Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Keppen School

Public | K-5 | 401 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 7, 2012

Keppen is a wonderful school!!! all the staff there are great i have 2 children that attend there now, and 1 who has graduated from there. All the teachers are great. Mrs. Clark is an awesome prinicpal who really cares about the students who attend Keppen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

I love Keppen school because the teachers are all great and Mr. Dangerfield by far is the most amazing person in the world. I have 2 children in the school and my son is diabetic, he is always there to help with him and if there is ever an issue he is always there to fix the problems. I have no bad reviews for the school at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

I love this school. The kids are really smart! They get a good education
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

great teachers, a very involved pta and a principal that obviously cares about the students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

Great Staff, Great School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2008

Keppen is a wonderful school!! The staff and the teachers are terrific. Terry Dangerfield has made such a difference and with Mrs. Clark in the office our school cant go wrong , the two of them are a great team and the teachers i could go on about them forever but i will sum it up with awesome. wtg keppen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2008

Since Terry Dangerfield became the princepal there have been so many changes. Parent's are starting to volunteer more. My daughter completed kindergarten this year and is now reading books to me at night instead of me reading to her. She is also doing some much math. For many years Lincoln Park schools have gotten a bad rap but let me tell you they are up and coming and test scores are proving it. Take a look for yourself! WAY TO GO LP!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

I my father went to Keppen I went there today my children go there I had some difficulties with my son and everyone were a great help in acquiring him the assistance he needed the principal is a genuine leader also the educators are exceptional !!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
20%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
13%

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
27%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
51%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
23%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
12%

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
8%

2011

 
 
8%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
45%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

53 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
4%

2013

 
 
2%

2011

 
 
2%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 69%
Hispanic 35% 6%
African-American 11% 18%
Multiracial 4% 2%
American Indian 0% 1%
Asian N/A 3%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 86%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Lisa Clark
Fax number
  • (313) 389-3522

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Pta, bucket buddies, family fun nights, field trip, parent education nights
More from this school
  • We are currently in our second year as a Positive Behavior Support and Response to Intervention School. Our MEAP scores are currently on a positive 3 year trend.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Lincoln Park Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

661 Mill Street
Lincoln Park, MI 48146
Website: Click here
Phone: (313) 389-0232

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Raupp School
Lincoln Park, MI


Earl F. Carr School
Lincoln Park, MI


James Foote School
Lincoln Park, MI



Lafayette School
Lincoln Park, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT