Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Woodworth Elementary School

Public | K-4 | 448 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 14, 2013

Woodworth Elementary - Leslie, MI. Great school! Wonderful community involvement. Your child will have fun here but be careful, there is a teacher in each grade that make yelling at their students a part of their normal teaching itinerary for the day. Those select few teachers will also scold and scare the child if they tell on the them. Make sure to do your homework, ask around about the teachers. Everyone knows who these teachers are. You can hear them in the hallways. Make sure to fill out that teacher request form that comes out each May. As long as you do this, Your child will have a wonderful time and have a great learning experience!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2011

I feel they need to allow the parents more involvement regardless of the parents past. Doing a background check on the parent was an invasion of privacy and has shunned many parent out of there involvement in the public schools here in Leslie! Just because there is a parent with a criminal past dose not mean that they shouldn't be allowed to join in on field trips or other school based events...... needless to say I haven't been able to attend a field trip since 2008 because I have a drug offense that I was charged with 4 years before my child was born . I have successfully completed a rehab program and have been drug free for 8 years now ........ please tell me how this would affect our children ... it dont and it is ridiculous... Now I can see the point in doing this to prevent predictors in our schools but past drug offenses or felony drunk driving should not have any bearing on the parents involvement in Leslie schools.. its just another way to keep parents out of there children's lives due to the parents past...... who really loses in this decision????? ~JUST SAYING~
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2009

Our sons enjoyed going to school every day. The staff is outstanding and we credit them with the success our boys currently enjoy in school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2009

We felt the education our children received at Woodworth was outstanding. We have high academic expectations and found that our children transitioned easily from Leslie, even though our new district has a very high percentage of professional families who demand academic excellence. The previous reviewer perhaps mistakes lax parental expectations for low district/state standards. Ratings are highly subjective in nature and to have a child that is ''behind in her academic level' because of one year in Michigan is more reflective of poor academic parental status than poor district/state academic standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2008

I have to agree that the teachers at Woodworth are nice, but the education standards of the school dissappoint me. My child went to Woodworth for her second grade year. She is an A student that came from a school that was rated a 10 in another state. Now that we have moved to another state again, my child is now behind in her academic level because of attending Woodworth. I don't blame the school, I blame the state's education board.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2008

Leslie Rock's!!!! Im so pleased to find out that again this year they kicked off their annual Daddy/Daughter Dance in-style This years theme Hawiian lula My girls had a blast . Thanks parent/teachers/princpals/& Everyone inbetween for making this small town have a Big-Hearted community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2006

My son is in 3rd grade at Woodworth. Every teacher he has encountered has been amazing. They really work with each child's personality and learning style. They are very caring and excited about education. This school has no tolerance for bullying, which is wonderful. I also love that there are so many extra curricular activities. These kids have so much opportunity!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2006

Nice school, great teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
28%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
27%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 98% 69%
Hispanic 1% 6%
Multiracial 1% 2%
African-American 0% 18%
American Indian N/A 1%
Asian N/A 3%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. James Dell
Fax number
  • (517) 589-5548

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

212 Pennsylvania St
Leslie, MI 49251
Website: Click here
Phone: (517) 589-5151

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





SLC/Evergreen
Mason, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT