Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Garfield Elementary School 5

Posted October 13, 2014
- a parent
I am very happy with the education my son has received at Garfield. His teachers have all been great and Mr. Green is very helpful and responsive, and really seems to care about the kids.

Garfield Elementary School 5

Posted October 22, 2013
- a parent
I think Garfield is a great school. My children love their teachers and they have an excellent learning environment. The principle, Mr. Green, is great. I usually get a call once a week letting me know what will be happening at the school. It is a small, nurturing environment and I would recommend this school to anyone.


Garfield Elementary School 1

Posted September 23, 2011
- a parent
As a graduate of LPS my husband and I were so disappointed with our experience at Garfield. The curriculum is MEAP driven, the staff are not held accountable for communicating with families and meeting Michigan bench marks. The overall focus is providing remedial support to the children who need it. If your child is performing at grade level, expect that they will not receive the same support as those who are not. The curriculum at Garfield is not the same curriculum as other schools in the district because so many students are performing below grade level. MEAP scores are not accurate. They spend the first three months of school teaching towards the MEAP to make the school look better. Science, Social Studies, and cursive handwriting are not taught. Not to mention that the playground is unsafe, poorly supervised. We are much happier at a nearby private school. Garfield is a HUGE disappointment!

Garfield Elementary School 5

Posted April 14, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Garfield Elementary School 2

Posted August 19, 2009
- a parent
Garfield has some of the best staff in the district. The staff needs more support from the principal, as does the major population of children and the parents. Our experience started out well and went downhill. The staff has many stopgaps in place to help the children that need remedial help. Good job teachers!


Garfield Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 28, 2008
- a parent
This was my family's first and sadly last year, secondary to a move, at Garfield. I have nothing but praise for this school ,the teachers and pricipal. The teachers make every effort to ensure that all the children are learning and enjoying it as they go along. These teachers are routing for all of the kids and are their champions when they are needed! Good job Garfield!

Garfield Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 10, 2008
- a parent
Garfield is a wonderful place for children to learn and it is the parents not the 'at risk' children that cause problems in the school. The Legacy Initative is not going away, please stop whining about it. Pretty soon a district with K-4 schools and upper elementary schools will be all the format these kids know and it will become normal. It will not if parents do not accept it and move forward. Bill Green, the principal, makes it a priority to keep the parents informed and I would ask anyone to ask him about the professional development he and his teachers participates in. They are continually researching and learning new ways to teach our children. I have a 3rd grade son that is learning junior high if not high school geometry and he is excited to learn more every day. That is what a good school does.

Garfield Elementary School 1

Posted September 06, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Garfield Elementary School 5

Posted January 04, 2007
- a parent
This is a small, nuturing, and commited school. My family was sent to this school due to forced school closings from the district. This school opened up a cozier and more personal solution to education. It is a great school! Sincerely, Mrs. LuAnn Englehart

Garfield Elementary School 2

Posted June 09, 2006
- a parent
The new principal has been of small help this year in terms of safety and help for individual students. There continues to be children accepted from other districts, which was supposed not to have been an option after the building was expanded some years ago. This was promised to the 300 or so neighnbors who opposed the plan to expand. There are too many 'at risk' children here who cause behavioral problems and are disruptive. There are some fine teachers here, and a few who should seek other employment. With the onslaught of the 'legacy initiative' in livonia district, things appear to be getting worse than better. Many parents from the closing schools are choosing not to send their children here, but seek educational opportunites elsewhere. Check the ratings compared to other livonia elementary schools.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Garfield Elementary School
10218 Arthur Street, Livonia, MI  48150
(734) 744-2715
Last modified Garfield Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Garfield Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top