Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kennedy Elementary School

Public | K-4 | 360 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 16, 2013

Kennedy Elementary was a phenomenal experience for our son. The staff has a caring, involved approach. The curriculum is taught very well by an excellent staff of teachers. We would recommend this school to anyone looking for a school in Livonia!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2012

My daughter attended Kennedy in Kindergarden. She developed great frienships, organizational skills and most of all exceeded our goals acedemically. The volunteers, teachers and staff were wonderful and added to her sense of belonging. Unfortuntley, we moved and settled for a school closer to home. We were very disappointed in the progress and every other aspect we hoped to find in a school like Kennedy. We are transferring back in the fall. The extra drive time is well worth the gains.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2011

After researching Livonia schools last year, I fould that Kennedy lives up to the great comments that I found on this site. My daughter just completed kindergarten and overall my wife and I are extremely pleased how much she's learned in one year. Kudos to the principal and teaching staff. They really have done a remarkable job. I am very optimistic for the upcomming year. Great job Kennedy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2011

Great School, Great Teachers. Very positive environment. Teachers are top notch. Principle is very understanding and active. Lucky to have such a good school for my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2010

The teachers are friendly and involved with all the children...they really work w/ them on an individual basis. The principal is also passionate about all of her students and it shows.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

Kennedy School has an amazing staff. They encourage family involvement in the school, have a fantastic Parent Teacher Association, follow amazing curriculum guidelines and do a great job of helping the children to reach their full potential. Many incredible teachers incorporate Love and Logic Strategies into the classroom and help the children through Responsible Thinking. Kennedy has an amazing principal who genuinely cares for the school and everyone in it. They have an full time Elementary Student Service Provider who gladly cares for students and their families, a wonderful librarian, fantastic art and music teachers and lets not forget our fabulous Physical Education instructor. We mustn't forget the cafeteria staff and the Janitor who always greats you with a smile. And Truly, I am so grateful for the school secretary who really is the silent glue of the school and mustn't go unnoticed. Please forgive me if I have forgotten to mention anyone. John F. Kennedy Elementary also has a fantastic computer lab that students love and much more. Online, they have a fantastic link to help parents in with many different facets of their students lives...including internet safety links. Students are taught to embrace life, make friends, and learn much. They are taught to show honor and respect. They have an amazing surveillance system all around the school and they take student safety very seriously. Kennedy is a great place for children to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2006

We've had a great expirience with the school. My child's teacher has gone out of her way to make sure that we are kept informed and made part of the learning process. Academically the school allows for individual acheivement. If you are thinking og moving to Livonia you're in great luck if you are joining the Kennedy community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2005

Kennedy has been a great experience for our children. The teachers are top notch and the principal is known by all the students and parents. The teachers my children have had, have gone beyond the call of duty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2005

My child has had a good overall experience at Kennedy. We have had only 2 problems and the first was dealt with quickly & efficiently. The second was never really dealt with as it was a teacher issue instead of a child issue. Education is progressing well - above average across the board for mine. There are way too many field trips though!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2005

Kennedy is a great school! The staff is top notch and very dedicated to each student. The principal is wonderful and very hands on. Kennedy has the best MEAP scores in the district. They lay a great foundation in the early grades for continued success through high school. Great parent involvement with many opportunites to volunteer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2004

If you want your child to learn than find a new school for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 69%
Hispanic 5% 6%
Asian 2% 3%
African-American 1% 18%
American Indian 1% 1%
Multiracial 1% 2%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Danielle Daniels
Fax number
  • (734) 744-2747

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14201 Hubbard St
Livonia, MI 48154
Website: Click here
Phone: (734) 744-2745

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Jackson Center
Livonia, MI




St. Michael School
Livonia, MI


Branch Line School
Livonia, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT