Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Atwood Elementary School

Public | K-5 & ungraded | 718 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 26, 2014

All 3 of my boys attend/attended Atwood Elementary, we are so lucky to have such a great, safe school for our children. The teachers in this school are all we would hope to have for our children, no kids fall through the cracks, they have special techniques such as, music to help kids learn spelling and math. The teachers work with parents as a team, which is very important in our children's educational needs. The building is newer and beautifully done. If you are considering Atwood, you will not be disappointed with this choice, they are a blue ribbon school and they definitely deserve it too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2013

Is a top educational institute with quality leadership and exceptional educators. The curriculum is challenging, but Atwood's all inclusive policy ensures the needs of each student gets met. My only complaint is class size. I believe smaller class sizes would ease they load on the teachers and increase student productivity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2011

My son came to Atwood at the end of his 3rd grade year. He absolutley loves this school compared to his other Charter school. He is in 4th grade and he is doing so much better than he was in the charter school. Atwood is an excellent school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2010

I have a kindergarten and 1st grader, and without the awesome teachers, they would not be who they are today! Thanks to the staff and TEACHERS! I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2009

I have a daughter in 2nd grade and Kindergarden. We moved from a Chippewa Valley Elementary school, which I thought was great, or so everyone told me. My daughter in second grade has had to work really hard, to get caught up to where these kids are, at Atwood. My Kindergadener is so far ahead of where my older daughter was at the other school district, that I'm just amazed...kind of blown away by how good this school is. It's a Blue Ribbon Elementary School for a good reason.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

Just an all around fantastic environment for my kids to learn! My kids love going to Atwood & will truly miss all aspects when they move on! GO GATORS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

Atwood has many wonderful aspects... the excellent clubs (Garden Club, Recycling Club, LEGO Club, Broadcasting Club) and many after school activities! The parents get very involved, and have wonderful school dances, fairs, etc. The teachers couldn't be better..... I couldn't ask for a better school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

The garden club is AWESOME! We love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

Atwood is a Blue Ribbon School and has gone green to help the environment. The school also has many programs to assist children and familys through out the year and at CHRISTmas time. Also has after school programs like Gator Gardners and a SACC program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2009

excellennt school, excellent teachers. my son is in first grade. this is his first year in school. i give a big credit to the teacher....she is awasome, best,,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2007

Well, I love the teachers at atwood, the office staff well they can be a huge pain and crabby, Mrs Watts is the best
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2007

Atwood has been a wonderful school. As of this review, my daughter has been enrolled for 4 years. She has always excelled in her classes due to the quality teaching. Extra classes have included Spanish, Art, Music and Library. There has always been family functions to attend throughout the year to bring the parents together as well. This school goes highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

I love this school. I have a 6 and a 4 year old so I'm new in the school system. The academic programs are a little more advanced than from what I remember, but that's a good thing. The teachers-the whole staff is wonderful and helpful. I can't wait until my 4 yr old gets to go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2005

This is a great school. The teachers help the children exceed any parents expectation of their child. The RESPECT, RESPONSIBILITY, SAFETY rules are set and this helps the children have a great learning environment. The Everyday Math program is wonderful (no matter how a child is able to learn). The parapros and support staff are above the best; if your child needs support they are there. The Spanish, Music, Computers, Library, and Physical Education programs are above the rest; the teachers are to thank for this.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

131 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

131 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

133 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

134 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
11%

2013

 
 
10%

2011

 
 
20%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 69%
African-American 6% 18%
Asian 2% 3%
Multiracial 2% 2%
Hispanic 1% 6%
American Indian N/A 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 24%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Angela Szczepanski
Fax number
  • (586) 493-5255

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

45690 North Ave
Macomb, MI 48042
Website: Click here
Phone: (586) 493-5250

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





St. Mary School
Mount Clemens, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT