Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

John Paul II Catholic School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Lincoln Park

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $56,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $710.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 17, 2013

BEWARE. The parents are very clicky. If you are not an involved parent that volunteers at the school everyday, then good luck getting anyone to accept you into their tight-knit group. My child had some issues that I tried to contact the principal regarding. After leaving numerous messages for her, with no return call, I gave up. Some of the teachers are so old and out of date with todays society. The one nun actually told my child that satan speaks to you thru television and video games. Another nun told him he would never see his dead dog, his best friend, ever again, because dogs do not have souls so they do not go to heaven. He cried about that for days. The teachers and pricipal have their favorite students and beware if your child does not make the cut, things will be very difficult for them. The boys are expected to be quiet, perfect, angelic soldiers. The children get unfair punishments for innocent acts such as talking in the hallways during class change. Just ridiculous expectations of young children that are treated like soldiers all day long. They are expected to think and act the way the teachers want, with no individuality allowed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2011

The school is now called John Paul II I am not sure if we like it or not. My child is in middle school and I have already spotted some red flags. My child so far has not been challanged in a positive way, While some of the teachers are young & get that injecting some fun into the day is importiant other older teachers do not. They are very strict. Classes get dismissed late all the time so my child is rushed through that assigment. My child has a 15 min lunch break! This is uncalled for. The web site is useless, and emails go unanswered from the web site. Tuition is higher that other schools in the area. The amount of rules and dress code is overwhelming to both parent and students. Children don't use backpacks they use suitcases because they have too many books, note pads and must carry all of their items from class to class and home daily, this is also uncalled for. My child has one teacher Sr. A. who demands that all student bring home all books no matter if they have homework or not because they need to "look at future lessons." A lot of assumptions are made at this school as well. JPII is not preparing my child for HS at this point. I am not sure if we will stay.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2009

You cannot put a price on education. As a parent, you do anything and everything to assure your child has the best schooling experience possible and that they carry the lessons learned into their young adult life. Good Shepherd School is one of the last institutions to focus so much on the child and their development, that the tuition, regardless of cost, isn't so much as an expense as it is the wisest investment choice you will ever make. The teachers are second to none, the grounds are clean, safe and tailored to each specific grade, K-8. Parents make the sports programs and after school activities a welcoming and warm experience while keeping participation fees small or in some cases completely free. Special classes like gym, music, art and computers round out a fantastic curriculum that build great students and please all parents. Highly recommended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2009

CGS is a wonderful school...highly recommended. Staff, parents, and students are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2009

My husband and I chose to send out very active son to Kindergarden. He loves his teacher Mrs. Kozma, and so do we. She really gets kids. Mrs. Kozma is kind, creative and fair. She runs a tight ship, and I would have it any other way. My son is able to take part in specials gym and art twice a week, music is once a week. It is a well rounded program. Iti is worth the trip.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2008

My child has been going to CGS since 2001 starting w/preschool.They are very attentive and a hands on school.The only thing lacking is a band program, everything else is there.Parental involement his very high and that also shows dedication.Try us out, you'll like us!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2008

This is an excellent school that teaches good values along with advanced academics. I am a graduate and now my son attends CGS. I wouldn't send him anywhere else, no matter what the cost!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2007

I feel that this school keeps their children safe from everything and everyone! Many activities and good teachers. Right now, sports are free due to parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2005

This school is amazing! The teachers are great and the children are watched very well. It is very secure. My daughter went there for 3 yr old pre school, pre k and full day kindergarten. Unfortunately though, tuition is pricey and that's as far as she could go, but I am now sending my son for 3 yr old preschool and so on, because it is just wonderful the way they are taught and how much they learn. If you can afford it this is the best school to send your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 71%
Asian 4% N/A
Hispanic 4% 5%
African-American 2% 20%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Multiracial 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Mariann Lupinacci
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (313) 928-1326

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Detroit
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1590 Riverbank St
Lincoln Park, MI 48146
Phone: (313) 386-0633

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Hoover School
Lincoln Park, MI


Earl F. Carr School
Lincoln Park, MI


James Foote School
Lincoln Park, MI


Meadowbank Schools
Lincoln Park, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT