Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Everett High School

Public | 9-12 | 1390 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 27, 2013

The School I Attend Is Everett High School. I Believe It Is One Of The Best Lansing School District High School In Lansing Michigan! Everett Has A lot Of Different Interesting Electives That You Can Choose From. I Think Our School Could Improve More On Better School Lunches And Invest In An Air Conditioning.. But The School Was Built Way Back In The Day That There Was Never An Air Conditioning Department Built. One Of The Thing's That I Like About Attending Here At Everett High School Are The Staff And Administrators, They Are very helpful, Caring, And They Believe In A Good Education For Everyone That Is Willing To Come To School Everyday And Achieve Success!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 20, 2013

my son attends everett and he loves the school especially one of his teacher, mr.frieguis he has been great to my son. hat off to everett high school if people dont like it thats theyre problem, great school to attend especially if your child struggles in certain areas in school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2013

I don't like this school. I'm in honors classes as a sophomore. Yes, SOME of the teachers care. Others don't. The student body has an 'i don't care' attitude as a whole. The security isn't good. They get paid for standing in the halls and taking away hats. They're not helping kids get to class or motivate them to stay in school. Everett High School is in the BOTTOM 2% in Michigan. There are few positives to this school. It needs a lot of work.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 26, 2012

I went to Everett High School freshman year and i am no longer in the school district because i moved. i LOVE Everett and will never stop loving it. the school needs to improve alot but in my eyes it is not a bad school the teachers genuinly care and the students are great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 13, 2012

I love Everett, I am a Sophomore this year. I'm in the band and also some clubs. Everett is a GREAT school. I am tired of people saying it isn't. The teachers are the greatest, the people are amazing and the activities are good. I think to have a good time at Everett you just need to get involved in things and also meet to people. I think people come in to Everett with a negative attitude towards the school so no matter how good of a school it is they will always think negatively about everything.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 3, 2012

When I was a freshman I hated Everett, Im now a Junior and I love it. Everett has made some great improvements. I would suggest this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 11, 2011

I wouldn't reccoment this school for ANYONE. Staff & Teachers are horrible, and hardly ever give the students the attention they need. A lot of students struggle at this high school, & often drop out or fail.


Posted November 8, 2010

I hate my school. The only thing good about Everett is the band. And the Teachers. Other than that it doesnt do anything but hurt me. Im tired of evereyday waking up and saying " Ugh here we go agian " This school needs to change. I do not want to graduate from Everett highschool.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 27, 2009

Their Band keeps the children interested in their school and their education. Grades are very important to them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2009

as a former student i feel that at the time of my years at this school it was one of the best schools in the lansing area
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 6, 2008

As a student at everett I feel that it is a great school. The teachers, security and principals all work very hard and really care about the students. I feel like I am getting a great education. I feel extremely safe and the diversity is amazing! Everett is an awesome place to go to school. I wouldn't want to be anywhere else.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 7, 2007

My daugher goes to Everett is in advance placement, active in sports and has a good relationship with her teacher and administration. If stuents ever needed tutoring they had MSU students their everyday during lunch to help the students. My daughter feels very safe and has great friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2007

This school is terrible. I am a teacher who taught here and quit after two months. There is zero leadership or support from the administration. The principal sits in her office and talks about how things should be. The teachers have no credibility because they have no back up. Do not send your kids here!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 16, 2006

The academic quality here at Everett is amazing, but we do have too many students in class rooms. this affects us all because we get a limited amount of hands on help, during class. Most teachers though give the option have at least an hour after school to come in for tutoring like right now im in a history teacher's classroom that has given his classroom and time to the baseball team for study hall. Teachers love to help us and the cafeteria is always open after school for us students to use. We are also a magnet school that strives towards the visual and performing arts. Parent involvement is at the boarder, but who will help unless asked. security here is also great, and yes they try to much to be our 'friends' but we are not meat to them were family, were a family of vikings.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 24, 2006

The administration at this school is the WORST in the country! They allow kids to wander in and out of class whenever they want to, be very disrespectful, and loiter in the halls when they should be in class. There is NO discipline in this school PERIOD! Most teachers here are wonderful, but administration does not care about a student's education, or support the teachers. Administration is not preparing students for their future, i.e. college, job, technical school, etc. Students are allowed to smoke and take drugs on school property, without fear of punishment. Administration wants to be 'friends' with students rather than giving them guidance. The students run this school, while administration watches. If you want your child to get a good education, DO NOT SEND THEM HERE! Security officers have NO authority either. They are removing the 'tardy policy', and Code of Conduct book is worthless. What a waste!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2005

When i went to Everett i thought it was a great school, i felt safe and the teachers i had actually cared. I think the staff is great and the principal Mr. Dale Glynn has opened alot of doors for people. people complain about things but i think there needs to be more parental involvement if changes want to be made. thats something that everett lacks is the involvement from the parents for there children. i think if that would go up then it would be alot better. parents have to start caring about whats going on at their childs school. if u dont get involved then u dont have any right to complain!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 21, 2005

Everett high school has never failed me. The morale of both the staff and students never falters. I feel out of all the high schools in lansing, Everett has the top quality. Better safety, better teachers, and a staff that actually gets to know their students makes it a great place to be. Diversity at Everett makes this school a very multi-cultural, and hence forth better school
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 23, 2003

Everetts Principal is a great leader and they have many more activities for the students than when I went to school. My son has not had any problems with any of his teachers this year and the way of learning has gotten away from the text books and more on hands task. Keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

423 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
6%

2013

 
 
7%

2011

 
 
6%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2013.

231 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
5%

2012

 
 
10%

2011

 
 
4%

2010

 
 
11%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

234 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
38%
Science

The state average for Science was 26% in 2013.

231 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
5%

2012

 
 
9%

2011

 
 
2%

2010

 
 
12%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 38% in 2013.

231 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
17%

2010

 
 
23%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 50% in 2013.

228 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
23%

2010

 
 
23%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

83%

Average ACT score

16

Graduation rate

"58"%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
African-American 44% 18%
White 26% 69%
Hispanic 15% 6%
Asian 12% 3%
Multiracial 3% 2%
American Indian 1% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:50am
School end time
  • 2:30pm
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Norman Gear
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Fax number
  • (517) 755-1089

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
  • bowling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • bowling

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3900 Stabler St
Lansing, MI 48910
Website: Click here
Phone: (517) 755-1080

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Beekman Center
Lansing, MI





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT