Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Private
Lansing, MI
Students enrolled: 132

5 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Montessori Childrens House 5

Posted May 16, 2014
- a parent
Both of of my darlings attend MCH. It is fantastic! Each child had grown positively in completely different ways. They are surrounded by love, interest and guidance.

Montessori Childrens House 5

Posted January 16, 2013
- a parent
I love this school. My 8 yo son and my 4 yo daughter attend MCH. Their teachers have been warm, attentive, and nurturing. There are lots of opportunities for parent involvement if you like. I would highly recommend this school for other parents.


Montessori Childrens House 2

Posted August 13, 2011
- a parent
My three year old was a student in the primary class. We had recently moved to Michigan and he was still adjusting to the change. He wanted to bring his "blankie" to school and the teachers/administrators did not approve. They were also concerned about his preference to choose bead work as the first activity every morning. The teacher wanted him to choose something else. When I asked if he was disturbing others, she replied that he was not, and that he would wait quietly and observe the other child. the They suggested he suffered from a Sensory Processing Disorder after a mere two months in the school. As a former teacher and PhD student in Education at Michigan State University I knew this was an inaccurate diagnosis. Furthermore, the teachers and administrator have no training to make such a diagnosis, nor do should they make those claims. We changed schools immediately and he began attending another local Montessori school. In addition our pediatrician found no evidence for a Sensory Processing Disorder. Beware of schools that want to diagnose children with disorders! He is excelling at his new school. The primary teacher was unkind and made our child feel unwelcome.

Montessori Childrens House 5

Posted February 28, 2011
- a parent
So pleased that I found this school. My son has gone there for 2 years, loves it and so do I.

Montessori Childrens House 5

Posted November 22, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Montessori Childrens House 5

Posted July 21, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Montessori Childrens House 5

Posted September 09, 2008
- a parent
Attending this school has been a wonderful experience for my child and our family. It is truly a community where the administrators and teachers care and teach to each individual student.

Montessori Childrens House 5

Posted June 21, 2006
- a parent
This is a wonderful school! The parental involvement is very high at this school which is one of the reasons we chose this over the other 2 Montessori schools in this area. They handle food allergies well and the teachers are all very experienced and have been teaching for a long time. My son's teacher has been there 30 years. I think the thing that makes this school extra special is that there are two administrators who have been there since the beginning. The academics are great. I have known many children who have had a successful time at the school. Montessori Children's House is worth driving out of your way. People come from all over the Lansing area.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Montessori Childrens House
2100 W Saint Joseph St, Lansing, MI  48915
(517) 482-9191
Last modified Montessori Childrens House is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
Montessori Childrens House Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top