Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Buchanan Elementary School 5

Posted November 17, 2011
- a parent
I am very pleased parent of Buchanan Elementary. The administrator is kind and understanding and seems to have a good repoire with her staff and the children. She knows many the children by their names and she sits with them at lunch on occassion. My daughter's teachers have been stellar in my opinion. They are knowledgable, caring, strive to make learning fun, and have accommodated each child according to their skill level to help them acheive their potential. The SAAC teachers are wonderful also. They keep the art projects fun and new and maintain an orderly yet comfortable environment for all the kids. The school takes an active approach to prevent bullying and, by observation, it seems to be working well. The school has an active PTA which stands as confirmation of how much the parents in the community care about their children and the school. Buchanan is a great school!

Buchanan Elementary School 1

Posted November 16, 2011
- a community member
First it is to bad that they don't have negative stars , My experience at Buchanan was just terrible! My mom was always feuding with the staff , it never felt like i could be a "normal kid " and i was never treated with respect it was the worst five years of my life! Including kindergarten!


Buchanan Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 20, 2009
- a parent
Buchanan has the greatest teachers, administrators and PTA. They help the children learn all of the things they need to know and they do it in a manner that is fun for the children.

Buchanan Elementary School 5

Posted July 20, 2009
- a parent
Coming from out of state, Buchanan is a great school with teachers who care and a principal that remembers your name. The school is tucked away in a safe neighborhood.

Buchanan Elementary School 5

Posted November 16, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Buchanan Elementary School 5

Posted August 31, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Buchanan Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 25, 2008
- a parent
I love this school from the principal to the teachers and support staff. And, the lovely people who keep the school up and running every day. My child has loved all of her teachers since Kindergarten, and she is now in 3rd grade! There is great communication between the school and the parents, and so much parent participation in all activities. It's a wonderful school!

Buchanan Elementary School 5

Posted March 04, 2005
- a parent
This school is OUTSTANDING! We were first in another Livonia elementary that closed. It was great, but Buchanan is really special! I have two fourth graders who have been there for two years. One is gifted and wants to stay there instead of the gifted program - I do not object, because she is ALWAYs challenged! The other is Learning Disabled, and they have been so helpful and supportive from the principal to the Librarian! Truly an Outstanding School!


Buchanan Elementary School 5

Posted October 15, 2004
- a parent
This is one of the best schools in the Livonia area. The teachers are highly qualified, energetic, and very enthusiastic about teaching. The Principal is very approachable and makes herself available to students and parents. She is very supportive of her staff. The school is clean and well maintained. I have had three sons attend this school and I can't say enough good things about it. Buchanan also has a very good PTA. The PTA has gone above and beyond what they need to with little recognition for their generocity. Our families are very involved and supportive of the school. Before considering somewhere else, I would highly recommend this school. Your child is not just a number or a $ sign at this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Buchanan Elementary School
16400 Hubbard Street, Livonia, MI  48154
(734) 744-2690
Last modified Buchanan Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Buchanan Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top