Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Riley Upper Elementary School

Public | 5-6 | 738 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 19, 2013

All of the rumors I heard are true. I contacted the principal twice with no response and found the teacher difficult to work with. Fighting was acceptable and teaching methods from the 90's were general practice. My overall experience was not pleasant!!! Coming from a very good elementary school I was hoping for great things from Riley. I was very disappointed! Livonia Public Schools has a big problem at Riley and need to address safety and academic concerns!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2013

I think the experience you get from this school depends on who you deal with. The office can't take notice of everyone, from their responses. As a parent that was only visible on occasions I never felt that welcomed. We had two different teachers when my child was there. One was fantastic and brought lots of new ideas, the other was past her prime and my child couldn't relate. Your best bet is to work with the teachers directly since your stay at Riley is short. The kids learn a lot but it's not the warm and fuzzy environment that lower elementary was.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2012

Very disappointed with Riley. My daughter is in their learning center program and she has never hated school the way she does now. My husband and I always worked with staff since she was in pre-school and accept that she does have faults and need a firm hand to handle, but we have always work through tough times as long as the teachers guide her in the right direction. Well its been a full year and only two weeks left, and she has been coming up crying every other day because of kids harassing her. She doesn't trust any of the teachers when she has problems because she feels they don't do anything anyway. She has been disciplined more than once (by the way their zero tolerance is a bit severe) and yet stress the zero tolerance, but what about the staff? Is there zero tolerance when another child harass or misbehave and a student is asking for help and instead of handling it, they tell her to ignore it.. no wonder my daughter lashes out! Ridiculous!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2011

I am currently at Riley , this is my second year. From the day i arrived there were no problems or anything and i in a wheelchair too. But anyways , it has been a great experience learning and fun. The teachers are just so amazing! The kids are nice. The staff as i said are great! They encourage me to do the best i can. My first year was great! So how dare you say these things about my school! And when me and my parent walk into the office we are ALWAYS greeted with respect even when i walk in there to run an errand for the teacher they are happy to help! So how dare you say that the staff is bad! Maybe it isn't the staff!


Posted April 1, 2011

What a joke this school is. I had a daughter go through this school when it first opened and was very disappointed. I reserved judgment until my next child was ready to attend since the school was newer, I figured it was only fair to give it time. While it has an active PTA your ideas are ignored by the board. The staff is cliqueish. Riley is the only Upper Elementary in Livonia that does not attend 6th grade camp because the staff "doesn't want to." My daughter has told me that when she is at school the staff makes her feel like "she is bothering them just by being there." How sad that the students don't feel welcome in THEIR OWN SCHOOL. As a parent arriving in the office...IF you are acknowledged by a staff member most requests are met with a not so subtle big sigh and eye roll. My kids went to Coolidge, Riley and Holmes. LOVED COOLIDGE, can't stand Riley, Holmes is so far so good. Too bad I can't give a negative number to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2010

My son had a great learning experience at Riley. He loved the school and loved his teachers. His teachers were very approachable and personable. Riley offers a variety of activities. The playground has ample room and a great play structure. I am really impressed. My older children had attended private schools and I was very skeptical of Livonia's public schools . I have been very pleased so far. My son has attended Coolidge and Riley and will be off to Holmes next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2010

My daughter attends this school. She is in the My daughter is in sixth grade she strongly dislikes her teachers she says that they don't like or do their jobs they have no passion either. Also the staff has too high of expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2010

My son attended Rile and had a phenomenal experience. The music exploratory was fantastic. If you read the notes from the parents that are berating this school and the educational experience, note the numerous words that are incorrectly spelled. Do you really want to take their word for anything?!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2008

The school dose have some bad things but every school dose. theirs bad kids and good kids. Mostly everyone is nice. If you have problems in a subject a teacher will help you. Over all this school would get 3 or 4 stars. No school is perfict!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 29, 2008

My son is now in the sixth grade at this school. It seems that LPS nor the school cares about what is best for the kids at this school. This place does noes not seem to have teachers that like to teach anything but the meap. This last two years at this school has been a waste for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2007

This past school year has been my worst in LPS. This experiment has failed. The school is just to big, too many kids created many many problems thoughout the year. Bullying and sexual harrassment was experienced throughout the year. The Principles were overwhelmed with disipline problems. We never had the problems at our K-6 schools that we have here. Our home school tradtions, which had promised to be continued were lost. Many kids had no one from their home schools in their class, another promise broken. 6th grade graduation was a joke compared to years past. Just to many kids to work with. The playground equipment was way to small for this age group and it was never replaced. The playground was a muddy mess when ever it rained. The best thing about this past year is that its over.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2006

My son's experience at Riley was very disapointing. Teachers are unconcerned about what is going on in their classrooms. Dissipline was a BIG problem...they talk a good line, but follow through is another thing all together.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2006

Riley has been a great school for my child, he has experienced friendship, laughter and love through he year at Riley!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2004

Riley has help my child become more mature. The teachers are great with him and his transition from elementary school went very smoothly.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

364 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

363 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

374 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
22%

2013

 
 
14%

2011

 
 
24%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

371 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

369 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

376 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 69%
African-American 5% 18%
Asian 4% 3%
Hispanic 4% 6%
Multiracial 4% 2%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Cindy Scott
Fax number
  • (734) 744-2682

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15555 Henry Ruff St
Livonia, MI 48154
Website: Click here
Phone: (734) 744-2680

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Jackson Center
Livonia, MI


Branch Line School
Livonia, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT