Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lansing Charter Academy 2

Posted July 27, 2014
- a community member
I was a student at LCA but I graduated this year. I started going to LCA when I was in fourth grade, I always loved the school, but then we got a new principal (Mr. Ward). Mr. Ward did a great job in getting out scores up. Why I am giving LCA a 2 star rating is because their were 3 fights this year and the years before then their had be none. Mr. Ward failed to know most of the students names. This is why I believe LCA deserves a 2 star rating.

Lansing Charter Academy 5

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
My children have attended LCA since it opened. I can guarantee it has not been all roses. When a problem does arise they do try their best to deal with it. Mr. Ward, the new principal for the 13-14 school year, really has turned the school around. The teachers have always been awesome and so are the deans. The office staff are wonderful. They treat all the children as they are family. A few volunteers try to do as much as they can to help the staff and run school events. I think the lack of parent involvement is not any worst than anywhere else. Everyone is so busy. If you are looking for a school in the greater Lansing area I would differentially check out LCA.


Lansing Charter Academy 4

Posted October 24, 2013
- a community member
I think LCA is a great school! They work hard to put the students first (which most public schools are unable to do due to 'politics"). My granddaughter seems to thrive and is learning a lot. I like the friendliness of the teachers and staff and the fact that they get to know the students by name. I wish there was a little more security when picking up students (especially after school). I have picked my granddaughter up from school several times and never been asked for ID (not even the first time I stopped to get her). Overall they are doing a great job and the kids seems to thrive!

Lansing Charter Academy 4

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
The teachers I have worked with are great, the only issues I have is I feel there are too many students in each class for 1 teacher. And there is not enough parent support or volunteers to help with events. Everything else so far I love about the school.My child excels in all areas and they continue to push to make him better.

Lansing Charter Academy 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
I'm really surprised that this school has a rating of 3/10. I moved my kids from Red Cedar which has a much higher rating undeservedly. LCA has great teachers and staff.. They work hard and interact with the parents. I'm very comfortable having my both kids in this school.


Lansing Charter Academy 4

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
I really like the school and love the fact that things are always changing to make improvements. This has been kinda hectic because of after school pick up but the staff always shows up with a smile on there face and a positive attitude. Just wanted to say thank you for all that LCA does for children!

Lansing Charter Academy 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
We have been with LCA for two years and have been very happy with the education out child is receiving. Administration has been responsive and teachers have been invested and helpful. Concerns have not been ignored and the team atmosphere we have been able to create has truly helped our child. He is not just a number at LCA, he had a name!

Lansing Charter Academy 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
I love this school for my child he was bullied at his old school for years now that he is at LCA he has friends, great grades, and the staff is very friendly. I recommend this school to any one who wants their kids to get a good education in a good environment you should check it out.


Lansing Charter Academy 5

Posted June 18, 2013
- a parent
Lansing Charter Academy focuses on the development of moral character, and integrity is woven into the curriculum at every level. My children are challenged to go above and beyond and consistently score higher than their grade level. It is a safe and family-like environment for my children.

Lansing Charter Academy 2

Posted May 10, 2013
- a parent
Lansing Charter Academy sent out letters to parents yesterday admitting to not complying with federal guidelines by having a non-certified, "non-highly qualified" teacher teaching Science to middle school students. Parents were concerned with teachers experience, way of teaching and grading practices and the letter received explains why. No wonder our schools are failing!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lansing Charter Academy
3300 Express Ct, Lansing, MI  48910
(517) 882-9585
Last modified Lansing Charter Academy is a Charter school that serves grades PK-9
Lansing Charter Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top