Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
36 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 47 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


American Montessori Academy 5

Posted May 18, 2015
- a parent
AMA Lower is an excellent school! The staff are engaging, families are involved, and children are truly happy to go to school here. My child will be a kindergarten student at American Montessori Academy in September and I couldn't be more thrilled that she will be part of the AMA family. This is hands-down one of the best schools in Livonia!

American Montessori Academy 5

Posted April 19, 2015
- a teacher
I work at AMA! I am proud to be a part of an organization that has the best teachers, leadership and most of all vision for students. On several occasions, teachers go out of their way to help and support children and families. Everyone works as a team and support each other. It feels good to come to work everyday and feel a part of positive change and learning in someone's life! Please come and visit our school so you can truly feel what we are about and don't make judgements without experiencing the modern Montessori education!


American Montessori Academy 5

Posted April 18, 2015
- a community member
To the lady who made the comment below; obviously you have been misinformed. The so called teacher who you speak so poorly of, is actually one of the most brightest and amazing teachers out there. If you are so inclined to make such accusations and comments, I suggest you do not do it on a public site where slander and libel can be held against you. Every teacher has their own method; and you have issues with said teacher, speak to them directly rather than indirectly on a public forum. Thank you and have a good day

American Montessori Academy 5

Posted February 22, 2015
- a parent
I love AMA its a great school. I love my daughters teacher and the whole staff of the school is great. My daughter loves it also no complaints :)

American Montessori Academy 5

Posted November 23, 2014
- a parent
I love this school. I have a 4th grader that started in 2nd grade and also have a 1st grader currently attending AMA. I love the staff. I feel that they are very accommodating to both my children. We left Jane Addams to attend this school My son was in Second Grade. My experience was 180 degrees different at AMA. At Jane Addams, my son was constantly in the Principals Office, and even suspended in first grade! It was like they didn't know what to do with him there. We started at AMA for Second Grade and my son had a completely different experience. He was encouraged to do his best! They accommodated his special needs in the classroom. He loved school again! He is now at Upper Elementary in the 4th grade and still loving school. My second son started AMA Lower Elementary in Kindergarten. He loves school. He gets the special attention he needs and extra assistance for reading. I couldn't ask for a better experience. I highly recommend AMA!!!


American Montessori Academy 1

Posted October 20, 2014
- a parent
If your child has an IEP or any learning disability this school would not be the best choice for her/him. They cannot handle these types of situations and lack training, experience, knowledge and more than anything...patience.

American Montessori Academy 5

Posted October 17, 2014
- a parent
AMA is an amazing school. They offer music art and PE during school hours, and everything from Spanish, karate, Zumba, Cheerleading and golf as after school electives. I love it. I can honestly say it is probably the best elementary school in Livonia or Farmington Hills because the parents are so involved and the teachers are so wonderful. It is also a Michigan Rewards school, scoring in the 96th percentile this year! I am extremely happy with our decision to send my son here.

American Montessori Academy 5

Posted August 18, 2014
- a parent
My son has not even began his school year and already these women here have proved to be nurturing and helpful to a child who was scared and traumatized by a previous school. Their patience was greater than mine and I am looking forward to the year.


American Montessori Academy 5

Posted April 18, 2014
- a parent
AMA is a great school of choice. This is our third year and we have been very satisfied. The staff is great and seem to know most if not all of their students. The 2nd grade teachers do not have assistants in their classrooms, which is truly a downfall. This is something that needs to be addressed because the teachers need help in preparing the students to be ready for the common core test in 3rd grade. The assistants never should have been taken out of the 2nd grade classrooms. This is my only complaint, however it is a major concern.

American Montessori Academy 5

Posted July 16, 2013
- a parent
Wonderful experience! My son just finished kindergarten at AMA. His teacher (Miss Meagan) was amazing! She went above and beyond!! The growth he made was impressive! We have learned for years that hands on learning works best...AMA has encompassed this hands on philosophy in their montessorri curriculum. VERY PLEASED.

Nearby schools

American Montessori Academy
14800 Middlebelt Road, Livonia, MI  48154
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 47 reviews. (734) 525-7100
Last modified American Montessori Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-2
Top