that attend Attwood. I have been happy most of the time. I really don't care for the principal at all (neither do my kids)! She is extremely rude to you when you call with a simple question....like you are interrupting her day, and she thinks the school has to be run in a 'military' way. Other than the principal its not bad. Kindergarten is great. First grade has 2 good teachers out of 3. Second grade is just ok (but watch your step!) Third grade is great! Fourth grade is great! Fifth grade is great! This would be an exceptionally nice school with a new friendly principal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2005

My son attends Attwood currently. Just finishing 3rd grade. Kindergarten was wonderful! His teacher was unmatchable. First grade started rough with a teacher. But we switched his classroom and absolutely loved his new teacher. 2nd grade was just ok. 3rd is just ok. They do have a few excellent excellent teachers. Just be very aware of your child's situation from the start. The wrong teacher at this age can make all the difference in the world in your child's future education. The school feels safe to me. My son has never felt that his safety has been threatened. Although most classes are large, it has a small school feel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2004

I thought the eduaction was great. My kid loved going there. It seemed as though they really cared about the kids and parent involvement, until people started stealing. My childs coat got stolen twice and I did not hear one word from the principal. The secretary had the nerve to blame it on me and say I was buying the wrong brand coats, as if my childs coat was the only one of that brand in the school. My child was the only one targeted for any personal items the entire school year. I think it was a parent or an inside job. Nevertheless, the curriculum was not worth the stress of wondering who is after your child and if your child has a coat on. No investigation was done and no coats found.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2004

Coming from Dewitt Public Schools I have to say that I was a little sceptical about my child attending Lansing schools. Dewitt stated my child was doing 'great' in all subjects and he was 'fine', but when he started at Attwood he was struggling quite a bit and come to find out he was very much behind in all subjects. It only took the teachers at Attwood 2 days to realize that he was struggling and needed help and they were very willing to get him that help right away. Thanks to Attwood my child has more confidence in himself and because of all of the help and support the teachers have given, now my child is a leader in almost all subjects. His grades have drastically changed for the better! Big props to Attwood and their staff! I will never go back to Dewitt Public Schools!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2004

My son was ther in 1st grade and I didn't like it. The principal thinks that being so serious and giving 'military kind education', she will be in control. I don't know if she is, but my son was certainly not happy there and I was not either. To the point that I'm buying a house 2 blocks from that school and as long as she stays as principal and things don't change, I'll figure out the way to take my kids somewhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
24%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
27%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
15%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
8%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 69%
African-American 30% 19%
Hispanic 13% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 3%
Multiracial 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 70%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Tony Forsthoefel
Fax number
  • (517) 755-1229

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

915 Attwood Dr
Lansing, MI 48911
Website: Click here
Phone: (517) 755-1210

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare

Add this school to compare
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT