Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
59 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 65 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Windemere Park Charter Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 24, 2015
- a community member
We are very thankful for the extra time that Mr. Newport has taken with our son this year. His efforts are greatly appreciated and are making a difference in student's lives each day!

Windemere Park Charter Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 05, 2015
- a student
the teachers are very nice they work hard to educate the students they accually care about us


Windemere Park Charter Academy
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted November 05, 2015
- a student
i get like 2 hours of homework each day they go overboard on the homework

Windemere Park Charter Academy
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted November 05, 2015
- a student
they do sometimes but not all the time its neeeds to be all the time

Windemere Park Charter Academy 1

Posted January 29, 2015
- a parent
I removed my child from this school. There were 13 (yes - thirteen) children in his class who routinely got into trouble and disrupted the class each day. The whole class then lost privileges, such as going to the library and recess. A lot of the parents care just enough to get their kids out of the Lansing School District into Windemere Park. They don't care enough to make sure they address their behavioral issues.


Windemere Park Charter Academy 1

Posted November 05, 2013
- a parent
Don't' be fooled by this school. Since the last principal left it's gone down hill and fast! In a nutshell, they need new administration as well as some new teacher's. Several great teacher left at the beginning of this year. It makes you wonder what's wrong, when the best teacher at the school leaves. As well as, when they send a flyer home every week saying they will pay you $25.00 for every referral you send their way. This school used to sell itself. There was a lottery and it took months to get in. This obviously is no longer the case. It's sad because it used to be a great school. Luckily, we will soon be in another school.

Windemere Park Charter Academy 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
I pulled my children out of Mid-Michigan Sabis after two day due to major behavior problems by students and unprofessional staff. I LOVE the professionalism and well behaved children at Windermere Park.

Windemere Park Charter Academy 3

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
My son has attended NHA-WPCA since Fall 2006 as a first grade student. His formal academic inception began in Lansing School District where he was evaluated for speech and developmental services prior to 3 years of age. His cognitive and speech needs were identified and referred to a site to receive developmental services. The speech pathologist was absent most of the year. After experiencing an additional disappointing year in the developmental program, I advocated for my child to be promoted to Kindergarten so he could at least be challenged. His education team promoted him to 1st grade and referred us to another district elementary school with a focus on reading on writing. The next year my son was subject to a militant teacher that was not sensitive or able to meet his academic needs because of a classroom full of behavior-challenged students. Finally we joined WPCA where his 1, 2/4 grade teachers and IEP team were OUTSTANDING and instrumental to his growth. In 3rd and 5th grades we again dealt with staff changes in key resource areas at WPCA. His progress has now declined at WPCA in 6 grade. I will continue to monitor, evaluate and update regarding his progress.


Windemere Park Charter Academy 5

Posted November 15, 2011
- a parent
My daughter has attended Windemere since Kindergarten and she is now in the third grade. Our experience has been wonderful. The teaching style, curriculum, and current technology are also an asset to the excellent educational environment. The teachers, administrators, and staff are friendly and dedicated to help students succeed.

Windemere Park Charter Academy 5

Posted August 28, 2011
- a parent
We have been at this school for going on 8 years and drive 40 minutes to get our children to the best school in the area hands down. We wouldn't take them anywhere else. The safe, secure environment is comforting to us as parents, our kids are challenged, and are taught morals and values that are modeled by the teachers. You should take the time to check it out!!

Nearby schools

Windemere Park Charter Academy
3100 West Saginaw Street, Lansing, MI  48917
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 65 reviews. (517) 327-0700
Last modified Windemere Park Charter Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top