Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

American Montessori Academy

Charter | K-2 | 274 students

We are best known for Montessori Education.

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 13, 2008

AMA is a wonderful blend of Montessori Philosophy and quality public education. The staff is committed to providing the hightest quality of education. The Principal is a strong leader who is sensitive to parent/student needs and concerns. The teachers, support staff and administration are dedicated to meeting the individual needs of the child through the Montessori Philosophy.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 13, 2008

Great place! I would highly recommed this school. The staff is wonderful and because of them my child is a happier person. I do wish they had more art and music. Every child needs that no matter what school they attend. Maybe we as parents can help out with this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2008

AMA is below par in both academics and curriculum. Took my child out because he was not learning. Too many distractions in the classroom. Director not qualified to run school. Staff doesn't stay. Low morale. There is no consistency.


Posted December 13, 2007

If your child is self motivated, this is an excellent learning enviornment. The teaching staff is wonderful and very willing to help in any way. Please check it out for yourself if you are considering sending your child. The negative reviews are unfounded in my opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2007

I'm sorry to say that AMA has failed us. The Principle does not return calls. I have to say that the office staff this year is polite, however the leadership of the school is awful. I pulled my child out, and put him into a public school and after the first day he was able to do things, he never displayed at AMA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2007

This is our first year at AMA academy..So far we love it here. The teachers are wonderful and my children have never been happier at their school. They love the structure and never feel stressed out at school.They are excited to tell me all they did at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2007

The school is terrific for the lower grades, with a very diverse group of children and a lot of parental involvement. The school needs to do more work on motivating kids as they reach the 4th, 5th and 6th grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2007

not to happy with it. no art, no music, kids eat quietly in class, older kids tease younger kids and staff does not do anything about it. kids miss a couple days of school and they pile homework up. putting my daughter back in public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2006

My daughter goes to AMA and I am very satifisied with the school. Her teacher is wonderful and the staff in the office is great. Very diverse group of kids at the school. They have after school languauge programs available and kids club(daycare) before and after school. Thay encourage the parents to be involved. I'm very happy with AMA!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 69%
African-American 29% 18%
Multiracial 8% 2%
Asian 4% 3%
Hispanic 2% 6%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 135%N/A48%
Female 252%N/A48%
Male 248%N/A52%
Source: 1 MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Italian
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • School Choice Leadership Award (2011)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Pennies for Pasta (2011)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Clubs
  • Student newspaper

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Italian

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Girls on the run
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:40 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Renee Arnot
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (734) 525-8952

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Italian
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Gleanors Foodbank
  • Presbyterian Village nursing home
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Hand ball and floor Hockey
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Hand ball floor hockey
  • Soccer

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • Girls on the run
  • Link Crew
  • Student newspaper
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join AMFO
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • We are a K-6th school. We currently have two campuses. One in Livonia (K-2nd) and one in Redford (3rd-6th).
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Livonia Public
Redford Public
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14800 Middlebelt Rd
Livonia, MI 48154
Website: Click here
Phone: (734) 525-7100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT