Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Post Oak Magnet School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 357 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 22, 2014

My son transferred into the Lansing school system from another state. He attended an IB school there and we thought the opportunity to continue his IB education would be beneficial to him here. Big mistake! The school lacks academic rigor and the parents are as (visibly) vested in their children's success as those we've encountered previously. I honestly feel as thought we've lost a year, but then, what other options are there in this community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

This school is amazing. I have had children at Post Oak for 8 years, all in the Chinese Immersion program starting in pre-school. The principal is a true professional, eager to work out any issue you might have. She really understands all the goofy things kids do to get in trouble and how to handle it graciously. The teachers are so dedicated, often going above and beyond. They go through extensive training for the IB program at Post Oak. Because of the "restructuring" of the LSD, the teachers have lost their planning time. They are the art, music, and gym teachers as well! That makes parental involvement important! Post Oak has a parent volunteer room to help teachers with busy work like copying, cutting out, etc. The support staff is also exceptional. Very little turn over, the kids see the same smiling faces year after year and run to hug their lunch ladies and aides!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2013

Post Oak is amazing. When I tell people about it they ask is that a public school? The teachers are loving and communicate with the parents. The principal is kind and open to parent's suggestions. LSD recently added a fruit and vegetable bar to lunch and the children and of course I love it. They are learning a foreign language. Susan Laoshi is the bomb! She teachers the children traditional Chinese dances afterschool for free! I would have picked this school for myself if I could have. They have plenty of recess. I have 3 children who have attended from pre-K through 2nd. I was very hesitant about the recent change from pre k-5 to pre k-3rd. But it seems to be working out well for our children. Great job LSD! The dedication of the teachers makes the parents want to be more involved. We see our teachers loving our kids and we want to know how can we help
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2012

I have two kids that attend Post Oak, and they have both began the Chinese program beginning kindergarten and they both are excelling in american studies as well as the Chinese studies. I wish every child was as fortune as mine to get what Post Oak provides as far education and activities and leadership and parent involvement no one shows they care like we do at Post Oak.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Love the Chinese program and the afterschool Y-Care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2008

I absolutely love Post Oak school & the staff members. My 2nd grader has been learning chinese since kindergarten. The teachers are excellent. I really enjoy how Post Oak is always trying to involve the parents in their child (rens) education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2006

Unlike the bad publicity that the media loves to portray about the lsd, there should be media coverage for all of the wonderful events that occur at this school! parents are always at the school and invited by the staff throughout the entire day! if there are any issues the staff works with the family to straighten them out. Spaghetti dinners, talent shows, winter music programs (embracing diversity), conferences, middle school visitations, local business partnerships, literacy nights, book fairs, interactions with other schools, lots of field trips! just to name a few off the top of my head! the academics for our 4th grader includes algebra (not exploratory either!) and geometry! innovative writing assignments and an extensive literacy focus! lots of cross-curricular variety! the music instruction includes the required recorder (4th grade) and they really learn to read music notes! two very impressive points grade-level teacher collaboration and parent curriculum involvement! very high-quality learning here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2006

There is an amazing PTA, but there are very few parents involved. There are issues reagrding discipline, as I'm sure all schools have. The school has recently had low MEAP scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2006

Post Oak is a great school with a very active and involved PTA. The staff is very committed to providing the best education possible. The school has had a sixth grade for the 2004-5 & 2005-6 school years.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
10%

2011

 
 
10%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
27%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
19%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
9%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 42% 69%
Hispanic 26% 6%
African-American 18% 18%
Multiracial 8% 2%
Asian 5% 3%
American Indian 1% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Camela Diaz
Fax number
  • (517) 755-1619

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2320 Post Oak Ln
Lansing, MI 48912
Website: Click here
Phone: (517) 755-1610

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Pinecrest School
East Lansing, MI


Fairview School
Lansing, MI


Pattengill Academy
Lansing, MI


Gier Park School
Lansing, MI



Sheridan Road
Lansing, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT