Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Eastern High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 07, 2015
- a student
It depends on the teacher. We have some great teachers that make up for the really awful ones.

Eastern High School 5

Posted September 07, 2015
- a student
Amazing teachers. I'm a junior and I've had a great experience with Eastern so far


Eastern High School 3

Posted June 25, 2015
- a teacher
I am a 7th grader at eastern honestly at the beginning of the year I was scared but now I am just fine because I feel safe from the high schoolers in our own 7th 8th grade hallway. The teachers are great The staff is breathing always having a positive attitude about just about everything. Most teachers stay after school to give extra help to students. I just love eastern high school and am a big fan. GOOD WORK QUUAAAKERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Eastern High School 4

Posted May 28, 2014
- a parent
Came from small Catholic school. Eastern has a lot to offer for an inner city school. 2+2+2 program a Godsend. The AP/IB program includes a diverse cirriculum. There are several languages taught, a wide variety of electives available and a diverse group if people who seem to get along.

Eastern High School 4

Posted December 12, 2013
- a parent
I think Eastern is a great school has a mix of all different nationalities and it's great for kids to get exposure to different ways of life.


Eastern High School 5

Posted December 16, 2010
- a student
I go to Eastern and i love it! the teachers are really motivated and commited, we have great classes to choose from, and the IB program is great. Don't listen to all the horrible completely untrrue rumors. One of the nicest things about Eastern is you dont have to worry about "fitting in" as long as you have a positive attitude, you'll do just fine!

Eastern High School
no rating

Posted November 11, 2008
- a student
I currently attend Eastern and I love it!! I don't care what anybody else says! The only thing that I don't like is those kids who just want to come to school just to play around.

Eastern High School 3

Posted June 02, 2006
- a parent
Eastern is striving to make academic gains. The honors classes are great. For an inner city school, it is the best in my opinion of all the Lansing schools. The arts program is seriously lacking though.


Eastern High School 3

Posted August 12, 2005
- a student
Like any good institution, you receive maximum output with maximum input. Staff is extremely helpful toward students who show commitment, promise, and INITIATIVE. The environment is very diverse, but honors classes are very segregated from the rest of the community. Extra-curriculars either revolve around community service groups (largely white), or ethnic-pride groups (which white students avoid). The sports program is adequate, and the drama productions are the best in the city, especially given limited resources. Coming from a catholic school with a graduating class of 9, Eastern was a huge culture shock, but rewarding all the same. It is not a sheltered environment, but offers the opportunity for any student to shine with the right attitude and commitment. Parental involvement is sparse at best, nonexistant at worst. Eastern is very weak in this regard, but then again, many students are from low-lower middle class families and have working parents. Principal leadership has declined dramatically.

Eastern High School 5

Posted October 17, 2004
- a student
Eastern Is A great school, even though its always on Tv or in the news. Eastern has the learning tools as well as listening smart teachers. I really enjoyed Eastern While I was attending there which was last year.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Eastern High School
220 North Pennsylvania Avenue, Lansing, MI  48912
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. (517) 755-1050
Last modified Eastern High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top