Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kendon School

Public | K-5 & ungraded | 201 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 21, 2014

My son went to this school for Kindergarten, then came back as a second grader. I was in love with this school then. The office staff and teachers were amazing. Now, I'm figuring out ways to transfer him into another school, even if it means driving out of my way. The secretary is probably the rudest and most unorganized person I have ever met. The teachers don't seem to care at all about what's going on with the kids. Being disappointed is an understatement. Failing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2013

My daughter started kindergarten here a year ago and is going back to first grade this year. This school is amazing with parent teacher involvement. The principals door is always open if you have any questions or concerns it is easy to go in and talk with Mrs. Keaton. The teachers all care about their students and how they are doing if your child is struggling with something they let you know and give ideas to help them. I am very happy with Kendon and their teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2013

This school is in all honesty the worst school I have seen. I have done some work as a college student in different schools and then as I child myself I changed elementary schools often. I however am appalled at this school and its lack of organization and the head of organization would be the secretary and the principal. This school needs more Secretaries because one very unhelpful one is not enough for all the staff and all the students to function as a whole. I have heard from several parents how this school was excellent before the new principal but no one warned me on how the secretary is also the main brake of this chain. A school in my opinion is about team work and even if the teachers are trying so hard they cant get very far if the principal and the secretary are not on the same level.They over see many things. I am shocked they don't call you when your child is sick and then say they just didn't notice? There website is well not the most accurate and the relationship between parent and school is non existent. My son is ready to start Kindergarten and I rather pay for him to go to another school and we are lucky my daughter starts another school in the fall!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2011

My 16 yr old started Kendon in 2nd grade, she is now in High school. My other daughter went from k-5th, she is now in 7th and my youngest is still there in 5th grade, she went from k- still there..I think is a great school, we picked this school as our school of choice..There is another nearby elementary within 2 blocks, but I chose to keep them at Kendon..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

Last year Kendon updated their website once; can't seem to locate the website this year. They never activated Edline login for parents, although it showed on their website for two years. Student drop-off and pick-up is a nightmare. Many parents aren't principled drivers as they tend to drive fast, park the wrong way on Kendon Ave, and block the main right-of-way while waiting for their kids. Seems like the school, as well as the Lansing School District, is in disarray. On the plus side, Kendon has great teachers and a superior curriculum. It's a shame the above mentioned negatives overshadow the positives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2009

I like Kendon, but I do not like the lack of diversity at the school. I've been to different Kendon school concerts and all of the songs they sung were originally written and performed by African Americans. Why is there not any Hispanic, Asian, Native American or other music taught to these kids? How are the kids supposed to appreciate all cultures when the school doesnt seem to? The school needs to quit with their agenda and diversify.


Posted June 1, 2009

Yes, Mrs. Keldsen is the best kindergarten teacher I could ask for but she may be moving to another school next year due to not enough kindergarteners.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2009

I have a son who's in kindergarten at Kendon. His teacher, Mrs. Keldsen is amazing. The curriculum and instructional methods Mrs. Keldsen utilize in her classroom are outstanding. My son is so excited about getting to school everyday. Mrs. Rusesky, the pricinpal is always available for her students and their parents. If you are interested in your child receiving a quality educational experience you should consider Kendon elementary K-5th.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2009

My daughter attended Kendon K-5th and i am very pleased. The curriculum is amazing. Mrs. Rusesky, the principal, is very involved with the children and their activities. She is warm to both the students and the parents and is very dedicated. There is an on sight before and after care program provided by the YMCA, girl scouts, cub scouts and a 5th grade basketball team. They hold several music concerts each year and pack the house each time! I would recommend this school to anyone wanting a caring environment for their child in the K-5 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2008

My step son attends Kendon and my husband and I have tried to get them to return our calls since the year stated. We've left msg after msg regarding our request to be involved. We'd like to get copies of his report cards, get notification of conferences and other events. We'd love to participate but they will not communicate with us. His mother has moved him to a different school each year and so far Kendon is the only one to not communicate with us. How very odd, espically with how common it is for children to have two households these days.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2007

I have taught at six different schools during my career. Kendon is the best. The staff works well together to align the overall curriculum. The principal is warm, well organized, and dedicated. Most parents are involved in their students' education and easy to communicate with. Extra curricular activities such as basketball, YMCA, cub scouts, and music concerts are well-attended.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 7, 2007

Our daughter attended Kendon and we were particularly thrilled with the class curriculum, and instruction provided by Kindergarten teacher Mrs. Williford. Our son will reach school age soon and both children will receive their educations at Kendon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2005

Both of my children went to Kendon from K-5. I love this school. The principal is very involved with the students. The students seem to respond to the teachers and the principal very well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2003

The principal is very communicative with the students and their parents - however some of the teachers do not call both set of parents or even one of the parents to say that their is a problem with school work, students attitudes, etc. How can the parents be involved if the teacher who sees them on a day to day basis can not call the parents to get them involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

33 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
24%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

32 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
20%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
20%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
3%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 45% 69%
African-American 27% 18%
Hispanic 22% 6%
Multiracial 3% 2%
American Indian 1% 1%
Asian 1% 3%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 67%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Tracey Keyton
Fax number
  • (517) 755-1459

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

827 Kendon Dr
Lansing, MI 48910
Website: Click here
Phone: (517) 755-1450

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Cavanaugh School
Lansing, MI


Gardner Academy
Lansing, MI


Lyons School
Lansing, MI


North School
Lansing, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT