Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lincoln Park High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1380 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 18, 2012

Excellent School. I go here and couldn't be happier. Everything has flaws but the staff and students all truly care about eachother and can have fun while learning. Administrators and staff are also making great improvements.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 3, 2012

I think as far changes and strong leadership, might work, but it the students like me that need to help put the changes in together, i mean the school and teachers, great but some student don't seem to put the time and effort for work, nor any student wont mature up and do what they are told. I'm a 10'th grader that has 3.0 trying to put these changes in good use, also part- special ed, because of my hard-hearing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 16, 2011

Used to be a good school. Far overcrowded with too many different subcultures that cause a lot of problems. It always seems to be white vs black, mexican vs black, white vs mexican.. Also a lot of the students are on hard drugs. Teachers dont care.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 29, 2010

I am so impressed with the changes that are happening at Lincoln Park High School. The new principal, Mr. Dangerfield, has started weekly telephone addresses. The communication and customer service is excellent. I used to be unhappy and fearful that my children were not getting the best education but I no longer believe that. My children's teachers communicate with me frequently. The children seem better behaved as well. Great job! Highly Recommend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2010

When I first got to the school, on the first day I almost got suspended for their over-strict dress code. All I was wearing was a shirt with the american flag on it.In this school you cannot have any individuality. Because any clothing with any writing or pictures on it will get you suspended. All this school ever does over the PA system is complain about the dresscode and tell people to put their IDs on. As a special ed student here I hear the students constantly make fun of us. I strongly suggest not going here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 5, 2009

I was a former student at lphs. Good school, great teachers and staff, most inportantly great extra ciriculum activites. School was a great turn out for the downriver area.


Posted April 22, 2009

LPHS is not a bad school at all.Yea theres alot of drama n sumtimes fights but its a highschool people what school isnt like that.We may lack books but we dnt lack the education needed n sum of the kids there dnt care bout there education n doesnt even try so theres no need to blame the school.The teachers are awesome and they do push us to suceed there have been times when i didnt care about school either n i wld start to fail but my teachers all pushed me to do better.. Its not the school thats messed up its some of the ungreatful kids that go there so plz stop bad talkin the school and pay attention to your kids n other students.. The teachers n principals n hall moniters and everyone else who work there are doin their best.Cut them slack n give them a chance!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2009

The school has gone down the drain, it used to be free. Now, all the concern is about the IDs, Dress Code, Attendance. More like a prison than a school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 16, 2008

I am a student at LPHS, and I love it here. Everybody's really into the extra activitys and we have alot of school spirit! But, it is true- we spend to much money on the football equipment even though what we really need is new lockers! But overall, I love it here, and all the teachers rock!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2008

i think that lphs has a lot of potential, but i see too much violence, and lack of what we need, stop wasting our money on things we dont need, get us new supplies, books, lockers, desks, etc. get a security system, things we could put to use, not usless things.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 16, 2008

This is a great school. I love it here. To all the parents reading this: Maybe you just have one of the bad kids, it's not the teachers fault.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 6, 2007

Lincoln Park high School wasn't that bad when I graduated in 2006. People talk about how bad the drug and violence problems are there, i think it's just been blown out of proportion. We did have a few lockdowns, and senior year I hardly remember any fights breaking out. Most of the teachers there are decent teachers and need the respect they deserve. I do think more programs should be geared toward the students who actually care about learning. For example, when I graduated there was one AP class. I know they have added a few more AP classes, but hello? What took so long?! I mean they started Hamilton before they implented the advanced classes! I did get into college but I don't think LPHS fully prepared me for it. I wouldn't blame the teachers but I would blame the lack of funding and the mediocre classes offered.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 1, 2006

Lincoln Park is not a bad school. Of course, it has its good kids and its bad kids. Yes some of the classrooms are short on books. But, if you're a good student and willing to learn most teachers there are not just teachers but, actually are friends. I know because I'm a student there. We also produce many great athletes and academics. There will be problems. But, it's high school. What do you expect people?
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 11, 2006

It is not only the teachers job to teach..it is also up to parents. Both my kids graduated with higher aver to high grades and went on to college & deans list. The oldest was so inspired that she became a teacher. The youngest is in 1st year college for CJ. When there was a problem teachers and administration were always helpful and resolutions were made respectfully from all sides.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2006

Test scores are low and after two years of failing, we just passed AYP in 2006. The school does not have enough books for every class. Also, if there are books, the kids have to share them with other classes and if they want one for homework, they have to borrow it after school or go to the library. LP High School needs to completely revamp the way they are doing things or our kids will continue to fail.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2006

This school is a great disappointment. I enrolled my child thinking that from the outside appearance, and a great welcome from the faculty, that it would be a great school. Not true. My child has went from being an all a student to a D average. Most teachers are too old an not up to date on how school should be taught now. If a kid gets sick an asked for make-up work, it is usually not given and therefore the student fails. I'd think twice about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2005

There are some excellent academic programs, and the band instructor is excellent, running a first-rate program. Music, art, and sports are all available, as well as NHS, Student Council, and several other special program. They also seem do a very good job with V.I. students. Organization is a little lacking, and class offerings are slimmer this year than in the past. Many seniors have holes in their schedule because there simply wasn't a class to give them that wasn't full.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2005

Lincoln Park High Shcool, may not be the very best that public education has to offer, but if you're a good student and work had it can be everything you need. So all these people complain about the drug and violnece problem we supposedly have. Maybe if parents took a more positive role in their kids lives we wouldnt have this problem. No the teachers dont care about the kids who goof off. Why should they? They're there to teach not to baby sit. LPHS is a wonderful school, minus the few kids who should be locked up.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 23, 2005

Lincoln Park High School has been doing very poor academicly with it's students, and teachers often don't help nor do students help themselves. Most are busy talking to friends, disrupting classes, ect. ect. and make it difficult for the few there to actually concentrate on the work being handed to them. Both the students and the teachers need to work to make this school better, and until that happens, it will continue to become a poor environment for anyone.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 24, 2005

Lincoln Park has gone down in the past years. There is more fighting and drug usage there at the school. Some of the teachers dont care at all and just brush it off. This school is totally getting worse by the day. Now there just letting kids come in so its getting filthy and the kids are now arrogant. The only way to fit in it seems to be bad or to do drugs and drink. If you are thinking about sending your kid there then think twice.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

337 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
8%

2013

 
 
12%

2011

 
 
13%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2013.

196 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
10%

2012

 
 
14%

2011

 
 
6%

2010

 
 
9%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

197 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
42%
Science

The state average for Science was 26% in 2013.

196 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
7%

2012

 
 
12%

2011

 
 
7%

2010

 
 
10%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 38% in 2013.

196 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
21%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 50% in 2013.

197 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
28%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

90%

Average ACT score

18

Graduation rate

79%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 69%
Hispanic 25% 6%
African-American 13% 18%
American Indian 1% 1%
Asian 1% 3%
Multiracial 1% 2%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 71%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Lincoln Park Middle School
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 2:30 am
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Eric Calvin
Fax number
  • (313) 383-5738

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Transportation options
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Psta (parent-student-teacher association)
More from this school
  • Parents may access their students attendance and course grades/assignments via Zangle Parent Connect web site.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Lincoln Park Middle School

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Wayne State University
Baker College
Henry Ford Community College
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1701 Champaign Rd
Lincoln Park, MI 48146
Website: Click here
Phone: (313) 389-0234

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Cabrini High School
Allen Park, MI



Allen Park High School
Allen Park, MI




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT