Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Brookfield Academy Montessori

Private | PK-2 | 63 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Livonia

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $94,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 12 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 12, 2014

This campus has had many struggles since it's inception almost 5 years ago - including high staff turnover and a new Principal. Neither of which contribute to the success of the children. I agree with previous review about the lack of emotional development. True Montessori focuses on 3 principles - Respect for Self, Respect for Others, Respect for Environment. None of which is demonstrated at this campus, not a true Montessori culture. There are many other Montessori schools who are heavily ingrained in these principle - and cost much less. The teachers we have encountered are wonderful, but limited. Parental involvement is at an all-time low.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2013

This is a great school. Our child have made so much improvements over the years. The teachers are very dedicated in teaching not just academics but also manners and life skills. The parent involvement is also very good. There is always a good turn out for each special event.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2013

I am a new principal at Brookfield Livonia this school year (9/2012-6/2013). I have a wonderful, dedicated staff and our enrollment is steadily growing. We would love to welcome you and your child to our Brookfield Family! Please call to schedule a visit and to learn more about our programs, or visit our website first for more information at www.brookfieldacademy.net.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 27, 2012

Looking for a fresh start from public schools this Fall? This is the place to come to. You will be amazed at the care and attention your kids will get and the progress is awesome. Can't wait for Another great year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2011

This is a great school in every way! 5-stars across the board! See for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2011

Brookfield Academy has been the best experience our children could possibly have. 70 students and counting! Easy to see why.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2011

Our son is in his third year at Brookfield. Its amazing to see the growth and the changes he has made. If you live in Northville area, it is an easy commute. We were not sure at first because of the Livonia address, but the school is very close to 275. The after school program is also very very good. Our son can't wait to get up each day and he loves his teachers and friends. We are 100% happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2011

Excellent teachers, strong and enthusiastic Principal, challenging academics. A great place for your children to learn and grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2011

Sent my child to a public school for one year and so happy to have found Brookfield this year. What a difference the class size, the individual attention, all the extras and outstanding team of educators can make. Best investment we could make.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2011

Student and family diversity, community outreach, and respectful environment for all makes Brookfield in Livonia a fantastic place for kids. If you are Northville or general area, this is an easy commute and the hours of 7am-6pm will work for you. We were thrown off by the address at first but it is just up the road from the 275 exit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2011

Do not recommend this school based on the fact that principal plays favorites, very unprofessional approach. No wonder school had so many drop-outs even being open only two years. Even after a total makeover the person that runs the school is still the same.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2011

I would not recommend this school based on our personal experience. Staff lacks experience, kids are forced to grow up, not at their own rate, but for the perfection of the classroom and the end of school test scores. The school is all about academics without any experience to teach the children to grow emotionally. Principal lacks professionalism when approached.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2011

This school is growing by leaps and bounds, and three cheers for that! Already up to second grade for next year after starting so small. My child feels her school is part of our family, and we have developed some great friendships with other children and their families. Thanks to the events that bring us all out together, thanks to the dedicated teachers who challenge our kids with advanced academics, and thanks to a principal who cares about evry detail of the school and it's students. Go Brookfield!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2011

I would not consider this school a Montessori. Here children do folder work at the age of three and if they choose not to they will get a time-out. Not very typical in Montessori education. Parents might be happy that their child can read, but at what expense.


Posted March 16, 2011

This school does not offer what the other campuses of Brookfield Academy have to offer except it costs you the same money ( quite expensive compared to other Montessori schools in the area considering the fact that it is not a true Montessori ). The staff has minimal experience and the principal does not show professionalism when approached. Compare what the other campuses have and you will be surprised. I do not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2011

Great School, Great Staff! Highly trained, experienced Teachers under strong Leadership, create an awesome environment for all. We celebrate our work and the children's progress shows it!
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

38945 Ann Arbor Road
Livonia, MI 48150
Website: Click here
Phone: (734) 464-2789

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Brookfield Academy
Livonia, MI







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT